We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Good Beer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkoswald
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fetherston Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Kirkoswald B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Good food, good beer, friendly ambience and helpful staff. We arrive at 20:55 and providing a meal was no problem despite the fact the kitchen was due to close at 21:00. Recommended

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank petemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for The Fetherston Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2011

Visited The Featherston Arms with a group of 21. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was brilliant. Beer garden looked amazing and would be lovely on a nice summers day!! The satff are very friendly and very accommodating. If your in the kirkoswald area you MUST visit The Feathston Arms!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PulseFitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Just happened upon this pub when passing through the area and stopped of for a Sunday roast. There was a good welcome from our host behind the Bar and we ended up taking advantage of the superb weather and eating outside in the large beer garden overlooking the free range hens - eggs available to purchase if you're lucky - and the surrounding village and countryside. There was a comprehensive selection of roasts to choose from and the food was of a high standard - really crispy potatoes, great braised leeks and home made Yorkshires - those eggs again - tasty tender lamb and beef and fine gravy to complement it! To be recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cusians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed at nearby Staffield Hall with wifey, folks and Sister and our 2 dogs, and went here a few times during our stay. Had a nice walk across the fields in sub zero temperatures and felt very at home here with all of us in front of the open fire. We also had a meal which was one of the best pub meals I had in a long time. The pub is owned by one of the major local landowners and run by a very nice young guy and as it is a free house he alsways has at least 1 local beer on tap, usually from withing about a 20 mile radius, or certainly within Cumbria. The locals were also a very nice friendly bunch which also added to the feeling of being made to feel very comfortable. Fantastic beer garden out the back as well which would be bril in summer!

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank Bradtarga34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

I can only review the Fetherston Arms for its food, but am sure the accommodation can be classed in the same way. Staying locally (Staffield Hall) with a large family group (20+), we gave the pub the heads up we were to dine there on the Sunday evening and they coped admirably with our arrival. All the food was served pretty much at the same time and was as requested. No complaints from anyone and clean plates all round. Service was great, especially considering how few staff members there were. Lovely beer garden

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharkAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Try the featherston Arms in the beautiful village of Kirk Oswald.
You will not be in a 5 star hotel, but you will be in a very nice clean room at a very good price. We had a great stay there. The Proprietor has only been there 5 weeks, but he does a great job.
We intend to return the next time we are in the area.

Michael Elliott

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirazman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Everything was great about this place. Bedrooms, food, beer, friendliness, cleanliness and the welcome. The price was very reasonable too. The only thing I would say is that the place is run by a young couple and is very busy. So, just occasionally you did not receive the attention you felt entitled to. A little more help around the place would be very handy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miffinWhitleyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkoswald
1.1 mi away
Staffield Hall
Staffield Hall
#1 of 1 in Kirkoswald
145 reviews
5.5 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
9.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
4.3 mi away
Dukes Head Inn
Dukes Head Inn
#2 of 2 in Armathwaite
98 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Briardale
#1 of 2 in Lazonby
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fetherston Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fetherston Arms

Address: The Square, Kirkoswald CA10 1DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkoswald
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkoswald
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Fetherston Arms Hotel Kirkoswald
The Fetherston Arms Kirkoswald, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing