We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkoswald
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fetherston Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Kirkoswald B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“review”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Such a good experience, very nice food and ambience, staff and manager were excellent and attentive. would definitely recommend and come again soon! good for visiting the local area:) modern decor and nice beer garden if the weather permits,

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    23
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
59
55
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daventry
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Visited this place several times and never been disappointed. Recently been given a makeover and they have found an extra room from somewhere. Lovely home cooked food (Pies are the best you've ever had!), great meat sausages etc. Never made it as far as a dessert, so no view on what they may be like, but it's all good. Lots of well kept local beer and more exotic brews too. Lovely atmosphere and we had a terrific evening. I'd advise booking to avoid disappointment, also don't take on the excellent mixed grill unless you are a heavyweight trencherman. We have now had 4 chaps try it (myself included) and nobody has finished it to date. Don't say you weren't warned. Thursday night is "Pie Night" try it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fattim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Visit here often. They now don't do food on mon and tues but well worth a visit can't understand why they have stopped there Monday night steak night they were the best. Pies are brilliant and staff and service excellent

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mrb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Had a lovely meal here and would recommend.never tried pie night but food was good ambience was good and they have a good selection on the menu.the service was just a tad slow but to be fair it did get busy so go early

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weechip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to this lovely pub as we had seen on our last visit that they had a special " pie evening " .

We were not disappointed.....had steak and mushroom pie with veg and choice of potato ...£6.95..... It was delicious ...

In fact is was sooooo good we have booked again for next week......however it was very busy this evening so it would appear that booking is probably essential .....

Very highly recommended.....





  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Visited today for first time after recommendations from friends .

Very pleasant welcome . Our seating options were limited to the immediate bar area or outside as we had our dog with us . Bar would've been fine but its a smallish area and being in between half a dozen blokes having banter and pints , wasnt quite the ambience what we hoped for . Were'nt allowed to sit in side section of bar as allegedly a party had booked it ( none of whom came in while we were there ) , so chose to sit outside , hoping rain would hold off , which luckily it did .

Steak pie , home made chips , mushy peas and gravy were absolutely excellent and much enjoyed as was the accompanying pint of Tirril ale . Wife had good , well filled sandwich with nice side salad and generous portion of home cooked chips . Food most enjoyed .

Was not being allowed to sit inside without being in middle of blokes lunchtime ale banter , due to tables being booked ( but no one came ) that took the edge off am afraid .

Food was excellent , lovely village and nice service . I think we will be back .

We did take our dog , so fully appreciate seating restructions limited to bar area .Fancy going back for pie night !!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, England
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Staying a couple of miles away from Kirkoswald, The Fetherston Arms was recommended to us, especially the famous 'Pie Night' (Thursday). The quality of the food was excellent, the service was courteous and welcoming and the value for money outstanding. Would agree with previous reports - book in advance to be sure! Thanks, ladies and gentlemen at 'The Fethers'!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rattypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkoswald
1.1 mi away
Staffield Hall
Staffield Hall
#1 of 1 in Kirkoswald
142 reviews
5.5 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
7.5 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Dukes Head Inn
Dukes Head Inn
#2 of 2 in Armathwaite
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fox & Pheasant Inn
Fox & Pheasant Inn
#1 of 2 in Armathwaite
204 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Briardale
#1 of 2 in Lazonby
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fetherston Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fetherston Arms

Property: The Fetherston Arms
Address: The Square, Kirkoswald CA10 1DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkoswald
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkoswald
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Fetherston Arms Hotel Kirkoswald
The Fetherston Arms Kirkoswald, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing