We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely delicious food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fetherston Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkoswald
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fetherston Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Kirkoswald B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Would definitely recommend this delightful country pub for food and drink. Everything on the menu made me want it and deciding what to eat was tricky, great portion size and cooked fresh. Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

As far as I'm concerned this pub does some of the best pub grub in North Cumbria. Good to see a great pub doing well with delicious, fresh, value for money meals, a great environment, staff who look after you and a great selection of ales on tap. I couldn't eat three courses here as the portions are so generous but I have eaten their starters mains and deserts and can confirm it's all delicious! Will be going back many times in the future.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

booked to have a meal here on new year s eve without been as we was staying near , so went a couple of days before to make sure it would be ok we just had a bar meal it was lovely and so looked forward to our meal and it did t disappoint it was gorgeous 5 course s for 30 pounds they emailed the menu so we had time to make our choices for 4 of each of the starters mains and pudding s. had a great nite too had party hat s and balloons and party poppers the local s made us feel really welcome and so did the staff it was 1 of our best new year s eve we ve had. would recommend the fethers to anyone for there gorgeous food at really reasonable prices

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely cosy pub. Had a bike ride there from glassonby. There was a Lovely fire blazing too in the front room. The staff were Friendly. The food was very nice. We Would go again when back in the area. Reasonable priced food and good value for money.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CatStewart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

A table was booked for 5 and we all agreed this was one of the best meals we have ever had. The service was excellent and the food served was perfect in every way. We had heard it was good but way exceeded our expectations. We sampled the black pudding stack starter, roast turkey, fish bake and I had probably the best lamb I had ever tasted! Desserts to die for! A return to the Inn is a must!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesscrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Called without booking table and despite a busy restaurant, they accommodated us in bar area. The steak pie was packed with tender melt in the mouth chunks of beef in a faultless pastry with seasonal veg cooked to perfection and delicious chips. The stuffed chicken breast with peppercorn sauce with seasonal salad was also fantastic. Superb quality food, generous portions and very reasonable prices. Will definitely be returning. Can't believe haven't found this gem before now.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pudslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had heard good reviews of this popular pub's food and we were sensible to make a booking as it was packed with seemingly satisfied and jolly patrons. Quickly we joined them in sentiment as we tucked into some tasty, hearty fare. The meat all come from the village butcher, known (nationally) for their award winning Cumberland sausages and top quality meat so we had high expectations and were not disappointed. The menu is extensive, which makes choosing hard (!) but we all were extremely happy with what was served up and will return soon. The portions were very generous and the waiting staff friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Selkie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkoswald
1.1 mi away
Staffield Hall
Staffield Hall
#1 of 1 in Kirkoswald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
9.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
5.5 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Briardale
#1 of 2 in Lazonby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dukes Head Inn
Dukes Head Inn
#2 of 2 in Armathwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fox & Pheasant Inn
Fox & Pheasant Inn
#1 of 2 in Armathwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fetherston Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fetherston Arms

Property: The Fetherston Arms
Address: The Square, Kirkoswald CA10 1DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkoswald
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkoswald
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Fetherston Arms Hotel Kirkoswald
The Fetherston Arms Kirkoswald, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing