We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Staffield Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Staffield Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkoswald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful break here and was extremely gutted to unexpectedly cut it short due to funeral comitments.
Only stayed 2 nights in the end so didnt explore the area too much but what we did see was beautiful.
Accomodation is fabulous in a tranquil setting. We stayed in the Lady Tower suite and for 2 days we enjoyed a very happy time. All the public areas are very well kept and there are many nice little touches like DVDs and board games to compliment your stay.
Its very romantic and peaceful and the accomodation is immaculately clean and well equipt.
Highly recomended.

Room Tip: Only stayed in the Lady Tower but I expect the same standard will follow throughout
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charleesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had a fantastic short stay in the Manor Hall.
Property and grounds fully lived up to our expectations from the website.
There were 8 of us and there was plenty of room. Wonderful kitchen and dining area made every evening special. Croquet on the lawns was fun as we were lucky with the weather too.
Beautiful location and better weather than than the lakes!
Would love to return - would be great for Christmas etc or a murder mystery party !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Had a great weekend here, absolutely spotless and very comfortable, everything you need for a perfect stay, from washing up liquid, to complimentary toiletries. The views from our room were beautiful, a great romantic hide away, we stayed in The garden of Eden , modern, very nice fixtures and fittings, we couldn't fault it in any way and would love to stay again. I know my children would love to explore the grounds, shame we didn't take them really !!! But maybe next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

my hubby booked this as a surprise for my 50th birthday and it couldn't of been any better we loved it we stayed in the lady tower clean bright and had ever thing you needed the grounds were top notch we didn't try out the local pubs as we were out most of the day a wonderful retreat peaceful and beautiful we would love to go back soon thanks for making my 50th birthday a happy one

Room Tip: a must if you just want to relax and unwind
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We have just returned from a week long holiday to this delightful country house. We rented two apartments King Oswald and Dovecote. Both apartments were well equipped, Dovecote had a super jacuzzi bath - very welcome after a long walk. King Oswald had an imposing four poster bed in one of the bedrooms. Everything necessary was provided including a welcome tray on arrival with some starter goodies.

The setting was stunningly beautiful and peaceful with magnificent views. There is so much to do and places to visit although a bit of travelling is necessary due to the rural location.

The hosts were very helpful with suggestions for eating out etc. They provided plenty of information about the local area, walks and other activities.

A beautiful property in a stunning location we would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: King Oswald is very spacious and suitable for a family with gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidlandsThetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for 4 nights for the start of our honeymoon. We had a little trouble finding it at first because on our maps on our phones it told us to go somewhere else but eventually we found it. It was nice and quiet, just what we wanted.

We stayed in the garden of eden apartment. Was just the right size for us. The shutters on the windows helped at night as they made it pitch black. The jacuzzi bath and bottle of champagne on arrival set the whole honeymoon off perfectly.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayedin The Garden of Eden for 4 nights on a Travelzoo offer which brought the price down slightly- apartment was well equipped and very nice with great views. Probably one of the smaller rooms but fine for two. Had lovely meal at Fetherstone Arms and cooked the rest of the time, very quiet location but not far to Lakes and Scotland. Lots of nice touches-bottle of Cava in room and DVDs and games free for all to use in Hall. Only one negative - having to get up early on the last day of our holiday to clean or risk a £45 charge! This place isn't cheap and its just not what you expect - would certainly put me off going back. I agree they should be left in a reasonable state and wouldnt dream of doing anything else, but being asked to strip the bed, empty bins and leave it as you found it is too much to ask.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrytripoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Regarding your comment about cleaning - It's generally accepted within the selfcatering industry that, as with any property tenancy, you leave the property as you found it - tidy and presentable. That's all we ask. You did this and you have our thanks. We don't provide within the property a full array of housecleaning supplies because all we want is that its returned in a responsible and respectable manner. Thank again for doing this for us.
However - If guests want to get up and go - leave the place in a mess with bins bulging and dirty pots in the sink then arrangements can be made for extra staff to do this for you but its not included in our rates. Best regards - Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkoswald
8.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
19.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
505 reviews
16.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
21.8 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staffield Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staffield Hall

Address: Staffield Hall Penrith, Kirkoswald CA10 1EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkoswald
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkoswald
Price Range: £63 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Staffield Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staffield Hall is located in the Eden Valley in Cumbria just outside the boundary of the Lake District National Park. We have easy access to the M6 motorway and to the north Lakes of the LAke district.Staffield hall was completely refurbished in 2006 to provide eight 5 beautiful apartments which are graded 5 stars by Visit Britain.The apartments are designed to mix the traditional features of a yester year with contempory and modern comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Staffield Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffield Hall Kirkoswald, Cumbria
Staffield Hall Hotel Kirkoswald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing