We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to feel like a Queen!”
Review of Staffield Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Staffield Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkoswald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A fantastic 2 night stay in the Manor Hall. All 8 of us were there to celebrate my 50th Birthday and we did so in style. I recommend this accommodation if you want to feel special. I will definitely be returning with my family

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent one night in Garden of Eden and 3 nights in Manor Hall - having asked for a large double bed with the one bed apartments only having regular doubles, the management gave a good discount allowing us the 3 bed Manor Hall.

Garden of Eden is a perfectly pleasant 1 bed apartment on first floor - although irritating fire alarm went off 3 times, once while cooking - fan on and windows open, and twice from the shower warmth (once three minutes after shower was off). Minor problem which I informed mgmt about. Some noise from drains of next door apartment - but to be expected in an old house.

Manor Hall is much grander with fantastic space - huge lounge, master bedroom, and kitchen dining room. Most of the furnishings in Manor Hall are good quality and fit in well with the overall building even the modern dining chairs. Kitchen modern but not my taste - however, very well equipped, much better than chain serviced apartments that I have stayed in. Bathroom OK, but not great - silly shower screen which is all a little common in last 10 years which does not keep the shower spray in very well. One thing that they need to change is the awful, really cheap plastic wardrobe rail in the small room off the en suite. Only a small thing but really out of keeping with the place. Good selection of previous occupants' books and games for kids if you have them.

Both apartments are very clean. The whole setting is superb - very peaceful, pretty countryside around you. The website does not lie at all. Great location for exploring Pennines and Lake District without Lake District premium.

Overall great value for Manor Hall with mgmt being very sensible in giving discount for last minute. Even at full price it is decent value, and Manor Hall for family would be fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubainick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

A most relaxing week in the Manor Hall for a family of five - would definitely come again - great value for money - a wonderful setting and superb accommodation - all-in-all outstanding and highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevelcsharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We used this as our base to explore the lake district. We had a lovely week in the apartment - it has everything you would need - in a beautiful and tranquil country setting.
It is also very handy for the Pennines and the dales.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had an absolutely fantastic stay at Manor Hall. The location is away from all of the busy tourist areas of the Lake District but the lakes are easily accessible by car. The property itself is a stunning example of a large Victorian House. Very sympathetically restored. We were a party of 3 adults and 2 small children and there was plenty of space to spread out. It was like walking onto a set of a Jane Austen episode but with all the mod cons! The grounds are well kept and with the lovely weather that we had was great to relax in. We enjoyed a lot of areas in the locality, we travelled to Carlisle, Hadrian's Wall, Penrith and several of the lakes. There is so much natural beauty to enjoy we didn't need a lot of attractions. We would definitely love to return for future visits once we've raided a few piggy banks!

Room Tip: If you can afford it treat yourself and stay in Manor Hall. It is expensive but you really do get wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful break here and was extremely gutted to unexpectedly cut it short due to funeral comitments.
Only stayed 2 nights in the end so didnt explore the area too much but what we did see was beautiful.
Accomodation is fabulous in a tranquil setting. We stayed in the Lady Tower suite and for 2 days we enjoyed a very happy time. All the public areas are very well kept and there are many nice little touches like DVDs and board games to compliment your stay.
Its very romantic and peaceful and the accomodation is immaculately clean and well equipt.
Highly recomended.

Room Tip: Only stayed in the Lady Tower but I expect the same standard will follow throughout
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charleesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had a fantastic short stay in the Manor Hall.
Property and grounds fully lived up to our expectations from the website.
There were 8 of us and there was plenty of room. Wonderful kitchen and dining area made every evening special. Croquet on the lawns was fun as we were lucky with the weather too.
Beautiful location and better weather than than the lakes!
Would love to return - would be great for Christmas etc or a murder mystery party !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkoswald
8.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
24.1 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
21.8 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,676 reviews
19.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staffield Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staffield Hall

Address: Staffield Hall Penrith, Kirkoswald CA10 1EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkoswald
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkoswald
Price Range: £68 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Staffield Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staffield Hall is located in the Eden Valley in Cumbria just outside the boundary of the Lake District National Park. We have easy access to the M6 motorway and to the north Lakes of the LAke district.Staffield hall was completely refurbished in 2006 to provide eight 5 beautiful apartments which are graded 5 stars by Visit Britain.The apartments are designed to mix the traditional features of a yester year with contempory and modern comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Staffield Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffield Hall Kirkoswald, Cumbria
Staffield Hall Hotel Kirkoswald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing