We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
115
33
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
33
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslady towerking oswaldlake districtthe kitchenpeel toweron arrivalhigh standardfirst floorrelaxing breakliving roombeautiful propertyluxury accommodationlong drivemanor housefixtures and fittingslarge familythese apartments
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights, Apartment was Brilliant, Tidy, Warm, Cosy.
Only problem is that you are in the middle of no where. There is lots to do in the surrounding area's, but everything is a good drive away. Sliding down the Banister was good fun !!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank rtluc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Yes we away from it all and the local countryside is beautiful. The villages are peaceful and you can expect to be welcomed like a local rather than a tourist which we believe is a great plus for us. But you need a car for sure to make the most of a stay. Thanks for staying with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

I decided on a romantic break for my birthday somewhere in the Lake District but left it to my partner to decide on the location. He chose Staffield Hall because it was in a rural location.

The hall and our room was just as shown in the photos and the setting had beautiful scenery and grounds, it was quiet and away from any touristy hustle and bustle.

There were other people staying in the retreat, but there was minimal sound or disturbance from their rooms, if anything we were more worried about the noise we might be making. Everything that was needed to make the stay comfortable was at hand, the only problem encountered was with the Internet. This was resolved when we spoke to one of the caretakers at the hall.

We visited Hadrians Wall and Gretna Green when we decided to leave the dwelling, but most importantly we were able to recharge our batteries on our break.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank monstermunchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

It sounds like you enjoyed a great time at Staffield Hall, so pleased you enjoyed yourselves exploring the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Stayed here from the 2nd August for 3 nights for the girlfriends 21st birthday. The establishment itself was very nice with beautiful surroundings. The room was nice and clean on arrival and as previous reviews stated even though there were other guests it felt like our own place. The reasons why we haven't rated this 5 stars was the fact the room was very impressive bits of it did look slightly run down and there was not enough hot water to enjoy the jacuzzi fully even after we used the boost feature. As previously stated wifi is poor however we didn't come to sit on our phones on the internet. Overall we had a great stay and enjoyed our view of the surroundings from the garden of eden

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Fast internet is on the way. Not from BT however but from a community lead initiative to bring this into our village ourselves. Due very soon now. I think you might have stayed in Garden of Eden so I´m checking out the hot water to try and be sure all is as it should be. Thanks for staying with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Just returned home from 3 nights in the "Lady Tower" at Staffield Hall, for our 10th wedding anniversary. Described on their website as "........a venue of eight Luxury Self Catering Lake District Apartments." The apartment itself had all of the items as described and the surrounding area is stunning, but the apartment was definitely not luxury. The wallpaper was coming off the wall in several places. The laminate floor trim was rotten below the window. The sash was broken on the bathroom window meaning that it could not be opened and left open. The springs for the armchair and the sofa in the living room were worn which meant that on the sofa you rolled into the middle and on the armchair you moved uncomfortably to a dip in the side of the chair. The veneer was damaged on the bottom of one of the cupboards in the kitchen. Amusingly..... the remote control for the tv was on the same frequency as the remote for the electric fire, change channel and the fire switched off. To make matters worse, upon our arrival, we read the room information booklet and were informed that upon leaving we had to clean the apartment or choose to forfeit the cleaning at a cost of £45. Our last morning
was spent vacuuming and cleaning including bath, sink and toilet (not what I expected to be doing on our celebration) We had to vacate the room by 10:30am - 3pm check - in.
Just one other small issue that should not be in place...... the menu that was present in the room, suggesting a local pub for food, was 9yrs out of date. Laziness really.

My wife organised this as a special weekend for us both. Bitterly disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
4  Thank Eric-TinaHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Well we do feel really quite gutted by this response. We are so very sorry that these guests did not appreciate the hall and all its fine qualities and instead focused on whatever negative point could be found.
But....why?
Our manager/housekeeper spoke with you at the end of your stay and you confirmed with her that everything had been fine.
So why then go home, do not make any contact at all with ourselves and then write as you have? If you have a complaint why not speak to us about it whilst you are there? At the very least allow us a chance to put a problem right for you.
If you do not give us a chance is this fair to us ? and fair to yourselves?

I think the main gripe you had with us was that the chair seemed to have become broken. That need not have become a problem for you. It would NOT have been charged to you by reporting the damaged item. We would simply have removed the chair and popped in another. Problem solved!

The next main grievance seems to be that you think we would charge you for cleaning. No, NOT the case. Not unless you showed disrespect for the property and the fixtures & fittings provided to you in the apartment. It's only common sense as I see it that one would leave a property which have rented for a period of time, clean and tidy. Pots washed up and things put away as they should be. However we do need to protect ourselves and our interests within our terms & conditions. If you had any doubt - contact us for clarity. its easy, we have a Freephone in the room, pick up the receiver and press the Free Phone 'Office' button or the Free phone 'Mobile' button. At no time did you take the opportunity to speak with us about any issue you had.

Staffield Hall offers spotless accommodation, its features are well liked by our guests, we offer a fast response and a good service, its a family run business and we are passionate about it.

We are so sorry you did not enjoy yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

This is a lovely building surrounded by gorgeous countryside within a short drive of the Lake District. There are a number of local pubs and shops within a ten minute drive and we would return without hesitation. The apartment itself is well equipped with everything you could possibly need and the bathroom has a spa bath and a good shower. Very clean and well cared for. There is free wifi but it was poor ,saying that in a gorgeous place like this who needs the internet.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews