We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A new beginning in a lovely place”
Review of The Old Manse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Manse
Ranked #1 of 1 Birtley B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A new beginning in a lovely place”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

After coming here with two young children walking out of a relationship breakdown I was surprised at how lovely it was, it's not dirty in the slightest so it's not the ritz but its a bed , breakfast and a cosy room!!
If you want luxury get your self to the Marriott in Durham and pay 5 x the price.
Janet was lovely and at a very difficult time took the time to talk to me a cosy, homely feel awaits
Over all I'd say its a lovely little b & b and was the perfect starting point for my fresh start!!!

I stopped October 27th & 28th 2012 and it was lovely.....
The bitter people who leave negative reviews obviously don't understand VALUE FOR MONEY!!!!

Thank you Janet & staff
I'd recommend your b & b without hesitation!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The Guest House is clean & very comfortable, lovely & warm. We had everything we needed in the room & had a very pleasant stay.
Janet made us very welcome, she took the time to sit & have a chat with us each morning which we thought was lovely. The breakfast was plentiful & well presented.
Recommendations were made as to where to eat (The Lambton Worm) which we found helpful.
hopefully we will return next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banbury
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We have friends in the area, and The Old Manse was recommended, without doubt a very pleasant stay, rooms were clean and comfortable, ( we had read other reviews) and could not understand the COMPLAINERS!! We will most deffinately stay again....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

My family stayed here when they came for a wedding. They were so well looked after by the staff they didn't want to leave!. The guest house is very clean and well maintained and I wouldn't hessitate to recomend this, excellent value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county durham uk
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Thank you for a most pleasany and comfortable stay, the room we had (room2) very clean, had everything we needed, the Old Manse is highley recommended, see you next year. Denise & John from Fish Hoek, South Africa

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I was here for over a week in May .With the eXception of the Lady at breakfast time , this place was one of the worst places i have ever stayed , SHAME realy because it would be very good with alot of UPDATING , BEDS,MINNUTE TVs,GRUBBY DECOR , GRUBBY BEDDING,OUTDATED FURNITURE i could go on and on . Abit of investment and it could be sound but as it stands i would never go back again , P.S anotha B&B CLAIMING TO HAVE WIFI IN ROOMS NOT !!!!!!!!!!!! So annoying come on folks its 2012 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Take ear plugs with you because all the cars have CRAZY NOISY exhausts buzzing around all nite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barto440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birtley hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The staff are friendly and accommodating. There is a lounge you can use and you're also able to use the dining room (we brought a takeaway back having arrived late). The room had a dvd player as well as a TV.

The guest house is easy to find - well, at least it was with our SatNav! The car park is behind the property.

Breakfast is a selection of cereals, orange juice, yoghurt, and toast and jam. Cooked breakfasts are available at additional cost.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Larklight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birtley
1.1 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
William IV Hotel
William IV Hotel
#6 of 8 in Chester-le-Street
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lambton Worm
The Lambton Worm
#1 of 8 in Chester-le-Street
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.5 mi away
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#1 of 3 in Washington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse

Property: The Old Manse
Address: The Manse Station Lane | nr Chester-Le-Street, Birtley DH3 1DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Birtley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Birtley
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Old Manse Birtley, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing