We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“soundly slept”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
brentwood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“soundly slept”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed here for three nights due to a trainning course ten minute drive away from this hotel, great location, very quiet and the food was to a very good standard, as was the wine selection. The superking sized bed was lovely, i slept very well, and the desk space very spacious, plenty of room to complete my paperwork. staff professional and friendly,
would most definately stay again if staying up this end of the country.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highflyer2527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your review. Your comments are most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    223
    72
    22
    10
See reviews for
66
303
24
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel is close & handy to Newton Aycliffe & the surrounding area. The staff are always welcoming & friendly & the whole experience here is highly efficient & of excellent value, including the bedrooms, breakfast & even the check-out process. The current programme of refurbishment looks to make your stay here even more enjoyable - well done the Aston, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rapcon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our refurbishment is well under way and will be competed by the first week in February. Thank you for your patience and loyalty during this period. It is lovely to hear such positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk, sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Booked as a stay over for Christmas event. Very cheap, breakfast good. Local to town, short drive to restaurants. Only thing I could complain about is it was a little dated but they were in the process of updating . Would recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for you comments. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our hotel. By the beginning of February all public areas will have been completed. We look forward to welcoming you back so you can see the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I had a very good experience of staying at the Aston on Boxing Day evening. I had stayed there before so I was expecting to have a good stay. Although quiet, the room was brilliant, nice big comfy bed, a fantastic hot power shower, and everything I needed. The staff were helpful and welcoming as usual.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kid53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Lack of organisation, food was average, dessert was 3 profiteroles, which were still frozen and no cream. No Christmas decorations, no music, did not feel like a 'Christmas lunch' - very poor experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomo307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your review of your Christmas lunch at the hotel. We have recently undertaken a refurbishment of the restaurant which has been completely modernised. Please accept my apologies that you did not feel that the service was as organised as it should have been. I am not able to comment on this further as you do not state exactly what the problem was. I was in the hotel myself on Christmas morning and the dining room had been fully decorated before service Christmas music was playing and the restaurant had in my humble opinion a lovely atmosphere. I am so sorry to hear that this did not translate to you. Obviously Christmas lunch is one of the most important and special meals of the year. I appreciate that you have taken the time to pass on your comments and I will address them with the team. Who I am sure will be most surprised to hear that this was your opinion. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Booked this last minute on Expedia and was not sure about it. I took the Executive room option as price difference was insignificant. The hotel is currently going through a refurbishment and was not that busy when i stayed may explain the the excellent rate, the refurbishments did not effect my stay as other than the smell of fresh paint there was no other indications. The room was huge, comfortable, clean and with a good desk to work at and large TV to relax with. This all added up to a real value for money stay. The staff were also very pleasant and helpful. One thing i would say is that they could do with some better signage for Hotel as you think you are going into a McDonalds rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMcK1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. Alongside our refurbishment we are undertaking a full review of our signage. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a few days as we were visiting the area where we got married 30 years ago. The room was very clean and comfortable and the reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Big soft fluffy towels were provided as well. We didn’t eat in the restaurant for our evening meals as we were out and about but had breakfasts. I have coeliac disease so have to have a strict gluten free diet. The lady who served breakfasts took my order and my food was cooked separately, they even brought me gluten free toast which I didn’t expect. All in all it was ideal for what we required and wouldn’t have any qualms about booking again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tracey1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip back to the area at such a special time. Please accept our congratulations on your 30th anniversary, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
0.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
763 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
3.0 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
788 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
4.0 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Property: Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing