We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here for the second time and can't praise it enough, the staff couldn't do enough for us and the rooms etc very nice, so much so in fact that we look forward to coming back for a third stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for a third stay and very much appreciate your loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

1st the good things about this hotel - within easy reach of the motorway, situated at Junction 59 A(1) M as part of a service station which includes a McDonalds restaurant, a petrol station, a Maces mini-supermarket and a Subway. The hotel had a clean, quiet, spacious bedroom (we stayed in a double) with a comfortable king sized bed, lot of desk space and a good sized flat screen TV with lots of free channels. The free WiFi connectivity was good as well.The toilet had heated rails and a good supply of towels, shampoo/shower gel, shower with a seat and 3ply toilet paper.

Now, the things which could be improved. (I should have read the reviews before arriving and that would have saved me the surprise.) The hotel is undergoing refurbishments, especially extensively downstairs and in the restaurant. This has NOT been publicly announced on its website or on booking.com - very cheeky! So the reception is a makeshift table and chair with a PC and a printer almost blocking the ground floor passage. Fortunately the first morning had hot cooked breakfast. Having booked for breakfasts on 2 successive mornings, we had not been forewarned that on the second morning it would only be continental, as the kitchen was undergoing refurbishments - this is unprofessional and it certainly lowered the rating of this hotel. The reception staff though very friendly, forgot to mention these vital bits of information.Consequently room service with food from the restaurant was nil on the second night of stay - thankfully the nearest local takeaways (4-5 miles away) saved us at a cost of £3 delivery charge. We were also promised that the lift would be repaired within 1 hour; but it actually was 'out of order' for the 2 nights and 3 days we stayed. (Good luck if you have a bad back and heavy luggage.)

Hey, we don't mind if the cheap deals on offer are due to refurbishment works during off season: that is perfectly understandable, but it would be professional courtesy to inform / warn customers in advance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivaji B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a balanced review. Firstly please let me take the time to apologise for the fact you were unable to have breakfast on the second day of your stay. We contacted all guests who were arriving the night before to inform them that we had to close the kitchen for refurbishment. Unfortunately as you had already checked in we did not have the foresight to let you know. For this I take full personal responsibility This was very much an oversight on our behalf and was not a deliberate attempt to mislead you. I see from the rest of your review that you enjoyed your stay and am very happy to let you know that our refurbishment if fully complete. We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your patience during our transition period.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed here for three nights due to a trainning course ten minute drive away from this hotel, great location, very quiet and the food was to a very good standard, as was the wine selection. The superking sized bed was lovely, i slept very well, and the desk space very spacious, plenty of room to complete my paperwork. staff professional and friendly,
would most definately stay again if staying up this end of the country.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highflyer2527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for your review. Your comments are most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel is close & handy to Newton Aycliffe & the surrounding area. The staff are always welcoming & friendly & the whole experience here is highly efficient & of excellent value, including the bedrooms, breakfast & even the check-out process. The current programme of refurbishment looks to make your stay here even more enjoyable - well done the Aston, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rapcon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our refurbishment is well under way and will be competed by the first week in February. Thank you for your patience and loyalty during this period. It is lovely to hear such positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Booked as a stay over for Christmas event. Very cheap, breakfast good. Local to town, short drive to restaurants. Only thing I could complain about is it was a little dated but they were in the process of updating . Would recommend

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for you comments. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our hotel. By the beginning of February all public areas will have been completed. We look forward to welcoming you back so you can see the changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I had a very good experience of staying at the Aston on Boxing Day evening. I had stayed there before so I was expecting to have a good stay. Although quiet, the room was brilliant, nice big comfy bed, a fantastic hot power shower, and everything I needed. The staff were helpful and welcoming as usual.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kid53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Lack of organisation, food was average, dessert was 3 profiteroles, which were still frozen and no cream. No Christmas decorations, no music, did not feel like a 'Christmas lunch' - very poor experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tomo307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for your review of your Christmas lunch at the hotel. We have recently undertaken a refurbishment of the restaurant which has been completely modernised. Please accept my apologies that you did not feel that the service was as organised as it should have been. I am not able to comment on this further as you do not state exactly what the problem was. I was in the hotel myself on Christmas morning and the dining room had been fully decorated before service Christmas music was playing and the restaurant had in my humble opinion a lovely atmosphere. I am so sorry to hear that this did not translate to you. Obviously Christmas lunch is one of the most important and special meals of the year. I appreciate that you have taken the time to pass on your comments and I will address them with the team. Who I am sure will be most surprised to hear that this was your opinion. Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
0.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
809 reviews
3.0 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,298 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
406 reviews
13.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range: £47 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing