We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a drink”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“OK for a drink”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This used to be the old Scotch Corner Hotel and was a good meeting point. It used to have bags of individuality and character but is now more typical of a chain hotel and bar and in my opinion is rather bland. Service and value are fine though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for posting a review. I feel I have to point out however that we are not the old Scotch Corner hotel. This is located 12 miles south of our location there is a Holiday Inn located there.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    230
    77
    22
    10
See reviews for
67
307
26
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This Hotel has just taken a Holiday Inn franchise. We stayed there attending a mini-conference and used the restaurant and bar. Rooms were fine but overall public room ambience was lacking and food was patchy but not rubbish.
Location is really convenient alongside A1M but it had more of a Motel feel than a full service hotel.
Would stay there again if passing but would never become favourite

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger050950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate constructive criticism and have added more furniture and fixtures to our public areas to ensure that every guest feels comfortable, warm and welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Myself and my mothers stayed here last weekend, The day after it became a holiday inn, Decor was lovely, staff were helpfull and what realy impressed us was disabled facilities and the breakfast was very tasty too

Room Tip: All on one level for peolple with dasbilities and a wheelchair available also which saved me having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cybil48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Many thanks for your comments. We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last week for two nights , Upon checking in I found Neil at the front desk very professional and knowledgeable. I would recommend staying here to any of my colleagues and I will be using the hotel again in the coming weeks. The house keeping lady (black hair) was very polite and professional. Food for breakfast and dinner was very nice also.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Neil120879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. I have passed on your words to Neil who is a very hard working young man. You made his day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Having already enjoyed the Aston Hotel in Sheffield we had no doubt of going to one of the group of excellent Aston Hotels but were a little concerned when notified a few weeks beforehand of the refurbishment and take over by Holiday Inns. But these fears were soon allayed by the very warm welcome by the receptionist. The family weekend included two nights in a very comfortable a quiet room with king sized bed, good value breakfast, dinner from their A La Carte Menu for the first night and two tickets for the Beamish Open Air Museum, an excellent value for money break. Although dinner on Saturday and breakfast on the Sunday was a bit hectic with two coaches arriving for a one night stay but a quiet word with the reception to co-ordinate our timing and the potential problem overcome. A most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Situated just off the A1(M) our room on the second floor some distance away from the dining area was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alancmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay after staying at our sister hotel in Sheffield also. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I arrived thinking i was booking into the Aston Hotel, but to my surprise and amazement it was a Holiday Inn. This has just changed on my arrival.

I had an absolutely great time at the hotel. the staff were friendly, professional and always spoke. The receptionist Catherine was professional, courteous and friendly. I would definately stay at this hotel again. the rooms are going through an update at the time, mine was an executive room, very clean, tidy and too a very high standard.
Location of hotel is easy access to A1 Motorway.

I cant fault this hotel in any way, i have read many reviews, i think are unjustified as the hotel was going through a change of hands, what do you expect, its a good change a good brand :)

Room Tip: i had an executive room, totally everything you need well worth the money i paid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely words. It is very kind of you and most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Like others I booked with the Aston Hotel only to find it was now a Holiday Inn.

Only 1 member of staff at the front desk to check in with even though there was a queue of people waiting. The queue further lengthened when another guest who had just checked in came back to complain that the room looked like a bomb had hit it and the door wouldn't close.

The restaurant although not too busy took an age to bring my food. Once it did arrive, one side of the bowl was luke warm, the other cold! (A chicken curry). Then I had to wait for the meal again.

The plug on the kettle in the room was falling to pieces, very dangerous.

The hotel was presented well and was clean and tidy but the above really put me off.

Wont be staying there again in a hurry.

Room Tip: Try the Premier Inn, not too far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aardy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. With regard to your comment that you had booked the Aston only to find it was a Holiday Inn. I am pleased to say that we have recently undergone a one million pound refurbishment to ensure that we are offering our guests an up to date comfortable hotel stay. All staff and management remain the same. In this vain please accept my apologies for the issues that you had during your stay. The Aston has always been known for its food and fantastic customer service. However it would appear that on this occasion you had to wait to be checked in. Although we do try to have two members of staff on check-in during our peak times unfortunately this is not always possible. However it is very rare for so many guests to arrive at the same time. Please accept my apologies that your waiting time was longer than usual. Thank you for your comments regarding the curry I have passed these on to chef it is a very basic thing to have hot food, this is inexcusable please once again accept my apologies. With regard to the kettle thank you for bringing this to our attention, this should have been picked up by housekeeping, however we do have maintenance cards in our rooms which guests can fill out to help us identify if there are any issues. I am very sad to hear that you will not be back to the hotel, when we are given feedback such as this we always take this on board and action any points that we can to improve our service. Once again many thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
0.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
774 reviews
3.0 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,152 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
6.7 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Property: Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing