We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service, impressed!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Checked in here for three nights whilst visiting family. Knowing that the hotel had recently been taken over as a Holiday Inn we expected good service, and we were not disappointed. A problem with our room was quickly rectified after the first night, and we were moved to one of the refurbished rooms which was excellent. Breakfasts were great, and we had light snacks twice in the restaurant, which we enjoyed a lot. All of the staff were very helpful. Can heartily recommend this hotel. Other reviewers should have raised issues with the staff before marking the hotel badly. The mark of good service is how well and quickly problems are dealt with. That's why we were impressed.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room. They have all been refurbished. The rest of the rooms will be changed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xnij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is always lovely to hear from fair minded people who are prepared to alert us to an issue giving us the opportunity to fix it for them. It is our job to ensure that you have a great stay and we are so pleased that you did so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    220
    71
    22
    10
See reviews for
64
299
24
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

This is a new addition to the IHG group. I stay in lots of these around the UK and have to say they should have branded this hotel as a Holiday Inn Express as I don't think it really cuts it as a Holiday Inn.

The corridors are very creaky in the night as people walk up and down them. The bed was a bit rickety too. When the cleaners were in the room next door they were not too quiet and when they pushed the bed back against the wall it made me jolt as I was sat up against the adjoining wall on my bed.

The breakfast was a bit of a let down. No beans or black pudding available as they had run out and it wasn't even busy. How can you run out of beans!? So it was a bit of a dry breakfast. The rest of the items were in warming plates which only kept the food warm. The Hash browns were a bit underdone as well.

C'mon Holiday inn you can do better than that. Up your game before you get any more poor feedback as I stay in the area at scotch corner normally but you are a bit cheaper but I will pay the extra for more comfort. Go and see how they operate.

Overall it's not a bad place but just not up to the usual standards I am used to with them.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are aware that there was an issue with breakfast in that some items ran out. Please accept my sincerest apologies for this. It is very poor service for such simple items to have run out. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The rooms were good, clean etc, only one set of towels in the room. The restaurant felt more like a school dining hall, our bottle of white wine was warm, no one approached us at our table to ask if we would like a drink or if we were ready to order, when the food did arrive the sauce on my pasta had the consistency of milk. We would only stay here again as a punishment.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazdaw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am most concerned to hear that you had problems during your stay and would like to apologise sincerely for this. Unfortunately you do not state if any of these issues were mentioned to the staff so that we could resolve them for you. It is our commitment to all of our guests to help them have as comfortable and enjoyable a stay as possible, we are always happy to hep resolve issues of any kind. I have addressed the issues which you had in the restaurant with the kitchen and restaurant staff. It is most unusual for our guests not to be approached immediately when they enter the restaurant and this breakdown in service should not happen. With regard to their only being one set of towels in the room, we are happy to provide towels and other in room amenities at any time of the night or day just dial 0 on your telephone. Your feedback regarding the restaurant is noted, we have recently had a full refurbishment and have had excellent feedback regarding our modern up to date furnishings and fittings. However we are aware that this style is not suited to everyone's taste. Once again please accept our apologies that you were not satisfied with your stay and many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Pleasant staff to welcome us. Trouble free check in. Rooms for 2 adults and 2 children was spacious with comfortable beds for all (kids had sofa bed). No bath but great shower. Very clean. Only very slight quibble was that the sink was in the room, not the en-suite, what was all that about? Wifi worked without hitch. Breakfast was great with pancakes for the kids (and mum!). Very very quiet. Lovely.

Room Tip: No pool. Try and get a room facing away from the A1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbrianCamelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are currently undergoing a full refurbishment and are moving our sink into the bathroom were they should be located. We are very pleased the kids(and Mum) enjoyed the freshly made pancakes and really hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for only one night but wish it was more as this is the best IHG hotel ive been in stay in them 4-5 nights per week its not long changed to a holiday inn so is modern and spacious and very clean i was put in an executive room which had mini bar etc in room also had a heated shavin mirror in bathroom which doesn't steam up so great for shavin after a shower i noticed in the public areas they have USB charging points but they havnt done this in the rooms but only a minor problem hope to be back here again and again

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank colin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are so pleased to hear that you will be back and your comments mean a lot to us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My husband and I visited the Aston (Holiday Inn) Darlington 5th-7th March for our wedding anniversary. We had one of the refurbished rooms and it was fab. Large bed, with choice of soft and firm pillows, with the offer to change them at reception if you wanted. We slept very well and there was no traffic noise from outside.

The room was nicely decorated and the very clean, as was the bathroom. There was no bath, but a very large shower which even had a seat in it! Very hot water and excellent shower pressure.

We stayed on the Beamish deal, which gave us 2 tickets to the Beamish Museum and a meal on the first night. The staff were totally happy to change the meal to our second night, at our request, as that was the day of our anniversary.

The staff are very pleasant and friendly, as are most people "up North!"

Our meal was lovely, I had the lamb and hubby had the steak. The only thing I did think was a bit off, was the £4.50 surcharge for the steak. If my memory serves me correctly, my meal at menu price cost £15.95, the steak was £17.50 a difference of £1.55, so why such a high surcharge? Naughty.
As if the surcharge wasn't high enough, it had gone through the till at £7.70. But the receptionist sorted this on check out when I pointed this out. So make sure you check your bills.

The only thing - apart from the surcharge - they need to sort out, is the breakfast. There was plenty to choose from, cooked breakfast, juice, pain au chocolate, muffins, cereal etc. The issue was the cooked breakfast, it is kept on hot plates, but was tepid at best, BOTH mornings. Breakfast is served until 11 am and we had breakfast about 9.30, so not last minute. It's a shame as there was plenty of choice and it was all nice, except I would normally eat hash browns, but couldn't face them as they looked anaemic.

The hotel lounge areas are lovely, very well decorated. There are some games you can play, cheaper versions of Ludo, Connect 4, Guess Who and Mr.Pop. We played them all except the Ludo and were obviously the first to do so as we had to unseal boxes and stick the stickers on. After 4 Desperados for me and a couple of pints for hubby it was quite funny, trying to get the stickers on straight - we did our best!

We did ask for nuts at the bar, but they don't sell them, but if I had been that desperate I could have popped to the garage.

When you are inside you can forget you're next to a main road and a garage etc, it's so nice inside that I would recommend it for a romantic break, as well as any other break.

Would definitely go back : )

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such an extensive review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. With regards to the breakfast we are working hard to eradicate any teething issues we may have had. I will order some nuts for the bar also. Many thanks for your feedback once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Decided to add this hotel on to another break as there was an opening deal of £44 including breakfast. We arrived and had a friendly greeting from the receptionist. Our room was large and comfortable with an enormous bed and everything was clean. There was free WIFI although it was a bit unreliable at times but fine for normal use. There was a large TV and plenty of seating and a huge desk area with loads of sockets. Bathroom was fine with a huge shower.
The main fault was really at breakfast where the staff didn't really seem organised and no-one was checking to see when food needed topped up. Breakfast was fine but not up to the usual standard of Holiday Inn. The hotel is new to Holiday Inn and hopefully will improve as staff get more experienced. It did feel far more like a Holiday Inn Express than a Holiday Inn.
It was good value for money though and we will try it another time.
The hotel is handy for motorway although the signs for it aren't great. There is a McDonalds nearby so follow the signs for it if you aren't sure of the way.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sheils6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear sheils6,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the breakfast service prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
4.8 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Property: Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing