We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter weekend in the North East”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed one night on the way home after a very busy weekend and could not find the hotel - we had booked at the Aston Hotel but could only see the Holiday Inn - eventually went into reception to find that we were in the right place hotel just changed ownership! Good large clean room with roomy bathroom and good shower. Excellent hot buffet breakfast with lots of choice. Could have eaten in the restaurant until 9pm and they also offer a 'collect' room service which seems to be a good idea.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of you recent stay. Your comments are most appreciated. We are very pleased that having visited the hotel when it was the Aston you enjoyed your stay. It is great to welcome back previous visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

I spent one night at this hotel in April.

Overall the stay was good, however with a little more attention to detail it would have been very good.

The hotel itself was very easy to locate and is situated just off the motorway with a McDonald's and petrol station also on-site. There is a large car park with plenty of spaces available to the front and side of the hotel.

I arrived at around 5pm and was checked in quickly. A complementary newspaper was offered for the morning and as I was a member of the loyalty scheme I was offered some additional points or a complimentary snack and drink from the bar. The reception area is open plan and look really nice with comfortable chairs and lots of natural light.

My room was on the first floor and was found to be clean and well presented whilst the bathroom was also very clean with a large walk in power shower which was very good. The room itself was very warm and although there were air con controls in the room it did not seem to cool the room down very much.

I ordered room service in the evening. There was a decent choice of dishes available on the menu. When calling to order the telephone rang for a considerable time and was then transferred to reception who transferred me to the restaurant who then put me on hold. Once ordered I was advised that the food would be approximately twenty minutes.

When the food arrived the member of staff looked less than enthralled at having to deliver it. I had ordered Beef Bourguignon which was advertised on the menu as slow cooked beef. Whilst it was cooked I'm not sure that it had been slow cooked as it was quite chewy.

I had a good nights sleep and found the bed to be comfortable whilst there was no excessive noise or disturbances during the night.

At breakfast in the morning I was greeted immediately and asked for my room number and was then thanked, however the member of staff did not explain anything and I had to ask if I was just to sit anywhere and if breakfast was self service. Some guests were being offered tea & coffee when arriving and being asked for their room number which meant it was on the table for them by the time they had fetched some juice whilst others, including myself were asked after they had started to eat.

Overall the visit was good. The hotel looks really nice, particularly the open plan areas which include reception, bar and restaurant which is informal and very relaxing, however I felt that the F&B service/standards let it down which appears to be a running theme here. I would stay again and if the hotel can crack the F&B issues along with a little more attention to detail the product would be very good.

Tripadvisor really should have a rating between average and very good as this hotel is above average but not quite very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Chris M,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our food and beverage staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Holiday Inn on the outskirts of Darlington. Excellently located along the A1 M. Great access routes to the nearby towns and city.
Hotel is nice breakfast was good lots variety. Room was big a enough for 2 adults and 2 kids.
Overall nice hotel and helpful staff

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Naila187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Naila187,

Thank you for your feedback. It is lovely to hear liked our location and enjoyed the breakfast. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

on arrival ( 21.04.14) there was no warm welcome, the girl waited for me and my partner to speak. we travel around England a lot so we know what a good hotel and good staff should be like. we were giving a lovely clean room however there was a toilet brush left down the toilet one towel and a very old burnt out hairdryer that went off after ten seconds.
The first night we ordered two rib-eye steaks which were not cooked to our liking the tomato with them had come straight out of the fridge, the peppercorn sauce had a consistency of milk, the mash potato had been microwaved and the sticky toffee pudding was bought in and did not taste like sticky toffee pudding at all more like aunt Bessie syrup pudding. we were told that the cocktails we wanted were out of stock so i went for a cosmopolitan, the lady told me im not sure if we can do that one so i asked for two mojitos. when our food arrived we had two cosmopolitans in beer glasses and cubed ice . Have you ever! why advertise on a menu if it’s not what the customer gets.
The second day we ordered room service again. i told the waitress i wanted mash potato again but this time i didn’t want it microwaved she said i will tell the chef. i swear to god i received microwaved mash that was even worse, it was not fresh not only that the chicken breasts had also been finished in the microwave. they were hard and chewy. i honestly think they had done it on purpose.
As the hair dryer didn’t work we asked at reception for another she said i will bring one straight down. we were waiting 40 minutes so i phoned, she said, with attitude I’m a little busy at the moment i will bring it when i get a second. ok she was by herself so my partner went to get it from reception to overhear another guest also complaining about food. There was spelling mistakes on the food menu!! Yes we are all humans and make mistakes in spelling but it’s a food menu for god sake it should be checked professionally for mistakes etc
This has been the worst experience we have ever had in a holiday inn. the food has been disgusting. ( all microwaved) honestly i hope this review gets passed on to the gm (Patricia and the duty manager (Katie)and the head chef as its not acceptable to think people are stupid and don’t know what they are eating. we will never stay here again entirely as there was no care put into cooking our food. it was a real shame as we both were looking forward to staying here as it had just been taking over and refurbished.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are nicer and cleaner.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ster h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear ster h,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to note your positive feedback about the room cleanliness. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular the quality of food, front office services and room amenities. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. Your comments has been forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest experience.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

What great value for money! The newly refurbished holiday inn was fab! Everything was of a high standard and this includes the room which was comfortable with a super
King bed, dinner was tasty, breakfasts were good with plenty of choice, staff attentive and welcoming. The tickets to beamish open air museum are included and this proved to be an excellent and enjoyable day out. Only one word of advice is when you arrive at beamish I would advise to go to the town first as later on it's very busy. Well worth the money, get yourselves booked in!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. Beamish museum is an excellent day out for all the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a beamish museum break. Had dinner on the first night and was very good quality , breakfast very good . Stayed in a refurb room which was lovely only problem was the squeaky floor boards above us really noisy . Luckily there was nobody above us the next night or would of asked to be moved . Check bill on leaving tried to charge for drinks we hadn't had luckily I spotted this my husband would of just payed .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moomins6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thanks for your lovely comments they are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We regularly visited this hotel when it was the Aston so were a bit unsure what to expect now that it has changed to Holiday Inn. Thankfully we weren't disappointed!

Our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Extra towels could be left in a more obvious place perhaps as there was only one set in the bathroom. We had a room facing the A1(M) but couldn't hear any noise. We slept with the window open on both nights due to the heat in the room, perhaps one negative point, but our sleep wasn't disrupted.

There was a lot of choice for breakfast which is particularly good if you don't want a cooked breakfast. Some items had run out, both cooked breakfast and continental, and weren't replaced even though it wasn't late. Pancakes were also on the menu but were no where to be seen, and weren't mentioned by staff, which was a minor disappointment.

We ate in the restaurant one night and our food was delicious. The only let down was the timing as it took nearly two hours for two courses to be delivered and we were never once asked if we would like anymore drinks. The restaurant was by no means busy and the staff in the restaurant weren't over-friendly either unfortunately.

Despite the slight letdowns with breakfast and dinner, I would recommend this hotel as it is clean, comfortable and you will get a friendly welcome at reception.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very pleased to hear that you like the improvements we have made to the hotel. I have passed your comments regarding the breakfast to our chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
3.0 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
802 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
6.7 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range: £45 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing