We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Certificate of Excellence
West Cumbria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Will stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed for one night with friends. This has just become a holiday inn,when I booked with booking.com it was an Aston hotel.Reception was helpful & friendly considering the information they had on the system said I had cancelled one of the two rooms I had booked. It was not a problem as they had rooms available (dont know what would have happened if they were full.I showed the receptionist my booking.com on the internet & it still showed as NOT cancelled. Anyhow,as the did not have another twin room we were given two doubles for the same price.Result!!. The rooms were to the usual standard & spacious.We ate in the bar & found the menu not unreasonably priced & the food very good. Didnt care for the slates the main meal was served on especially as the sauce provided just ran off onto the table. Drinks were ok,the usual beers & lagers at this type of establishments prices. Breakfast was good & plenty of choice although they couldnt keep up with the demand.To be fair it wasnt the kitchens fault as a coach party of teenagers had decided to have breakfast at the same time as we required.If we were in the area we would stay again.It was good value for the rates charged

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steele-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Please accept our apologies that your booking was incorrect on check-in. When we became a Holiday inn unfortunately one of the rooms booked originally had been changed. I am pleased to say that this is not a regular occurrence and our systems are now fully linked with booking.com. Regardless of whether we were busier or not we would have honoured your reservation. In relation to your comments regarding the slates used in the restaurant we are currently reviewing this. Once again many thanks for your constructive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    215
    68
    21
    10
See reviews for
63
296
23
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I go here most Sundays for the carvery meal and we must say how enjoyable it always is. The standard of the food is top class and the chefs and all the waiting staff are very friendly and attentive. I can honestly say we have never had cause to complain about anything so we'd just like to say a big thank you to everyone there and also say we cannot understand why some people are not happy with it. They must be difficult to please!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizKips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review. It is lovely to hear that you are regular guests who come back to our hotel on a weekly basis. Thank you so much. I have passed your comments on to our hard working team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed one night on the way home after a very busy weekend and could not find the hotel - we had booked at the Aston Hotel but could only see the Holiday Inn - eventually went into reception to find that we were in the right place hotel just changed ownership! Good large clean room with roomy bathroom and good shower. Excellent hot buffet breakfast with lots of choice. Could have eaten in the restaurant until 9pm and they also offer a 'collect' room service which seems to be a good idea.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of you recent stay. Your comments are most appreciated. We are very pleased that having visited the hotel when it was the Aston you enjoyed your stay. It is great to welcome back previous visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I spent one night at this hotel in April.

Overall the stay was good, however with a little more attention to detail it would have been very good.

The hotel itself was very easy to locate and is situated just off the motorway with a McDonald's and petrol station also on-site. There is a large car park with plenty of spaces available to the front and side of the hotel.

I arrived at around 5pm and was checked in quickly. A complementary newspaper was offered for the morning and as I was a member of the loyalty scheme I was offered some additional points or a complimentary snack and drink from the bar. The reception area is open plan and look really nice with comfortable chairs and lots of natural light.

My room was on the first floor and was found to be clean and well presented whilst the bathroom was also very clean with a large walk in power shower which was very good. The room itself was very warm and although there were air con controls in the room it did not seem to cool the room down very much.

I ordered room service in the evening. There was a decent choice of dishes available on the menu. When calling to order the telephone rang for a considerable time and was then transferred to reception who transferred me to the restaurant who then put me on hold. Once ordered I was advised that the food would be approximately twenty minutes.

When the food arrived the member of staff looked less than enthralled at having to deliver it. I had ordered Beef Bourguignon which was advertised on the menu as slow cooked beef. Whilst it was cooked I'm not sure that it had been slow cooked as it was quite chewy.

I had a good nights sleep and found the bed to be comfortable whilst there was no excessive noise or disturbances during the night.

At breakfast in the morning I was greeted immediately and asked for my room number and was then thanked, however the member of staff did not explain anything and I had to ask if I was just to sit anywhere and if breakfast was self service. Some guests were being offered tea & coffee when arriving and being asked for their room number which meant it was on the table for them by the time they had fetched some juice whilst others, including myself were asked after they had started to eat.

Overall the visit was good. The hotel looks really nice, particularly the open plan areas which include reception, bar and restaurant which is informal and very relaxing, however I felt that the F&B service/standards let it down which appears to be a running theme here. I would stay again and if the hotel can crack the F&B issues along with a little more attention to detail the product would be very good.

Tripadvisor really should have a rating between average and very good as this hotel is above average but not quite very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Chris M,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our food and beverage staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Holiday Inn on the outskirts of Darlington. Excellently located along the A1 M. Great access routes to the nearby towns and city.
Hotel is nice breakfast was good lots variety. Room was big a enough for 2 adults and 2 kids.
Overall nice hotel and helpful staff

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Naila187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Naila187,

Thank you for your feedback. It is lovely to hear liked our location and enjoyed the breakfast. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

on arrival ( 21.04.14) there was no warm welcome, the girl waited for me and my partner to speak. we travel around England a lot so we know what a good hotel and good staff should be like. we were giving a lovely clean room however there was a toilet brush left down the toilet one towel and a very old burnt out hairdryer that went off after ten seconds.
The first night we ordered two rib-eye steaks which were not cooked to our liking the tomato with them had come straight out of the fridge, the peppercorn sauce had a consistency of milk, the mash potato had been microwaved and the sticky toffee pudding was bought in and did not taste like sticky toffee pudding at all more like aunt Bessie syrup pudding. we were told that the cocktails we wanted were out of stock so i went for a cosmopolitan, the lady told me im not sure if we can do that one so i asked for two mojitos. when our food arrived we had two cosmopolitans in beer glasses and cubed ice . Have you ever! why advertise on a menu if it’s not what the customer gets.
The second day we ordered room service again. i told the waitress i wanted mash potato again but this time i didn’t want it microwaved she said i will tell the chef. i swear to god i received microwaved mash that was even worse, it was not fresh not only that the chicken breasts had also been finished in the microwave. they were hard and chewy. i honestly think they had done it on purpose.
As the hair dryer didn’t work we asked at reception for another she said i will bring one straight down. we were waiting 40 minutes so i phoned, she said, with attitude I’m a little busy at the moment i will bring it when i get a second. ok she was by herself so my partner went to get it from reception to overhear another guest also complaining about food. There was spelling mistakes on the food menu!! Yes we are all humans and make mistakes in spelling but it’s a food menu for god sake it should be checked professionally for mistakes etc
This has been the worst experience we have ever had in a holiday inn. the food has been disgusting. ( all microwaved) honestly i hope this review gets passed on to the gm (Patricia and the duty manager (Katie)and the head chef as its not acceptable to think people are stupid and don’t know what they are eating. we will never stay here again entirely as there was no care put into cooking our food. it was a real shame as we both were looking forward to staying here as it had just been taking over and refurbished.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are nicer and cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ster h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear ster h,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to note your positive feedback about the room cleanliness. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular the quality of food, front office services and room amenities. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. Your comments has been forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest experience.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

What great value for money! The newly refurbished holiday inn was fab! Everything was of a high standard and this includes the room which was comfortable with a super
King bed, dinner was tasty, breakfasts were good with plenty of choice, staff attentive and welcoming. The tickets to beamish open air museum are included and this proved to be an excellent and enjoyable day out. Only one word of advice is when you arrive at beamish I would advise to go to the town first as later on it's very busy. Well worth the money, get yourselves booked in!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. Beamish museum is an excellent day out for all the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
3.0 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Property: Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing