We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed here overnight whilst on business in the area. The room I had was huge with a good desk area, lots of plugs and amazingly fast internet for a Holiday Inn. Room service was good, lots of parking on site and friendly staff - all round an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. I have passed them on to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our double room was large, pleasantly furnished, with a comfortable bed, plenty of storage space, the usual tea- and coffee-making facilities, flat-screen TV and triple glazing. Everything was clean, though it was too warm in the room, even with the heating turned down. The shower was excellent. The restaurant's food was good. Staff were all helpful and pleasant. The electronic key stopped working at one point.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OscarVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please accept our apologies that your key card stopped working during your stay. Sometime cards can be deprogrammed if kept next to a mobile phone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel has recently changed from Aston Hotel to Holiday Inn. The downstairs public areas have been refurbished to a very high and comfortable standard.
The double room we had was not refurbished. The bathroom comprises of a spacious shower cubicle with seat and a toilet. The sink in situated inside the bedroom !
Some of the rooms are interconnecting and unfortunately for us we could hear the boisterous children sharing with their parents.
However once asleep our sleep quality was very good and although close to A1 there was little road noise.

The restaurant has mood lighting which makes it really difficult to read the print on the menu. Our food was good but portion sizes varied, and did not include veg which had to be purchased separetly. Avoid the tiramisu for desert, it has a lot of synthetic cream and very little taste. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and refilled quickly.

The receptionist Ashley was on shift for most of our stay and was really helpful, providing a fan for the other members of our party as the room was too hot.(bank holiday weekend no maintainence staff till tuesday). The poor guy even had to fix the aerial as all television signal dissapeared on saturday evening.)

We left our do not disturb hanger on our door all day as we did not require our room cleaned but were surprised on returning to find clean towels left outside.
Taking everything into consideration, the Beamish break is well worth the money for a 2 night stay with bed , breakfast and one evening meal and the tickets into Beamish.
We would use the hotel again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: lot of rooms are interconnected. strange arrangement of sink being in bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisie0465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Your comments regarding the menu print have been taken on board and we will rectify this when we print our upcoming new menu. I have passed your comments regarding the tiramisu on to chef so that he can investigate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. As a platinum member of the hotel chain's loyalty programme, I've stayed in a number of Holiday Inns over the years.

The hotel has recently been refurbished and has clean bright look. My room was very clean and fairly spacious and I really liked the large shower cubicle in the bathroom.

I enjoyed an evening meal in the restaurant. For a starter I had the Pate - really generous helping of Pate but unfortunately not matched by the quantity of bread provided. Breakfast was adequate - average for a Holiday Inn.

I realise that the Holiday Inn has only recently re-opened but more attention to detail is needed. When I checked in I asked for a morning paper and for an alarm call at 07.30 each morning. Whilst the newspaper arrived promptly, I'm still waiting for the alarm calls. The bathroom toiletries were not replenished on my second day.

The biggest disappointment was the w-ifi - so slow that I was frequently "timed out" of a number of sites - this really needs to be improved.

However, for what I paid for the stay, was very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please accept our sincerest apologies that you did not receive your alarm call. We have tightened up our processes in respect to this to ensure that this does not happen again. We really appreciate that you have given this feedback so that we can do something about it. Many thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Superb rooms, very clean and quiet
Nothing to much trouble for staff, great eating area fab breakfast and In house Starbucks and bar and gym could not fault this place lovely place to stay to go and explore and would happily stay again for longer

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thanks you for your review. I have passed your great comments on to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed one night whilst on business in Darlington. They were much cheaper than the Premier Inn and only 10 mins or so drive from the town.
Staff were really pleasant and accommodating. The rooms were much larger than I was expecting. The refurbishment has obviously been done well as nothing was looking tired... Except me!
I only ate breakfast but it was good. Sausages are usually a good pointer as to the quality of the food and they were not the cardboard ones you get at some national chains. There was ample parking on site too. The car park was busy but no problems finding a space.
My only criticism was the ENORMOUS speed bump in the way in and out. I caught my car on it on the way out. Not pleasant as it was only a month old at the time. Just be careful. It does need sorting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_H_zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thanks for your review. Your comment regarding the speed bump has not been feed back to us since our refurbishment. We will look into fixing this issue. Again many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stopped on the way up to Scotland - for what we wanted it was perfect. Two good double beds and a decent breakfast - at a very good promotional rate, and Wi-Fi to boot. The refurb certainly made it feel fresh and new and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are very pleased that you approve of our refurbishment and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
0.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
817 reviews
3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,358 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
417 reviews
4 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range: £39 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing