We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night for a wedding in the area. Nice rooms that looked to have been recently refurbished.

Good breakfast buffet and very nice helpful staff on reception.

I would certainly use this hotel again for similar purposes.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank J_M_13_Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are very pleased to hear that you will come back again to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Modern very clean hotel that bucks the trend by giving you decent bedroom lighting. Very comfortable bed and seating and ample storage in room. TV is fine. WiFi okay but a bit irritating that you need to rejoin every 24 hours. Bathroom including shower is fine except for the wash hand basin. This needs some explanation. At first glance it is large and quite adequate for anyone opting for a good wash instead of a shower for whatever reason. However the basin is so shallow that anything beyond tickling the fingertips with water results in waves of water slopping all over you or the floor.
Breakfast was adequate and very tasty and well organised.
Dining room pleasant and well organised.
Unless you are coming on the motorway from the South keep a sharp eye open or you could miss your turn. By the way it's the McDonald's turn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VICTRO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your comments we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have not had the feedback you gave regarding our sinks and I will look into the issue you had. Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

this trip was booked as part of a deal that included dinner, wine and tickets to beamish. After booking the hotel changed hands to become the holiday inn. The deal was honoured - as expected. All staff very helpful and friendly. Hotel room average size with everything that is standard in a chain. large powerful shower. Comfortable bed and even though we overlooked the car park it was quiet. Breakfast plentiful and hot, lots of choice. The same dining room is used for dinner and in my opinion this is what lets the hotel down. the prices are expensive -£5-6 for starter £18 steak extra for sides. At these prices we don't really expect cutlery in a 'mug' on the table, very bright lighting which I'm sure with a little thought could be reduced and save their bill! we asked for a taxi into darlington, the hotel used their recommended firm and we were charged £13, on the way home we phoned a local firm and the cost was £6. We did inform the hotel. There is a small gym but we didn't use this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liverpoolcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. Your comments regarding our staff are most welcome. I am sorry that you do not like our evening table set up, this is a Holiday Inn Open Lobby Concept standard which we are not allowed to deviate from. Although we are unable to change the way our dinner service is set up your comments are genuinely very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

First time at a Holiday inn formerly Aston. On arrival our booking could not be found it took a while to be sorted (they thought one of the other hotels I had chosen had our booking) The room was the usual could be anywhere type desk ,chair, double bed shower etc we had the bonus of a very squeeky floor. The room was clean and tidy but the shower let it down badly the mastic sealant round the door was dropping off in places and missing in others. A tile was off below the shower door and the flexible water pipe to shower head was rusty. The bed had a strange vallance arrangment seemingly only covering half the base.
Breakfast had a good choice of items but the hot items bacon, sausage eggs etc were anything but hot when we ate at 930, we only had cerial and toast 2nd day. The public areas were modern and tidy and all the staff friendly. Do not know if we would use Holiday Inn again these have put us off thought this company would be better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I have tried to investigate to see which room you stayed in following your comments regarding the shower. As I was unable to narrow down which room you stayed in we have systematically undertaken a full review of our shower pods, as these types of comments are not the norm. With respect to the breakfast being cold please accept our apologies regarding this we have now introduced more regular checks form the Kitchen team to ensure that freshly cooked, hot items are available at all times. Regardless of the time you come down for breakfast the quality of food on offer should be to the same high standard. Once again please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed here overnight whilst on business in the area. The room I had was huge with a good desk area, lots of plugs and amazingly fast internet for a Holiday Inn. Room service was good, lots of parking on site and friendly staff - all round an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. I have passed them on to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our double room was large, pleasantly furnished, with a comfortable bed, plenty of storage space, the usual tea- and coffee-making facilities, flat-screen TV and triple glazing. Everything was clean, though it was too warm in the room, even with the heating turned down. The shower was excellent. The restaurant's food was good. Staff were all helpful and pleasant. The electronic key stopped working at one point.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OscarVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please accept our apologies that your key card stopped working during your stay. Sometime cards can be deprogrammed if kept next to a mobile phone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel has recently changed from Aston Hotel to Holiday Inn. The downstairs public areas have been refurbished to a very high and comfortable standard.
The double room we had was not refurbished. The bathroom comprises of a spacious shower cubicle with seat and a toilet. The sink in situated inside the bedroom !
Some of the rooms are interconnecting and unfortunately for us we could hear the boisterous children sharing with their parents.
However once asleep our sleep quality was very good and although close to A1 there was little road noise.

The restaurant has mood lighting which makes it really difficult to read the print on the menu. Our food was good but portion sizes varied, and did not include veg which had to be purchased separetly. Avoid the tiramisu for desert, it has a lot of synthetic cream and very little taste. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and refilled quickly.

The receptionist Ashley was on shift for most of our stay and was really helpful, providing a fan for the other members of our party as the room was too hot.(bank holiday weekend no maintainence staff till tuesday). The poor guy even had to fix the aerial as all television signal dissapeared on saturday evening.)

We left our do not disturb hanger on our door all day as we did not require our room cleaned but were surprised on returning to find clean towels left outside.
Taking everything into consideration, the Beamish break is well worth the money for a 2 night stay with bed , breakfast and one evening meal and the tickets into Beamish.
We would use the hotel again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: lot of rooms are interconnected. strange arrangement of sink being in bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisie0465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Your comments regarding the menu print have been taken on board and we will rectify this when we print our upcoming new menu. I have passed your comments regarding the tiramisu on to chef so that he can investigate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
0.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
809 reviews
3.0 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,298 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
406 reviews
13.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range: £47 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing