We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed there for one night visiting friends. It's so close to the A1 motorway and having a MacDonalds next door was a real bonus. We booked an Executive room on the ground floor. The wing had just been recently refurbished and looks amazing in comparison with the other Holiday Inns I've been to. The staff were nice and very helpful, and there was complimentary internet. The breakfast selection was really good and was pleasantly surprised to find USB charging ports on the restaurant tables.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that have been refurbished, from what I understand the refurbishment is in stages so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tafadzwa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    223
    72
    22
    10
See reviews for
66
303
24
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

stayed here last night (30/07/2014) i got there with my three children, who are 6, 5 and 13 weeks. both my 5 and 6 yr olds have autism and had to have clear instruction to do anything at all. anyhow....i walked in carrying my 13 week baby in his car seat plus two large holdalls and a laptop, my 5 and 6 year old had their trunkie between them so we checked in with "Emma" who checked us in no problem but NEVER asked if i'd like a hand with my things, she never even offered to get somebody else to help us (i can understand if she cant leave reception) but no, nothing. so then i had to open 4 fire doors myself carrying baby plus luggage which i thought was really out of order (I also have a broken radial bone in my arm aswell but as mums do... i managed.) "Emma" Never smiled the whole time we were there to be honest. what a face to see when you walk in somewhere!
The hotel itself is ok, not well signposted from the a1 but its ok. the breakfast was good, and we got a nice big room for us 5, (my husband joined us after work)
The hotel's nice, so are the breakfast staff. try bypass reception. Would maybe stay again but won't hold back my thoughts on useless staff next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma1487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Emma1487, Thank you for taking the time to write such a frank review of our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you were happy with the room you were allocated.Please accept my apologies if you felt your welcome was not as warm as it should have been. The hotel is very well known for having happy, friendly staff so I was most concerned to hear that you did not experience this from our receptionist. It is true that she was on shift on the desk by herself but we should always offer assistance at all times. Your comments are very helpful to us and I will ensure that these are actioned. Once again many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and myself stayed here for one night on the 19th July 2014 with a Shearings Coach Holiday en rout e to Scotland on a bed and breakfast and evening meal basis. The room was of good quality and the meals were very nice and good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BALI2007BALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel.
We are all so pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable and that your stop off enroute to Scotland was a successful one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked this hotel from a buy-a-gift voucher and it was a great booking. The location is really convenient, literally just off the motorway, and has a McDonalds, subway and petrol station on it's doorstep. We had a very warm welcome and the room was fab. It was a bit strange having the bathroom sink outside the bathroom (basically it was in the bedroom) but other than that we couldn't fault the room. We loved the bar/lounge spaces, they felt a bit different from the norm even though really they weren't and I think that was due to the decoration. We worried being just off the motorway it would be noisy but it wasn't even with the window open. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaxdx2072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear lisaxdx2072,
Thank you for your lovely comments we are very happy that you enjoyed your break with us. We are very proud to be only the fourth Holiday Inn Open Lobby concept hotel in the United Kingdom and are really pleased that you like our refurbishment. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

went for the sunday lunchtime carvery with son and grandchildren,Lovely fresh food,great selection of veg all for 7.50 and the children ate free!!! Lovely food in light,bright surroundings with helpful staff,will be returning!

Room Tip: did not stay only ate there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avrille t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear avrille t,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so please to hear your comments as we are very keen to welcome local guests into the restaurant to enjoy our carvery. We are glad that you found our lunch value for money and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

It has all you need on one site(there is a hamburger place nearby, about 100 yds away but it is not the only food outlet- there is one on site)
The rooms are good, the beds are large, the en-suite is beautiful.
This is a no-brainer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaketjeff1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
DearJaketjeff1883,
Thank you for your review of the hotel, your comments mean a lot to us and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is an excellent hotel. Chains can be hit or miss, any of them but this particular Holiday Inn was a definite hit. Very easy to find and convenient, just off the A1(M) hidden behind a garage and McDonalds. The staff were warm and welcoming, the rooms were new, comfortable, well appointed, lovely bathroom and comfy bed. The room service food was excellent - although fish is chips is a staple, getting it right is rare. The restaurant staff first warned that my food could be delayed by a coach party arrival, but it was delivered quickly and really nice. Internet was provided throughout the hotel which was just as well since the only problem was patchy mobile signal which can be a blessing but since I was travelling for work a little challenging. In fairness the hotel can't control this and the whole area was pretty awful for coverage! In summary, a great hotel, very convenient and I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00jonsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear 00jonsie,
Thank you for your comments we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
0.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
763 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
3.0 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
788 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
4.0 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Property: Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing