We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely refurbishment!”
Review of The County

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Aycliffe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The County
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely refurbishment!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Another triumph for The County, Aycliffe Village! The refurbishment is lovely and gives the restaurant a very cosy feel. It felt very Christmassy with the dressed trees and the wood-burning stove giving a festive feel to the evening. The food was, as always, excellent and the Staff are so friendly and welcoming. We were celebrating my Granddaughter's 8th birthday and can't wait for another visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    28
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
52
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Rather than a hotel it's basically a gastro-pub with some rooms. The food was delicious (I had breakfast which included really great orange juice, bacon, mushrooms etc) and Steak Pie for my evening meal, which was nice though quite expensive and not a massive portion. I stayed the night and my room was in the next house along, well decorated but small room, single bed, small bathroom, and a fair bit of noise from people outside and people in the corridor - the walls seemed very thin. Excellent staff and service. At £50 it was OK value but not brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JinnyJones1982232a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We didn't stay but we dropped in for a quick lunch. Quality food, perfectly cooked, lovely flavours, beautifully presented and lovely friendly service...what else can you say? Oh yes..the ale was excellent and a reasonable price. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boppsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night, as we broke our journey to stay here, but will be returning. Firstly the restaurant (which I can't seem to find listed under restaurants). It is excellent, The staff are pleasant, friendly and efficient. The food is excellent. An interesting menu, which we felt was very reasonably priced for the quality of the food, and whole experience. The bed and breakfast rooms are beautifully furnished, plenty of space, marvellous bathroom. One of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in; we had a really good night's sleep. We will return! Please note: The County is in Aycliff, a lovely little village south of Newton Aycliffe.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

As a business traveller I stay at many Hotels across the country and without exception this one is one of the best.
The rooms are excellent and the WiFi is Free and superb.
The Restuarant food is very good and the breakfast is just perfect.
Everything you would wish for on a night away and highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Scotland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just back after staying 2 nights at the The County in Aycliffe Village (not Newton Aycliffe) and it was a delight. I know the village well and have used the restaurant before but this time was a stay as well.
The County has 7 bedrooms in a new build adjacent townhouse and the rooms are great with views over the manicured village green.
We were in room 5 and it is spacious, modern, and spotlessly clean. It is quiet at night so sleep is good and in the morning breakfast in the restaurant next door is great with a wide choice.
The restaurant is good in the evening with a good choice of fresh cooked food and Colette the manager will even arrange for dietary requirements if you ask the day before.
The food and the service are excellent and they managed to fit us in with a large party at short notice.
Great thing about this place is it is family run with the husband and daughter as chefs and the wife as manager. There is therefore a hands on team here who work to achieve great customer service.
We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are front to back. Attic rooms only have a roof window though. Ground or first therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viki41
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We visited for a special meal. Went for full 3 courses with wine. My venison portion was v small to say the dish was almost £30. My partner had steak which was very over cooked. The waitresses were very good and took it and the side dishes away to re cook a new steak but this left me with my meal trying to make it last while my partner waited for a new meal. We wouldn't usually send something back but because of the price we thought it shoul have been right. Other than that the food was excellent. We were in late though and the bar is more of a pub at that time of night so it was quite noisy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Viki41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,070 reviews
20.6 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Bury Guest House
#2 of 2 in Newton Aycliffe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County

Property: The County
Address: 13 The Green, Newton Aycliffe DL5 6LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Aycliffe
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The County Newton Aycliffe, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing