We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Snuck in... snuck out!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel

Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Snuck in... snuck out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

First time at this PI.
Sadly we arrived late in the day, 21.30! We had pre booked this PI several weeks in advance, but I was a bit miffed that having paid £48 in advance, two weeks later the price went down a bit. Which I think, defeats the Premier saver option.
Anyway, this was a run of the mill PI. Staff friendly, room very nice. We had a very good nights sleep due to a lot of travelling.
Cannot really tell you very much more. Sadly, didn't get time to use the restaurant, shame as it was a Fayre and Square, one of our faves!
The hotel was easy enough to get to. Not near any main roads but the A1 is a short distance away.
Overall, for the time we spent there. it was very nice. would we go again? yes

Room Tip: Only 2 floors. We were round the back of the second floor which had a bleak field view but soundproo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evilraccoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    95
    25
    5
    1
See reviews for
112
79
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tadley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have used this venue several times in the last three years and have always had a very satisfactory stay. The staff are welcoming, the rooms and services good and the restaurant convenient with a range and variety to suit most people.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The staff here were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The hotel was very well located for getting from Darlington Railway Station and then working at Newton Aycliffe.

The room was spacious and provided everything I needed. I asked for specific things when I booked and they phoned me before I arrived to confirm my request and let me know they were able to honour it.

This was my first visit to a Premier Inn and I was looking forward to getting a good nights sleep. That is the main thing they sell themselves on. I found the bed to be too hard. They did offer a mattress topper but couldn't find it and the quilt they put on under the sheet didn't offer any comfort.

The soundproofing between rooms is poor and I could hear footsteps, bathrooms and talking from other rooms. Fortunately no-one around me stayed up any later than me.

The receptionist was very quick to suggest I make use of their good night's sleep guarantee and ask for my money back.

This was a very positive experience, other than the one thing they pride themselves on. I would be very happy to stay at a Premier Inn again.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms on ground floor are at the back and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

A excellent premier Inn, very clean, staff friendly, room was comfortable and refreshed well, and set on edge of town so very easy reach of local facilities. On site restaurant had good menu and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights over the Christmas period. Asked for a quiet room and was given one on the top floor at the back and it was very quiet. The staff were unfailingly helpful and cheerful despite having to work over Christmas, they even offered me de-icer for my car when it was cold and icy . I also had a hand written Xmas card from the staff pushed under my door on Christmas day. I was asked every time I went through the lobby if everything was ok and if there was anything I needed. AS a lone female guest I felt the security was good but comfortable and not intrusive. All in all I had a very good experience staying at this Premier Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StIvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Excellent hotel. Really friendly, breakfast is lovely. If you are going into town you will need to book a taxi, but the hotel or the public house will arrange this for you. The rooms are very spacious.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne_blackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

My wife and I tried to book a room on the morning of our stay, their internet site would not permit this so we decided to wait until we got there - we were travelling from Birmingham.
When we got to the motel, we tried to book in. The lady on the desk was only to happy to arrange a room for us but said that it would cost us £20 extra because we had not booked on line. I explained that we had tried to, but were unsuccessful. She simply smiled and waited for me to decide - we refused the room.
We have been staying there 3 or 4 times a year and are usually taken care of. Not this time, this time we were treated to absolute apathy despite our troubles being Premier Inn's fault!
Instead we travelled a mile down the road, booked into the ASTON hotel, saved money on the room and had breakfast included in the price. It was a lovely hotel with brilliant staff and a beautiful breakfast, all for less money than Premier Inn,
We complained to the company on our return and were sent £40 as a sorry. It was NOT enough.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slartibartfast2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
2.8 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,002 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel
12.5 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
5.9 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
Address: Great North Road, Newton Aycliffe DL5 6JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within easy reach of the A1(M). For shops and local amenities this hotel is close to Darlington. Durham city centre is only 9 miles away and for business this hotel is near to Newton Aycliffe Industrial Estate. Our Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel Newton Aycliffe
Premier Inn Newton Aycliffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing