We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I would like to qualify the title in that providing you are here with an offer, it is good value. It is a four star hotel with 3 star services. Rooms are in need of decoration in line with the public areas. there is no fridge in the room and don't look behind the bath taps ugh!
However we found the staff pleasant and the food good so we got what we paid for. If you are looking for a refined 4 star break forget it. But for an offer break we would return. Hope this helps both guets and management alike

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthNottinghamFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,100 - 2,106 of 3,299 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

What a wonderful experience. Cannot fault our stay, other than it was only one night. Wish t had been longer! The hotel is set in lovely surroundings and we were very impressed from start to finish. All of the staff that we came into contact with were polite, friendly and very helpful. We were booked into a spa room which was excellent. The leisure facilities were an added bonus (we used the pool, sauna and steam room). As for meals - the evening meal and breakfast were both delicious with a wide range of choices. Once again, the staff at both sessions were first class.
Redworth Hall certainly ticked all the boxes for us and we would like to say "Thank you" to all who helped to make our experience so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGG1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for much for giving us such a terrific review and awarding us 5 stars! It's always great to read such comments.

We are all delighted that you had such a great time, and it is particularly good to read that you found the team to be so helpful and professional - they do strive very hard to surpass people's expectations.

Thanks, once again, and we all look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Staff friendly and food very good. Lovely health suite. Single room in old part of hotel beautiful but family room a little tired 'tho' comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank becjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear becjules

Thanks very much for posting your 1st Tripadvisor review, and choosing us to write about!

We are particularly pleased you found the staff to be friendly, and our food very good.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Driveway up to hotel and the original building are spectacular. Inside, the bedrooms and public areas are crying out to be refurbished. The soft furnishings are dirty and threadbare. The standard of food in the main restaurant was very poor. Taste and presentation were awful.
The childrens park is closed outside and the indoor soft play is also closed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan_M584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Susan_M584

We're sorry that you did not have a great stay at the hotel. We are in the process of refurbishing the bedrooms in the hotel, and hope to have the project finished soon.

We're sorry you did not enjoy our food, we have done a lot recently to increase our standards.

We hope that you might give us the benefit of the doubt and vist us again at some stage in the future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was our second visit to Redworth Hall for a short break weekend. The package we had included dinner on the first night and afternoon tea on the second day. The hotel was fully booked so an upgrade to a deluxe double was not possible, however the room we were given was excellent and apart from the slightly better decor and toiletries, it did not feel like a standard room.
The leisure facilities are very good and the gym is as good as you'll find on any hight street. The restaurant offers a good menu and we enjoyed our first night eating there. However the cost of £25.00 per head meant that the second night we ate at a fantastic Indian restaurant in Darlington called The Viceroy, and paid half the price! Redworth Hall is a a large hotel yet feels quite intimate. The only criticism I have is that there are not enough areas to sit and relax. The reception area is very small, and the bar area fills up very quickly and has Sky Sports on all day. Great if you want to watch TV but not if you want to sit and relax with friends. For such a large hotel its surprising that they don't have more chill out areas. We''ll be back at Redworth Hall in the future, and hopefully taking advantage of some great offers through Living Social.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ColinandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear ColinandDeb

Thaks very much for this generally positive review. We appreciate the time and trouble you have taken to note down your thoughts.

Your comment about having a better provision for a lounge has been noted, and we have been discussing such developments at recent planning meetings.

Thanks again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Spent a night there whilst traveling to the ferry. Used the pool,sauna and spa pool.
Had to wait to check in but wasn't a problem and room wasn't ready but like I said wasn't a problem
Had Julia Bradbury in front of us in check in! So if it good enough for her then it good enough for me
Spinach Pizza on the bar menu was amazing according to the girlfriend.
Loved the drive as the wind was blowing and leaves was fulling off the tress made some amazing pictures!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevbob21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Kevbob21

Thanks very much for giving us some 5 star feedback. It's great to note how much you enjoyed your stay.

It's always good to read such positive reviews, so thanks for taking the time and trouble in posting this review.

Looking forward to being of service you you again in the future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just got back from a great stay at Red Worth Hall I would recommend this hotel without hesitation lovely location, staff couldn't be more helpful, room was good and so was the food will be going back to this hotel in the spring.
Ps Hannah on reception was most helpful to our group of 10 people

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yvonne7683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Joe P

Thaks for this for this great 5 star review. We are very pleased you took so much trouble in posting it, and sharing your thoughts so publicly.

Delighted to read how much you ahd enjoyed our products and services.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
809 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,140 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,050 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Hardwick Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedgefield
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range: £64 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing