We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

First impressions when arriving is what a magnificent building but looks very large indeed. Previous experiences of very large hotel complexes have been mixed where it has been too difficult or too expensive to maintain. Thankfully, this was absolutely not the case with the Redworth Hall. We had a great two night stay. Everything including the food, breakfast, room and staff was just right. We did have a premium room some distance away from reception and it did take us some time to find our way around but this only added to the fun of the stay. The room itself was extremely well appointed. So far, this is my favourite hotel in the area.

Room Tip: The premium room was well worth the price increase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleverdic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,133
    1,015
    605
    263
    183
See reviews for
486
1,739
46
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

First impressions of Redworth Hall were fabulous! Lovely grand old building. Our room was a decent size and quite modern, we looked out into a courtyard/garden and our bed was comfortable enough to get a good nights sleep! Loved the spa however pool isn't very big and we stayed on a weekend it was full of kids diving and bombing (as kids do!!) few more children there than I would have expected although this doesn't bother us at all! Redworth Hall is not a long drive from us so we will be back in future!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank claire920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Recently spent a few nights here, lovely hotel in great setting. Staff were excellent, no problems whatsoever. Large double room in "old" part of hotel was very comfortable. Would definitely return to Redworth.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redworth
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

he room we were first allocated, for which we had booked an upgrade, was a rather claustophobic loft room and we were moved to a standard room which was better but we did not enjoy the hotel and checked out next day. the best parts were the arrival when the beautiful building came into view but the rest of the experience was a big let-down and it went down-hill from then on. the staff were, however, generally ok if a little undertrained. the evening meal was good although the breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear David P,

We appreciate all feedback.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Attentive friendly and helpful staff.Restaurant evening meal good selection but room for improvement on standard of cooking.Meal was served luke warm.Lovely room [upgrade] apart from poor TV,needs updating.A lot of hotel looking tired.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Luppythree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

WE had a deal with groupon for a deluxe spa room so got a good deal. The hotel is a gorgeous really old building with a modern extension at the back. Our room was in the new block but this is quite a way from the main restaurant and bar and we did get lost as no-one in reception explained anything about the hotel when we checked in and I had to ring them to ask where the restaurant was.
The room was lovely but looked out onto a carpark. They do need to supply an information pack in the room as we had problems working the shower and the lights. I thought we were going to have to sleep with the lights on as we had struggled to do anything but dim them. We were supposed to get robes in the room but I had to ask reception for some, which was a minor issue really as they brought some very quickly.
The spa area and pool were very nice- very clean and plenty of space to sit and dry off. We were a little disappointed by the menu in the restaurant as it was quite basic and not what we would have expected from a 4 star hotel. We did enjoy our stay though and didn't feel we were treated any differently by staff to any other customers paying full price.

Room Tip: maybe a higher floor would have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcyNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, rooms were ok with superb bathroom. Staff were very friendly all over the hotel apart from the stressed out agressive restaurant manager, food was good though apart from some items needing a supplementary payment, not expected as we paid 154 pound per night. Loved the spa and gym had great facilities. Overall verygood though. Would go againbut only on a voucher.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
784 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,079 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
7.2 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Property: Redworth Hall Hotel
Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing