We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Redworth Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel(Newton Aycliffe)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel(Walworth)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Manor House Hotel(West Auckland)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant(Bishop Auckland)(Great Value!)
US$67
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,594)
Filter reviews
3,594 results
Traveller rating
1,250
1,143
682
302
217
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,250
1,143
682
302
217
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathcrazy golfleisure facilitiesbay horseafternoon teadeluxe roomevening meallovely hoteldinner bed and breakfastsecret escapessteam roomlovely groundsthree course mealleisure clubbeautiful buildingspa breakbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
2,362 - 2,367 of 3,594 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Just back from a night away and feeling very chilled out.
Reception and checkin was quick and easy. A warm welcome from all the staff. Samantha on reception was fab. Room was spacious, comfortable and warm and the bed was extremely comfy. Had a fantastic nights sleep. Bathroom dated and tired looking but ok. Shower soap dish and behind taps were pretty filthy which is easy to rectify. Wish we'd been advised on booking to make a dinner reservation as we couldn't get a table til 930. Health club facilities are nice although it was very busy and kids swimming lessons were in the pool. Great pool and even better large warm jacuzzi. Changing areas a little tired looking but adequate. Bar area too bright and clinical for my liking so we had a few drinks sitting on one of the lounges on the comfiest sofa by the open fire in front of the Christmas tree. Lovely. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent serving lovely food, service friendly and efficient. Food came out quickly and was yummy. House red was excellent too. Breakfast the same. Really good with plenty of choice. Would definitely come back again and recommend to others.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank carrieerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Booked this hotel on a Living social deal. £109 for a superior room for dinner, bed and breakfast with a bottle of wine with meal. It was excellent value for money and the hotel is lovely. There are small details, which could easily be rectified that would make all the difference to this hotel.

When we arrived we were given the wrong room. I had booked superior room but we were given a standard ( the standard room was however very nice and would have been happy if had booked this) We were soon changed rooms and the superior room was very nice, but let down by silly little things. The bedside lamps did not work, there was only one pair of slippers and one of the bathrobes had the waist cord missing. When my husband tried to use the shower there was no water. It looked a complicated ordeal and we were unsure as to whether we were using it correctly, so we rang reception. It turned out that the maintenance men had been working on a leak and forgot to turn the water back on.

There is also no information in the room. It seems a shame also that there is no information about the hotel building and its history. It is such a grand looking place that I feel the hotel is missing a chance to promote itself

Evening meal was ok but let down by undercooked chips and my husbands lemon posset was lemon liquid. The free wine was however of a good standard. The bar area however is like an old peoples nursing home and the prices are ridiculous.

Breakfast was really nice and the service was good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DurhamHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

I am delighted you found your stay excellent value. We are working on the detail and hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

First impressions of the hotel grounds and exterior were extremely positive however the hotel reception appeared somewhat chaotic. The two members of staff on duty appeared slightly frazzled as they struggled to cope with the volume of people waiting to check-in / book dinner / receive room keys etc. We were allocated a room in the older part of the hotel which was both comfortable and spacious, albeit quite dated. The Health Centre was also good and included a really well equipped and maintained gym.

After a couple of (expensive) drinks in the bar we ate in the hotel restaurant as part of our package. The menu itself was pretty uninspiring whilst the service was a complete shambles. Our starters arrived a few minutes after we had placed our orders but we waited an age for our mains. Finally someone did come over to apologise and let us know we hadn’t been forgotten – which was a nice touch but it should have happened much sooner. When it finally arrived, the food itself was well cooked but a further delay / mix-up with our dessert order (which was not exactly complicated – one cheese plate, one crème brulee) just added further insult to injury. Fortunately the buffet breakfast was much better organised with a reasonable selection of hot and cold items...although I was slightly disappointing by the absence of porridge.

Overall an OK stay given the price we paid however the service fell notably short of a four star property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CW71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

We are working hard to ensure our guests have a great stay with us. I do appreciate your feedback, it is noted and will be acted upon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My friend and I wanted a relaxing break for a girlie weekend whilst we chatted, drank wine and pampered ourselves. This is exactly what we got for a very reasonable price.
The location is perfect, just off the A1. On arrival as promised there was champagne and chocolates in our very comfortable room. The hotel has various sitting rooms and we were pleasantly surprised that we could take our champers and drink it in the bar.
The food for every meal was great, adequate choice and all very well cooked and the staff were very attentive.
We enjoyed the very well equipped gym and spa area was perfect. Our package included two beauty treatments which was an added bonus and we liked having dressing gowns and slippers in our room ready for our pampering.

Room Tip: Feel unable to say as our room was perfect for us.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments in regard to your stay at Redworth Hall Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

First impressions when arriving is what a magnificent building but looks very large indeed. Previous experiences of very large hotel complexes have been mixed where it has been too difficult or too expensive to maintain. Thankfully, this was absolutely not the case with the Redworth Hall. We had a great two night stay. Everything including the food, breakfast, room and staff was just right. We did have a premium room some distance away from reception and it did take us some time to find our way around but this only added to the fun of the stay. The room itself was extremely well appointed. So far, this is my favourite hotel in the area.

Room Tip: The premium room was well worth the price increase.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleverdic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews