We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spa package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Had a 2 night spa package, with all meals included. Redworth Hall is well appointed in a traditional style in keeping with its history. Good selection of treatments in the spa, plus a pool though this can be busy with families, so pick your time if you want to swim laps. Gym is well equipped. Good buffet breakfast, could do with more fresh fruit though! Dinner choices were OK, though not great for vegetarians. There was a big difference between the 2 dinners, we put it down to different chefs (rightly or wrongly) on presentation, hot plates etc. Good nights sleep which was surprising when the number of people staying were considered. The hotel has had some refurbishment lately and is due for some more, so don't be put off by peoples comments of it being tired and seen better days, Puma Hotels are investing in this property, it will only get better!

Room Tip: Rooms by lift might be noisy they end with a 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diddicoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Yes Puma are investing in Redworth, not just financialy but also in training and support. So yes it will only get better.
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,089 - 2,095 of 3,346 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

We went for the weekend after christmas to relax and get away, we used to come to the hotel twice a year but we havent been in the last ten years. What a shame its changed so much, grounds still lovely, shame the kids play area is closed and the ball pool, i'd be annoyed if i'd brought my kids and not been told this. Two girls on reception checking people in didn't have a smile between them, or know which room out of our three was made into the twin. Turns out none of them had been. Luckily the housekeeping lady was very nice and helped us find our rooms and made one of them up into a twin.

Restaurants something to be desired, traditional and contempary food? bought in fish cakes and unseasoned terrines, in fairness my ribeye was cooked very well minus the cold mushroom. waitress was okay other than her cigarette scented perfume. The waiter who brought us our food out of the kitchen both nights was very good and on top of his game, if all of them were half as good and interested as he was they would have a great team.

One of the reasons we booked was for the Game menu which is as i type still advertised on the website and currently advertised in the gents toilet but when we asked for it we were told it had finished.

on the plus side the rooms in the new wing are lovely and clean and bathroom is fantastic, gym is adequate enough for a hotel gym and nice and quiet.

Do however think £5 per person charge for room service is steep but i'm guessing this is Puma hotels policy not redworth itself.

overall lovely building being run by staff who don't appear to have a clear management figure staying on top of them to deliver the standards and service you'd expect for a 4* hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tommy_the_turtle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

I am sorry that your visit was not the best in parts, do contact me directly for any future visit and I will do my utmost to ensure that your stay will be enjoyable.
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had stayed previously as this was the venue for our Son's wedding, so when invited to a wedding in the area this was our first choice for a two night stay and we were not disappointed. The housekeeping staff were especially helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We had a really enjoyable stay. It was a lovely surprise to find ourselves upgraded when we had only booked a standard double, this really made our weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

I am really pleased you found the staff very helpful and that they made you feel very welcome, this is a big feature of Redworth.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

the outside of the hotel is grand indeed - you think you're entering something special... sadly the decor inside is past it's best and has seen better days.

however, the gym is spot on - as is the pool and sauna areas :)

we looked on the food menu (online) and noticed they had a 'Game on winter dining menu' - yum...I was looking forward to the game pie...but sadly when we went to the restaurant / bar - all that was on offer was chicken and chips, burgers and pizza...
we settled for the cheesey nachos, chips, pizza and a pint each - at a staggering 32 quid in the bar... :(

breakfast was ok - tho, I had to ask for some more eggs and the bacon looked as tho it had been standing there since the breakfast had first opened several hours earlier...

I rate this hotel a 3.5...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at Redworth. I am sorry that your visit was not the most enjoyable, but thank you for your many positive comments.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I have not stayed at this hotel but 4 of us went for a bar meal earlier in December. We were expecting good things as we drove up to the beautiful exterior of this hotel. On entering the bar it was very cold as an outer door was open to let in a bar delivery, we were frozen. The automated piano became a source of irritation rather than entertainment. The food was disappointing and we thought overpriced. It was also served on cold plates. On the plus side the barman was very pleasant and attentive. All in all the experience was disappointing and we won't be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Pegasus023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Do contact me directly I would be delighted to discuss your comments personally
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Was bought a spa treat for my birthday from by best friend which included a stay over with evening meal full body massage and breakfast the following morning, plus another treatment that morning. The hotel was beautiful, the rooms were very nice, clean and warm. Plenty of hot water which was brilliant. The evening meal was beautiful and the service excellent.
The spa treatments and service again fantastic and the use of the pool and steam room, sauna and jacuzzi was wonderful, overall the stay was just fantastic, we have planned to go back same time again next year for a two day break.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

I am pleased that your stay was so enjoyable. Also thank you for your kind comments with regard to quality. We hope to see you next year.
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The outside of the Hotel is quite beautiful unfortunately the inside is very dated, the rooms were small and compact we stayed in one the spa rooms def wasn't worth paying the upgrade costs.
The bed was very comfy and we had a good sleep. I felt sorry for all of the old couples and young families as it was very noisy. The room was dirty it needed a good clean, stayed for the spa the following day and that was dated but very relaxing

Room Tip: Don't bother upgrading your room it really isn't worth the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gailb475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Do contact me directly I would be delighted to discuss your comments personally
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
813 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,055 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Hardwick Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedgefield
912 reviews
12.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range: £60 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing