We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We booked in for the complete off which included your evening meal with wine and breakfast. The quality and the service you recieved for the price you paid was outstanding. Already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for this great review. Short but perfect! We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    953
    578
    251
    179
See reviews for
466
1,626
44
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just spent the most amazing weekend here to celebrate a diamond wedding. The hotel was everything it said in the book. Staff were very accommodating and friendly, hotel was very clean, the grounds were immaculate and a beautiful walk round the grounds. A very relaxed atmosphere. The food was amazing, breakfast was just as you would expect with lots of choices available, we were booked in for dinner each night, again the dinner menu was fabulous, something for everyone.
The lounge bar had there own menu but the ONLY downfall there was the tables, way to small to eat from and the lounge was rather small, people more or less sitting in the hall/lobby having a drink waiting patiently to grab a table in the bar.
All in all, it is a fantastic place to stay for either a quiet weekend or that special weekend celebration.

Room Tip: We had 5 rooms all on the second floor. Every room was perfect, there is a lift for the more mature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blether71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for writing this wonderful review. We always want to hear that the staff are accommodating and friendly and I am so pleased that you thought this of our staff. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, and look spectacular at so many times of the year. I do apologise for the lack of space in the bar area. We are aware that the bar area is not the largest, however there are other lounges available in the hotel.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Decided we needed a break where we could enjoy a few days of gracious living. Not easy to find but worth circumnavigating Newton Aycliffe a few times, Warm welcome by staff, comfortable room, and package incorporated, Dinner one night and, afternoon tea, also included a bottle of wine which regrettably, did not live up to the excellent meal, and service.
Good location for visiting Beamish museum and, Durham ring route ,"never did find the way to the Cathedral".
Established, we had visited other Hotels in the Puma group, which they may have taken over .
Both agree ,lighting the fire in the entrance Hall would have been an added bonus!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
I am glad to here you had a great stay with us, however I am sorry to hear that you struggled to find your way to the hotel and Durham Cathedral. I am happy to hear that your food was amazing, but I am saddened to hear that the wine included did not match this. I apologise that the fire in reception was not lit during your stay. I hope that we see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at Redworth on October 13 on the spa break package. Check-in was swift and we had a lovely bottle of champagne and chocolates waiting for us in our room. Perfect start to the weekend!

Reservations for the restaurant were quite difficult to get on the first night, either being too early at 6pm or too late at 9:30. But we booked in advance for the next evening, so not a huge issue. Food was lovely, though I feel the waiting staff could crack a smile every now and again, seemed a little sulky. I've been a waitress in the past and always approached a table with a smile. But maybe that's just me.

Spa treatments were fabulous. The rooms were warm, inviting and candlelit with soft music as you'd expect. The massage was lovely but the facial was incredible. Defintely recommend trying some of their spa treatments. Staff were friendly and approachable, couldn't fault them.

The grounds are lovely for a mid-afternoon walk. Plently of open spaces and a park for children to play in. The hotel itself is beautiful in all its rich history. Beware if you read some of the history of its residents... might leave you feeling spooked!!!

Room Tip: If you're easily spooked and would rather not bump into a ghostly spector on an evening - reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Redworth. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time during the stay. I am sorry to hear about the lack of times you could reserve in the restaurant on the first evening, as our restaurant is becoming increasingly popular and I do whenever possible encourage guests to book in advance to get their preferred time. I apologise that you thought that the staff in the restaurant could have appeared as ‘sulky’. I have spoken to many of the restaurant staff and made them aware of the issue.
On a lighter note I have passed on to the beauty staff your lovely comments about the treatments and service you received.
We are lucky to be situated in a gorgeous building and grounds that are special at so many different times of the year. At the moment the snow drops are out and look lovely. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Saw a voucher for Redworth on Living Social,and having stayed at Redworth Hall Hotel 3 times before,decided it was a great offer.(2 nights B & B,dinner on first night with bottle of wine,Afternoon tea the next day)Food was fabulous,Staff all very friendly,Room & bed amazing.Went with friends and all said we would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
It is great to hear that you have stayed with us three times previously and would like to return again! I am glad that everything from the room to the food and staff were perfect for yourselves and your friends. I look forward to seeing you in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We attended my son's wedding on 1 March. The wedding hall and breakfast could not be faulted. The food was served hot and to a very high standard. The hot evening buffet also did not disappoint. My husband and I had a suite which was extremely spacious and well worth the price. Breakfast the following morning again could not be faulted. The only downside was a mix up with the bedroom bookings which caused a bit of unnecessary stress, but the reception staff and duty manager did their utmost to ensure a satisfactory outcome which was followed up by the GM, so I am sure it was a one off glitch in the system. All staff are professional and very friendly. A perfect day (almost)

Room Tip: Double check booking before arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilsonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
It was a delight to have you stay in the hotel. My sincere apologies over the glitch with the accommodation, and do remember my promise to spoil you next time.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

we stayed for just two nights with our dog. All the staff were so friendly and helpful
The hotel is set in wonderful grounds and the building is very impressive. The hotel was also very clean, even though we only had a dog room, it was very nice not as grand as the other rooms but
we were happy with it.
We didn't pay much for the two night break so we think we got excellent value for money
The restaurant food was good not amazing but it was good and I do feel, you do get what you pay for. The Pool was lovely, nice and warm and all the staff were helpful and friendly
Love to go back again very soon

Room Tip: no idea as I said we had a room set aside for dogs. The other guests were very impressed with their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollie767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
I am glad to hear that the staff were helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed the character of the building and grounds. However I am slightly disappointed that the food you were served was not as good as you expected. I have passed this comment onto the Food and Beverage Manager, and offer my apologies for this.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.5 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
753 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Property: Redworth Hall Hotel
Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing