We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Redworth Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Redworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Redworth Hotel”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Beautiful hotel and setting unfortunately staff complacent when faced with complaints. Quality and standard of food very disappointing avoid the breakfast buffet as the food so called hot food is cold.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
I am sorry to hear about your stay. If you would like to discuss these issues further please contact me
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,088
    963
    585
    255
    179
See reviews for
471
1,650
45
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A very nice hotel with friendly and pleasant staff. The bedroom, although quite a walk from the lift was just what we needed for a relaxing few days, very clean and well decorated. The meals we had in the bar and the restaurant were of a very good quality and even though on 1 of the nights the restaurant seemed to be short staffed it didnt affect the service we received. We went into the pool, my partner under duress, but even so we both felt as though it was a lovely area to relax and it finished off a lovely few days and we would both recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireBusyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
It is lovely to read this great review. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our stay at the Hall did not start well – although it was only ~5:30 when we arrived, we couldn’t get a table in the restaurant until 9pm so had to eat elsewhere (see my review of the George & Dragon, Heighington) and were told that the pool would be shut for maintenance on our 3rd day. Also, we’d booked for 3 nights but because of the quirky nature of the Secret Escapes offer we’d had to book it as separate 2 night & 1 night bookings but the receptionist couldn’t (wouldn’t?) let us have the same room for all three nights unless we paid to upgrade our 2 night booking!
Our 1st room was in the attic of the old building and even though the radiator was off, it was incredibly hot with exposed heating pipes round 2 sides of the room – there was a fan in the room so it’s clearly a known problem but with both the skylight windows open and the fan running flat-out, by the time we got back from dinner it had cooled down enough to make sleep a possibility albeit with the fan running all night. Other than the temperature, the room was actually very nice, being a good size with a king size bed, a couple of comfy chairs and a large bathroom with Jacuzzi bath & good shower. We left the skylights open &fan running when we headed out the next day but fortunately the heating had been turned off so the temperature was much more comfortable when we got back.

After the “unfortunate” start, this isn’t a bad hotel – breakfast is the normal “conference hotel buffet” but there is a good selection of both hot & cold items whilst our dinners on our 2nd & 3rd nights were quite tasty though they did let themselves down a bit on the 3rd night – having apologised for only having white bread rolls at the start of our meal (& again ~15min later when I asked for another), it was a bit odd when the same waitress was later heard to offer a choice of white or brown to diners on a neighbouring table! The wine selection was also reasonably priced.

What did endear the hotel to us was the friendliness of the staff, whilst so many places these days run on staff shipped-in from East Europe, the bulk of Redworth’s seem to be locals and many had been at the Hall for some time. Other than the (temporary?) receptionist when we arrived, everyone else appeared to want to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, exemplified when it came to our changing rooms when we were told “just leave everything on the bed & go & enjoy yourselves” – We did!

I suppose the bottom line is always “Would you go back” and the answer is Yes

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
I am sorry to hear about the issues at the beginning of your stay; however, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redworth
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This Hotel is grand and beautiful, it was a wonderful experience staying there. All the staff I met were friendly, happy and helpful. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable The meals were very good, and the hour long facial I had was worth every penny. I will certainly go again the stay was very good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Recently spent the night at this wonderful hotel, made very special by the attentiveness of staff and very good facilities, enormous room and very luxurious bed - would definitely recommend for a lovely break from the norm.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
It is lovely to read these great comments. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely 2 night stay. Food was great, staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel room in the old part of the hotel was very spacious and clean with loads of character, well worth the upgrade! One thing I would recommend is if you are hoping to have a massage or any treatments in the spa make sure you book well in advance as there were no spaces available for us all weekend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Unaspoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks for this wonderful review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redworth
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

If you want excellent food, excellent friendly service, a comfortable room and beautiful surroundings then Redworth Hall Hotel is the one. And its handy for the A1 and the north east in general. Try it you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
I am so pleased to read your thoughts, and that we delivered the service we aim for every day. Thank you for sharing this, and we hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.5 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Property: Redworth Hall Hotel
Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing