We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Reviewed 30 May 2014

All staff found to be very attentive and respectfull.
Upgraded to a beautifull superior room by Mary.
The Spa, restaurant and bar facilities were all very good and added to the experience.
The whole place, from the minute you enter the bottom of the drive is so relaxing and impressive.
Nothing is any trouble for the staff.
Other hotels - watch and learn!
Thank you Redworth Hall for the experience, we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

It is always a pleasure to read such a positive, kind review. I am so pleased we gave you an experience to remember. Mary is absoultely delighted with her mention, and we will ensure she receives the recognition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,863 - 1,869 of 3,344 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband got a Buy a Gift voucher of his mother for his 30th so we used it for this hotel. Was on a bank Hol Monday and we thought it would be quiet but it was very very busy! Having said that, check in was very quick, staff were welcoming and friendly. We were in room 6, at the front of the hotel, lovely views, clean big room, and a jacuzzi bath (novel but noisy). The room, even though the radiator wasn't on, was exceptionally hot. The hot water pipe leading to the bathroom was the culprit I think, but it was a little uncomfortable to sleep at night, even with the windows wide open. There was a massive group of OAPs and a bus load of Japanese tourists in for the night, so we thought the restaurant would be busy, and it was, but the wait was not too long. Only one problem would be our deal came with sparkling wine, and the staff didn't seem to have a clue about it. Apparently the lady who sat us at our table did know, went off to get us some water, and never came back! Maybe there's so many deals...groupon, secret escapes, buyagift, that it is hard for the staff to keep up. Leisure club was nice, we wanted to play crazy golf at 9.30pm, rock n roll I know, and we went to the leisure club to ask for the clubs, to be told they were closing (the reception told us they were open til 10) I think the guy just didn't want to hang around til 10 until we had finished.

All in all it was a lovely hotel, nice food, lovely breakfast, I wouldn't go back, but I would recommend it to people more my mother's age.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186394Jo_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review, and it is great to read you would recommend us to others. Please accept my apologies the waiting staff were unsure your deal came with a glass of sparkling wine, we will certainly re visit this area to avoid this happening again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a few years ago and it was a real treat with amazing rooms and facilities and near Michelin starred food, it cost us £250 for the night for two but it was a rare treat so worth it. We were pleased to get a Dinner Bed and Breakfast deal for £99 this time and expected a slightly older/smaller room but the same overall experience.
The building is beautiful and the grounds are stunning. The car park is a bit hit and miss with huge puddles and mud. The room was OK but not as nice as a premier inn we stayed in 2 days earlier for £35 a night as some of the fixtures were broken, the shower was hopeless and the TV has no radio.
The meal was OK. The pressed pork starter needed some flavour and was served with one eighth of a slice of toast which seemed ridiculous. The duck was overcooked and
the belly pork wasn't crispy but the sauce and veg were top class. The pudding was amazing. We ordered a coffee but waited 30 minutes and still no sign of it. We got the bill eventually and they crossed it off without much fuss.
The cocktail bar had only 5 cocktails on the menu including Gin and Tonic which doesn't really count and the drinks were expensive. No real ale left and bottles from the fridge weren't very cold, my wife had to add ice to her £6 glass of wine to make it palatable.
We enjoyed our stay and the price was OK but not 4 star by any means. I would go to Slayley Hall for a better experience and similar deals.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonkinpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

I am very sorry to read your thoughts of your recent stay with us, and will certainly look at the points you have raised in more detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Booked a double room on a sunday night, price included dinner. The room was a good size and was clean and comfortable. Lovely ensuite with Jacuzzi bath, unfortunatrly the plug kept popping up and letting the water out. The hall is old and charming and publuc rooms comfortable, however on taking the only lift to our floor we had a very long walk to our room., the longest ever experienced.
The restaurant was very busy for a sunday and this was obviously
unexpected. Consequently the service was very slow but the food was good.
breakfast was ok and service good

Room Tip: The walk to our room was exceptionally long, suggest if you have a walking problem you mention it on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moirayeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us. Please accept my apologies that you found service in the restaurant a little slow. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Booked a two night stay at Redworth Hall in the May school holidays for myself, my husband and two daughters (11 & 13). Arrived well before check in time and were offered use of the leisure facilities until our room was ready. Leisure club was busy with people who were using the spa and the changing rooms are a bit on the small side to acommodate lots of ladies!, however once in the pool area there were enough seats for everyone to relax. The girls enjoyed the pool as did other young ones with there families. Pool not really ideal for anyone wanting to do lengths if they go in the school holidays. Check in was fast and we were given family room 407. Large room with king size bed at one end and two fold out beds at the other (girls said the beds were very comfy). Didn't have a view as we were at the back of the building but had two large velux windows to let in lots of light. If rain on velux windows bothers you then don't book this room, we however don't mind this at all and slept fine.Only downside was that the room only had one comfy chair to sit in!, bit of a problem if you don't want to sit in bed all the time. Breakfasts were buffet style and absolutly lovely, lots of choice and your hot drinks were on your table before you even sat back down from choosing your food. We chose to eat out in the evenings and the first night ate at the George and Dragon in Heighington (10/15 min walk from hotel), Lovely home cooked traditional pub food and good value for money. The second night we ate at La Limone Cafe in Shildon, worst meal ever (will be leaving a seperate review for this palce!). Checkout on departure day was swift and we were told we could continue to use the leisure facilities for as long as we wanted to that day, so we went for another relax by the pool. Overall a lovely stay we visited Beamish whilst there and had a fab time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PDKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your break with us in the school holidays. We would love to see you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 days with a group of people on a coaching holiday from Scotland. The accommodation was excellent, all the rooms well equipped and spotlessly clean. The food was first class for breakfast and with an excellent choice of menu for dinner. The staff could not do enough for us and all seemed very committed to providing enthusiastic service throughout our stay. Hotel facilities were also good with pool and gym being available. Large well maintained grounds surrounded the hotel. We wold certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review. We all look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband had to visit the NE on business, so we decided to accompany him for the night. He is a regular at this hotel and we have stayed here with him on several occasions over the years.

Our family room was in the older part of the hotel. Very nice, with a four poster bed. Shame they forgot about the bed for our son but this was rectified very quickly!! Bathroom was a little tired but accommodation was fine otherwise.

We decided to have our evening meal in the restaurant and that proved to be a really good decision. The food was fantastic - we all had starters (ham hock terrine; smoked salmon; cheesy garlic bread); main courses (salmon; rib eye steak; chicken breast) and desserts (cheesecakes; pear and almond frangipane). None of them disappointed at all. Despite the restaurant being incredibly busy, with coach parties and a few other groups, the food arrived in a timely manner, hot and delicious - we sent our compliments to the chef without hesitation!

Breakfast was served in the restaurant and was buffet style, with plenty of choice and most enjoyable.

We enjoyed a swim in the pool and relaxing in the jacuzzi on our arrival, which was very pleasant.

As always, the staff were all really friendly and helpful throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want air conditioning in your room, request one in the new block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JnKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review, it is great to read you managed to have a relaxing family break here whilst your husband was on business in the area.
Our team of chefs are delighted with your kind feedback, and we all hope to see you again as a family soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
812 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,055 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Hardwick Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedgefield
910 reviews
12.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range: £61 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing