We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shouldve stayed for 2 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel and service was second to non even though there was a coach party staying!
Booked on a deal dinner bed and breakfast all included. Food was brill considering there were approx 50 other people eating it was still a personal service.
Bedroom very clean and comfortable.
Gym was well equipped with helpful staff. Swimming pool was clean but the changing rooms were starting to look tired although very clean.
We shouldve taken the 2 night break to make the most of it.
Breakfast a buffet which i accept is a necessary evil i much prefer table service but the staff were extremely helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vixster35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments on your stay. We hope to welcome you again, hopefully for two nights next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,758 - 1,764 of 3,294 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Myself and my sister stayed at this hotel for a girly weekend spa break. The hotel is beautiful, although smaller than some spa hotels we have previously stayed at. however, the decor is in keeping with the historic look and feel to the hotel. The rooms are nice, clean and well decorated. The spa area again is abit small in comparison but cosy. Unfortunately during our trip there was a large party of women also staying for a spa weekend but they became loud and unruly. The hotel did not cope with this very well and it has kept me from returning.
The restaurant was very good with local produce used where possible. The food was excellent.

Room Tip: Make sure to complain the staff immediately if there are any problems or issues. We left our 'i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your comments and tips, I would have to agree that it is always best to mention any problems you may have at the time, as this is when they can be dealt with.
Although it is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay, I am very disheartened to hear you would not return due to other guests. I am very sorry about this, and would only hope you do return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a very relaxing break here in June as with all breaks they are weather dependant, lucky for us we had a perfect 3 days. We bought a deal to stay at this hotel which was excellent value the first night included an evening meal,l the menu had lots of choices. We both thought the food was tasty and generous portion. The dining room is spacious so you don't feel hemmed in, the staff are excellent and couldn't do enough to advise or serve. When we arrived I told the receptionist that mum is disabled after checking we were given a disabled room on the ground floor with every possible amenity for a disabled person. The only thing I have to say about the room is that it has very poor lighting but saying that it was lovely, big and very comfortable beds.
The pool is one of the nicer ones and the facilities were very clean, very relaxing after a day of doing nothing. We would liked to have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

What a lovely review to read, I am very pleased we were able to meet all of your needs and you managed to get the break away you had hoped for. We look forward to seeing you again shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had our wedding here on 11th of july 2014 and couldn't of asked for a better day. The room turn around from ceremony to wedding breakfast and then to evening disco was not noticed at all, to the extent that people believed it was three different rooms. The food was amazing and big portions and joe who we found out had just started and was his first wedding was unbelievablely brilliant! Our day was perfect from start to finish. All the staff were freindly and they made our day remberable for all the right reasons....thankyou redworth so much for such an amazing day. Also they had a prom and two coach trip's at same time and this was not noticed by us as this did worry me but they were that organised it did not interfere with our day at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brownmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your special day with us, and allowing us to make it everything you hoped for. Joe is delighted to be mentioned, as well as all other staff involved. We wish you a long and happy future together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

At reception your credit card for a £95 booking is pre-authorised at £130 !!! Been in hotels in Europe and USA and not had this happen before.
Room very good - a double where they put two chairs in not just one. Good pool here. V good breakfast lots of fruit and cereals as well as fried food.
Menu card in room strange - "Make me blush" is the front of it !!! Also no mention on it of the 1,2 or 3 courses evening meal. Two courses for £21.95 but steak at a £5 supplement.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay.; please allow me to shed some light on some of the points raised. It is policy throughout our company that we pre-authorise your card on arrival for more than your accommodation rate. This then allows you to have an open account and charge your extras to it. Of course on departure, you would then check your bill and pay for any extras you may have had.
The bar menu in the rooms is named 'Make me a Blush', and as it is only our bar or room service menu, it does not have out restaurant menu on there.
I do hope this has clarified your points. It is great to read you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

stayed in Redworth hall for 1 night on the afternoon tea offer. Hotel was great, staff were friendly and service excellent. we upgraded to the spa room which was well worth the extra money. We didnt eat dinner in the hotel but had breakfast and there was plenty of choice.

Room Tip: upgrade to spa deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k3lly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

It is great to read you were able to experience of one of our Spa rooms, and enjoy the extra benefits these offer. I hope to see you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights, and have stayed here on many occasions for shorter stays. We had friends joining us for our first evening dinner in the restaurant. The menu is quite bizarre £25.00 for two courses yet they add supplement costs for many of the choices. Also the portions are small and vegetables are ordered separately. When we received our bill they added VAT ?? We have never experienced this before.... surely it should be included in the menu price ? We found this to be both a misleading and dishonest practise. We will not be returning to Redworth Hall anytime soon. It rather spoiled our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank globetrottersLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. I must admit I am a little confused by them, as £25 is for 3 courses, not 2, and this is fully inclusive of VAT. The only extra you will pay on top of this is if you have any supplements or side dishes. I do hope this has helped clear up any confusion. Please contact us further if you are still unsure of your invoice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
809 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,138 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,048 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Hardwick Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedgefield
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range: £65 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing