We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were lucky with the weather as we spent to whole afternoon wandering the surrounding grounds which are beautifully wooded. Staff were friendly and polite. Food was pricey but there is a second restaurant to eat and I would recommend the latter. It is more casual and you can order more traditional food such burgers etc. Room was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Redworth Hall.

I agree the grounds are beautiful especially the wooded areas. I look forward to seeing you again in the future. fingers crossed for more good weather!

John O’Reilly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,878 - 1,884 of 3,468 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Nice blend of old and new to this country house hotel, with lovely grounds suitable for walking the dog who was allowed everywhere in the hotel other than restaurant. Excellent facilities in the disabled room, the best we've experienced by some way. Knowledgeable, helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

I am thrilled to read your comments on our beautiful hotel and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay exploring the grounds with your dog.

Please come back and visit soon.

John O’Reilly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Had a lovely overnight stay here with friends for our respective wedding anniversaries. The staff here are really helpful and service was overall v good. The decor is a bit dated but we had rooms in the new bit and they were great, lovely big jacuzzi bath, fab shower with multiple horizontal shower heads and a really comfy bed.

The route from the reception to the rooms 701+ is not for those with a poor sense of direction! Into one lift, up two floors, walk for miles along corridor then in another lift - added to the fun for us!

Bar and restaurant were fine, a bit of queuing if you want to eat/drink at busy times but as said before staff were great so didn't feel too inconvenient. Food nothing special, reasonable value for money given the prices.

We didn't have time to use facilities so can't really comment, overall a great place for a sociable stay worth friends.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank obefee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your anniversary stay with us at Redworth Hall.

I am extremely happy to read that you liked your rooms and that you were impressed with our staff’s helpful service. I would love to see you all here again in the future.

John O’Reilly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a good hotel with lovely grounds. Child friendly with crazy golf and a soft play area. The room we booked was good but small and dark, I asked reception if we could change and was offered a similar small room with more light, I again asked if anything bigger and was then offered a suite with a four poster bed. I had said we would take one of the first rooms however, the suite was fantastic so we accepted for an additional upgrade charge of £10. The staff could not have been more helpful. The restaurant staff excellent, however sometimes appeared under pressure and they could have done with more waiting staff when a football team and a coach tour arrived at the same time. They were always polite and helpful. We used the hotel to tour the area and would stay again when in the area and recommend highly to friends..

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving us a response about your recent stay with us at Redworth Hall.

I do apologise for your initial disappointment with your room, and I am overjoyed to read your comments about the fantastic service that our staff give.

I will pass these comments on to the team and I hope to see you and your friends soon

John O’Reilly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Beautiful hotel just off the A1 so great base location if your travelling the north east. Rooms are cosy and although they look a little tired in places but they certainly give a homely feel so forgivable. Hotel team are very tentative and the bar and restaurant, even when busy, is a great experience. Free wifi, pool, gym and peace and quiet make this a little gem of a hotel that i would have given 5 stars but the rooms as stated are a little tired.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Casinos an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving us a review about your stay at Redworth Hall.

I am thrilled that you agree our hotel is beautiful and that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you come back and visit us again.

John O’Reilly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Weekend stay with a friend for a wedding at the hall and exploring the area. Due to the horrendous weather our journey there took much longer than planned meaning we didn't arrive until almost midnight. En route we telephoned initially to rebook the time of the table we'd booked for a meal in the restaurant then later to cancel alrogether when it was clear we wouldn't make it in time. This was met with appreciation and understanding and we were advised of the snack bar menu available till 10pm and pizza and sandwiches room service available 24/7.
On arrival we were given our double room number and advised thst this was our room for the night and we would be changing the following day for the remainder of our 3 night stay. This was due to the Friday night being booked after our original booking for the Saturday and Sunday so we understood the situation. However the booking was for a twin room not a double but there were no twins available.
The room itself (more a suite with table, small arm chairs and sofa) was certainly clean, comfortable, and spacious as was the bed (two singles pushed together).
We called room service to order some pizzas - no pizza bases available for which they were apologetic so we ordered sandwiches. Double decker sandwiches with bakers fresh bread, salad, and crisps arrived approximately 20 minutes later. Certainly a feast in themselves and tasty. Washed down with the prosecco already awaiting us in the room.
Following a good nights sleep and during the wedding ceremony (which was lovely) our bags that we'd repacked were moved for us to our twin room. In fairness we were given the option of staying in our suite but decided to go for the twin option, which in hindsight was a mistake. Though again clean and comfy with an amazing shower the twin room was much smaller and felt quite cramped. And that was when we eventually found it. With 700 plus rooms this hotel is large. To find our new room we were directed to the fourth floor, to then take the next lift down a floor to where our room was situated. Some 20 minutes later after much corridor wandering on the fourth floor to locate the second lift we eventually reached our destination. This is perhaps my biggest criticism of the hotel. To be shown to our room or even given a map to assist in locating it would have been helpful. And it wasn't that our poor navigstional skills caused such difficulty as over the weekend we met in the corridors other guests seeking rooms and asking directions from fellow guests.
That said, the food (we ate in the restaurant for breakfast - buffet style - and had one evening meal in the bar) was good and not forgetting the enormous and delicious cream tea. The hotel was clean with a relaxed atmosphere and friendly yet polite staff. It's set in lovely grounds in a good location for travellers arriving from the A1 wanting to explore the area. I would happily stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at Redworth Hall.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and dining experience. I acknowledge the hiccups that you have mentioned and will speak to the relevant staff regarding these. Also I am thrilled to read that our staff’s service was friendly and polite.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

John O’Reilly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed midweek in room 512 which is a deluxe room. We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and it didn't disappoint. Room and staff were excellent , just a shame the hot tube in the leisure facilities was out of order. But none the less a great venue for a little get away.

Room Tip: Worth up grading to the deluxe room for a little more comfort and luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crooky225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about your stay at Redworth Hall. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your get away and dining experience. I am pleased to read about our staff’s excellent service. I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel.

John O’Reilly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Coatham Mundeville
835 reviews
14 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,083 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Address: Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range: £65 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing