We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Two night package with dinner and afternoon tea, reasonable value for money.
Beautiful setting and the old part of Hotel is wonderful, although it is mostly used for weddings so the majority of guests stay in a typical conference hotel building behind. We walked a long way to our room and heard other guests who were lost getting instructions to their rooms.
Food was good in the Restaurant but service wasn't as there were delays getting a pre booked table and the evening staff were disorganised, we waited over an hour to get our table on the second evening and the waitress did not even notice us she was under so much pressure so eventually we left the restaurant and complained.
Afternoon tea and breakfast was good and staff were more efficient.
Leisure facilities seemed very good although did not use them.
The lack of evening meal on the second night spoilt our stay, we would not hurry back.

Room Tip: Ask for one that you do not need your hiking boots, the delux room has a good standard of bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneA133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving us your comments.

I am sorry to read that you felt our staff’s service was not efficient on this occasion and also acknowledge the points of improvement that you have mentioned.

I do hope that you do decide to return to visit us in future.

John O’Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,097
    975
    590
    260
    179
See reviews for
474
1,668
46
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I recently attended the hotel as a guest at my friend's wedding and it was delightful to say the least. We all had a fantastic day and I know the bride and groom were over the moon. Little disappointing there was another wedding at the same time but other than seeing them when we left, we never bumped into them. The food was fantastic (daytime and the evening buffet) - the salmon starter was one of the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Likestotravelallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you had a fantastic time at your friends wedding and that you enjoyed the food. We hope you will visit us again soon.

John O’Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redworth
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Lovely building, welcoming staff, enjoyed the food, our dog was welcomed however the room was quite 'tired' especially the carpet and a little disappointed that we had a twin room and not a double as we had requested that.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. and am sorry you were disappointed with your room type. I do hope you will come and stay again in the future.

John O’Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Booked via Secret Escapes and received a good value for money deal that included breakfast and 3-course dinner and bottle of house wine. Stayed in deluxe room, very comfortable and clean. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rileysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope you will return and visit us again soon.

John O’Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We thought the staff were lovely, attentive, warm, welcoming and incredibly helpful. The food was excellent, the salmon was delightful and I had a lovely apple and blackcurrant crumble. The kids loved the food, which is a big plus for us. We had afternoon tea the following day, which was pleasant, but have had nicer scones. We all loved the pool and in particular the steam room.

5 out of 5 for the staff and food, but 2 out of 5 for the room. It seriously needed updating in terms of furniture, wallpaper (some torn, or peeled off due to damp) and the windows were in a state of considerable disrepair. Also, the sofa bed my son slept on was a little dangerous, he did cut his leg on the metal frame and I banged my head a number of times as the room was a room in the roof with an angled ceiling above the bed. Sleep was seriously disrupted by the banshee screams of the pipework.

Great food, great staff, great setting - needs serious investment in the rooms and the plumbing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galactic_Ambassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your stay at Redworth. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your room and these comments have been taken onboard.

I am extremely happy that overall you had a lovely stay and dining experience and thank you for your kind words regarding our staff’s attentive service. We hope that you will return to us again in the future.

John O’Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just returned from a wonderful overnight stay at redworth hall booked through secret escapes for dinner bed and breakfast. We couldn't fault anything about our stay. The room was lovely with a nice modern bathroom. Spa and pool area were clean with a nice relaxing atmosphere. Dinner was delicious and service was excellent considering the hotel was extremely busy. Would definitely recommend this hotel it's well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading to a spa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfie1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled that you had a relaxing night away and that you enjoyed your dining experience with us at Redworth Hall. I hope you will visit again soon.

John O’Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Booked a two night stay through Secret Escapes.
A lot has previously been said about this hotel that mirrors our overall impressions.
It is located in extensive grounds and central for visiting the area around Durham and Newcastle.
On approach to the hotel you first notice the magnificent old building of Redworth Hall, what it unfortunately hides is the massive extension that has been undertaken over more recent years to create a hotel with circa 700 rooms.
We arrived early and as expected our room was not ready, this was not a problem as we were able to leave our case at reception and use the Pool and Spa facilities.
On return to check-in at 3.30pm we were allocated Room 706, our case was still behind the reception desk, it would have been nice for it to have been sent ahead to our room. We were then given directions to our room which sounded very complicated and I jokingly suggested it sounded like we needed a map, at which point one was produced from a drawer and we set off on our trek to find our room. As has previously been mentioned by other reviewers we headed along long corridors up a number of floors in one lift and then along further corridors to find another lift to go up another floor, we got completely lost and bumped into other residents also trying to find their rooms. Having found a member of staff to provide further directions we eventually found our room.
Rooms 700 onwards appear to be in the roof area of a new extension to the original building, the room we were allocated had velux windows and had no view other than looking directly into the branches of a very large tree directly outside the window, overall it appeared very dismal. I contacted Reception and told them of our dissatisfaction and without hesitation they offered us another room on the floor below, Room 609, this again was part of the new block and looked out onto the side entrance to the Health Suite, it appeared a more spacious room than the previous and was an acceptable alternative. The room was reasonably well equipped and the bathroom modern in a contemporary design with a Jacuzzi style bath and a separate shower with multiple jets.
The Pool area and Spa facilities are starting to look a little dated and in need of modernisation, the changing rooms were not particularly clean and looked a little tired and again in need of refurbishment.
We had dinner on the first night of our stay, it was adequate but nothing special.
The dinning areas are split, a room at the front of the hotel and a larger more canteen style area to the rear of this, don't expect intimate dinning at this hotel.
Breakfast is served buffet style, again basic fare and no doubt adequate for most tastes.
Due to the large nature of this hotel there is a traffic light system warning residents of the fact that at certain times you may have to wait and queue for a table.
Clearly a popular wedding venue, there was at least two weddings on during our stay, however we were not disturbed by any of these festivities although we did notice at breakfast on the Sunday a number of young ladies lounging in the bar area still in their wedding outfits and clearly the worse for drink, it appeared that they been up all night so not sure if they had rooms or not.
Overall the hotel has obviously gone through massive expansion for commercial reasons and lost the original character of a baronial hall in extensive grounds that could have been an exclusive and intimate venue, perhaps for commercial reasons this level of expansion was the only necessary option.
One credit to this hotel are its staff, all of whom we encountered were extremely welcoming, helpful and hospitable.
The hotel is good for large wedding parties and business stay, not perhaps so much an ideal if you are looking for a small intimate venue.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoilidayExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2016
Dear HolidayExpert,

Thank you for your review and happy that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. We don't have 700 rooms, just 143 but we are busy and I'm happy you thought us well suited to weddings and business guests.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
763 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,446 reviews
12.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Property: Redworth Hall Hotel
Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing