We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even our puppy enjoyed her stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Even our puppy enjoyed her stay!”
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Easy to find and with a very imposing entrance. Despite the fact that TWO weddings were in progress we were welcomed and the under manager helped us with our considerable luggage. Our ground floor room (ideally situated with a dog!) was well appointed. Food in the restaurant was excellent. We will definately return. Like most Barcelo hotels, it is the friendly staff that make all the difference.
Signed Oxfordshire Doglover

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordshireDoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,088
    963
    585
    255
    179
See reviews for
471
1,650
45
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Approaching the hotel we were wowed - the view is amazing, & the grounds are beautiful. We checked in with some trepidation as we'd read the reviews here previously & hoped we'd be in one of the "better" rooms.

We were not disappointed. We had a big family room, huge double bed, plenty of storage, plenty of seating too which is often an issue as the third bed in a family room is often converted from seating. Bathroom was lovely. Room was very clean, well cleaned every day but without the sometimes "annoying" rearrangement of our personal items that some hotel chains seem to do to make the room "fit" their standards!!

Breakfast was good - not the best we've had - coffee was sometimes a little slow being brought out & we had to ask several times on a couple of days. Could do with a children's choice of cereal - there were a lot of families there. Fruit juices disappointing as they were lukewarm - definitely NOT chilled. But still a good choice & the hot food was constantly replaced so there was no hard dry bacon!

Children's facilities were a surprise - had read there was a children's play area but had not expected a small indoor soft play area AND a big outdoor area. Pool was good for children too - plenty of floats & woggles available if needed. Leisure club was of a good standard too - & contrary to some reports it looked EXACTLY like the pictures on the website.

We didn't eat meals at the hotel - bar snacks were average price but dinner seemed rather expensive & not really suitable for families - children's menu - only 2 available - & limited choice. Followed the recommendations & ate at the pub in Heighington - very good - but also went further along the A6072 to the Tindale Crossing Brewer's Fayre - with a play area - which was quite good & kept our 7 yr old busy & happy!

We got a really good deal on the hotel - 7 nights b&b booked through Superbreak actually worked out cheaper than 7 nights room only at a Premier Inn. We visit the N East regularly to visit family & although the hotel's not as well placed for that as some, we'll definitely be back. In fact, we've already booked a long weekend at half term, & joined the Leisurebreaks club - at a cost of £20 - includes 5 x £10 vouchers off future stays, no tray charge for room service, accommodation upgrade subject to availability, late check-out plus other benefits. Well worth it for us.

Well worth a visit is the Railway Museum at Shildon - just up the road. It's a satellite of the National Railway Museum at York & is very interesting - lots of things to do & see - & all free!!

Beamish is also not too far away & is highly recommended

Overall, we were very happy & very impressed with the hotel. One or two little niggles were over-ridden by the great value we got - & we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkeletonQuays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincs
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Lovely sweeping driveway, very beautifull scenery, can understand why so many weddings are held here. Fast speedy check in. Our room was in the new part of the hotel , newly refurbished. Very nice, spotlessly clean, fabulous bathroom( and i own a bathroom showroom so must be good ha). We booked a doublebut got a twin which was a shame. Complimentary water in room. Over all the room was lovely. Had a lite lunch in the bar, very nice, bit pricey, but expected in a hotel. Staff very nice and friendly.Had a meal in the evening which was just "ok", we have eaten in many nice hotels and this was just average, but fine no problems with it. Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice couldnt fault that.
Overall it was a lovely hotel, had a great time there, would go back.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sunshinelincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedworthGM, Hotel Management at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us, and I was pleased to read that you were happy with your stay. We take on board your constructive comments regarding food and pricing and aim to improve going forward. The team look forward to welcoming you back to Redworth Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

i took my staff to this hotel in the summer instead of out at christmas. I knew before we went that it was a quality hotel as i had stayed many times before so my party would not be disapointed. and indeed they were not, nothing was too much trouble for the friendly bar people, receptionists, waiting staff ,everyoine, the food was second to none and the rooms were modern and classy, but i have stayed in the old part of the hotel, just as clean and inviting but more inkeeping with the jacobean theme of the hotel. Even the manager shook my hand and wished us goodnight as he left, and you dont get that in 99 out of 100 hotels like this.
Breakfast was good too, plenty of whatever you wanted, friendly staff and certainly not rushed.
Thank you to all at the hotel, i have requests from my staff that we go back next year!!!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonguewizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2009

As you approach Redworth Hall up the sweeping drive you are met by a wonderful old house with lovely gardens, I thought the weekend was going to be lovely. We stayed as part of a wedding party, to our surprise you feel you on a convay a belt the whole time as the no. of weddings taking place on the same day were a surprise!! Especially for some where branding themselves as a "Premium Hotel” every where you look their are signs Barceló Premium.

Our room was lovely obviously refurbished recently and in the old part of the hotel which was nice, wonderful large comfy bed shame about the empty mini bar!!! And lack of stationary to be able to write a thank you note. After a long drive and a late night I was looking forward to a relaxing bath the following morning only to find it didn’t work!!! Was a real shame!!
After going down to breakfast which was a real disappointment not worth the extra charge !!
The public areas and lounges need a jolly good dust and clean through every where is just tried and in need of some TLC.
INow it was time to leave and I certainly do not want to experience a normal Barceló hotel if this is was they showcase as a "premium hotel" and expensive for what is on offer at the moment.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaubitza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2009

I have been to this hotel several times now and I am yet to be disapointed.

My latest visit was over the bank holiday weekend and we managed to book a cheap offer on 2 nights bed and breakfast with dinner on the first night.

We arrived early on the friday to make use of the wonderful free spa facilities, which included sauna, steam room, pool, jacuzzi. Great if your planning a relaxing break away.

Our room this time, although not as nice as the deluxe double rooms we have stayed in previously, was a standard double located in the old part of the building, but still clean and tidy and bed was very comfortable. Staff on reception when checking in are extremely friendly and helpful and when passing you in corridors always smiled and said hello.

The food in the restaurant was amazing. Really tasty and staff in restaurant are great. Only bad point is drinks are a little pricey, costing almost £7 for a large glass of wine and almost £4 a pint. Afternoon tea is worth a try at this hotel costing only £20 a couple for a selection of sandwhiches, cakes and scones, and tea or coffee.

The hotels set in a great location and hotel is beautiful to look at. If you dont have dinner included theres a small village Heighton nearby which has a pub serving food till 9.30, with pub meals on 2 for £10. Also darlington is nearby which has some great restaurants and bars.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definetely be going again later this year for my brithday.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurajohnson90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedworthGM, Hotel Management at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us, and I was pleased to read that you were happy with your stay. The team look forward to welcoming you back to Redworth Hall to celebrate your birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

As others have said Redworth Hall is a beautiful old building in a gorgeous setting.

We stayed for 2 nights on a special offer package. They could not have been more different.

On arrival we were allocated room 405. This room is in dire need of refurbishment. The furniture was old, worn and dirty. The window blinds had holes in them. The curtains were filthy and came off the curtain rails when you tried to draw them. The tilting windows were so dirty round the frames that you needed to wash your hands after opening them. Bathroom floor tiles were cracked. The standard lamp didn't work and the bedside lampshade and fitting were loose.

We asked reception for a room change but the hotel was full - we were promised a change the following day. We only stayed because the bed was clean.

That evening we had a below average meal in the restaurant. The food was bland, unimaginative and poorly presented. The service though friendly was slow.

Our second night was in a refurbished room that could not be faulted. It was smart, modern and spotless.

In the restaurant we opted for the safe option of steak followed by cheese and biscuits. In return we got a perfectly cooked steak and a really good cheese selection. No change in the service though.

Breakfasts had the usual selection of cereals and the usual hot chboice. Only fried eggs were on display but the menu advised that you only had to ask if you wanted eggs done some other way.

On our first morning coffee and tea was self-service from flasks (not satisfactory). The second morning we were served our own pot of coffee to the table. I'm not sure whether the hotel resorts to flasks when busy or whether it was connected to a water mains problem that had occurred during the night.

It seems Barcelo are part way through a refurbishment programme and that, if you get a refurbished room you will be well pleased.

Even allowing for the fact it has not yet been refurbished room 405 was totally unacceptable.

This was our second stay at this hotel. We probably would return but will give them some time to complete their refurbishment programme before going back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayBee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.5 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Property: Redworth Hall Hotel
Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing