We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay, very friendly hosts”
Review of Manor House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Acle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor House
Ranked #1 of 2 Acle B&B and Inns
Kent, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, very friendly hosts”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night (13 September), before a two week boating holiday on the broads. We had our German shepherd puppy with us, we were all made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Nice place to relax with a very homely feel. Breakfast was lovely too!!!
Thanks Kathy and Ray.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LimoLadyKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Really enjoyed the family feel of Ray and Cathy's place and felt instantly at home. Love all the cosy touches in the decor and family photos. Both were kind and accommodating and Cathy was nice enough to post on forgotten items,getting us the best postal deal from the post office! A place to remember and a couple to remember for sure! Thanks both.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Four of us stayed a weekend at Manor House, as a base for sailing on the Broads. We did not know Acle before but, within seconds of walking through the door, Ray was giving us a card to get into the village club and telling us of local places to eat. He & Cathy were such a friendly welcoming couple, and the breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Ray and Cathy are so kind and helpful; picking us up from the station, recommending places to eat and things to do in the area and even making us a packed lunch for our journey home! This is a lovely, historic house in the centre of the village, and is a great place to explore the beautiful Broads and surrounding area plus Norwich and Great Yarmouth. They make a great breakfast too!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My boyfriend and I left booking our stay in South Walsham to the very last moment and unfortunately everything close to the event we were attending was booked. We managed to get a room somewhat closeby, in Acle, at the Manor House B&B.

Our hosts, Cathy and Ray, were just delightful and welcomed us into their home with so much warmth. In the morning, at breakfast, we were introduced by Ray to the other guests there who had been coming back to stay at the Manor House for years and gave us lots of good tips of things to see and do.

Cathy and Ray went out of their way to help us during our stay and we were also lucky enough to have the "Ray Special" for breakfast on Sunday morning - delicious! You will leave the Manor House feeling like you've learned something, met delightful people and with a full tummy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frances94109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had originally booked the Acle Travelodge but we received a phone call from them whilst travelling up from Hampshire informing us they had overbooked and asking us to instead stay at the Manor house B&B. We had never stayed in a B&B before so agreed reluctantly, Well how wrong we were to be reluctant, We were greeted warmly by Ray and Cathy and instantly made to feel welcome and at home. They Made a temporary bed up in one of our rooms for our grandson. The rooms were very homely, comfortable and clean. Ray had plenty of advice of places to visit and had a great knowledge of the area. We were left to come and go as we pleased. Breakfast was lovely and the options endless and the table was beutifully set. Ray and Cathy, thank you for having us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timdih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A weary family of 4 with 2 great danes! needing a place to sleep. We thought the dogs would have to stay in the car, but Ray and Cathy gave us all a very warm welcome, and no extra charge for the dogs. Good well cooked full English breakfast. Ray and Cathy moving nearby to a quieter location soon, keeping the same phone number, and when we're in the area again will definitely stay with them. Good advice on local places to visit. Thank goodness the Travelodge was full.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acle
0.0 mi away
The Kings Head Inn Acle
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Tyto Alba Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 80 in Norwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Acle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House

Property: Manor House
Address: The Street, Acle NR13 3QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Acle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Acle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th Century B&B has been serving clients since 1996. Nestled in the centre of a quaint market village - Acle - this B&B is ideal for your next visit to the Norfolk Broads. Walkers, fishers and bird watchers have all enjoyed this delightful 'home away from home'. Come and join proprietors - Ray and Cathy - on your next visit to East Anglia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Acle, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing