We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Station Cottage

Front of property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of property
Back of property looking up track to Norwich Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Front of property
Back of property looking up track to Norwich
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Acle, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jean W
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay.”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Had a lovely week. Beautiful spacious comfy cottage. Really well equipped. Lovely touches flowers, welcome pack, slippers and gowns. Enjoyed traveling on the train to Norwich and Reedham. We took our little dog. It's a nice walk into village. Scooters cafe does lovely food and is dog friendly. Reedham ferry and the ship also do great food ,as does the Bridge inn at Acle. The weather wasn't too great so we didn't venture into Yarmouth or Lowerstoft, both of which are easily accessible by train. In all a great base for a break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: uniqueness
Liked least: if I have to say something lack of bath.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review, glad you and Poppy enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christoph...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“excelant stay”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I found the owner very helpful and friendly.
The cottage itself was both warm and exceptionally clean and quite spacious. It had everything you would need. I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and the only concern i had was the sound of the trains.This turned out to be a unnecessary concern as we did not hear them

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2016
Thank you very much for your review, it is much appreciated that you took the time to do it, there is no other way for guests to feel confident when they book online. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMick_1...
Walton-on-the-naze
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can not fault this gem of a cottage in Acle”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Fantastic Holiday had by all in a superb luxury dog friendly cottage, packed full of everything you could possibly need for a great stay, It was our dogs first holiday and he too found it relaxing and home from home and a superb lookout point for him to watch passerbys and trains, we love how its situated close to shops, walks, fantastic pubs, footpaths and not forgetting transport, so you can train hop anywhere on the wherry lines. Definately will be back had a superb time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very comfortable and plush furnishings
Liked least: it didnt have a bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your review it is lovely to get feedback and think that we are providing somewhere people can have a relaxing break- look forward to welcoming you again
Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDREW S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've stayed in quite a few places over the years and we must say that Station Cottage is one of the best .As soon as you step through the door you feel at home.The welcome pack was very nice. We loved the little touches like the signs on the doors. Would definitely stay again. Thanks for a lovely stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole place
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review my cottage- I am very grateful and very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Newark-on-trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage, fabulous location.”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was our first( and certainly not last) visit. The cottage is lovely, very well equipped with some nice little touches, ie bath robes, slippers, welcome pack and fresh flowers in the hallway. The kitchen had everything, the dishwasher is an added bonus when on holiday! I didn't read the reviews before going so was surprised to find free wi-fi which was very useful. Acle has a very good Budgens supermarket that was reasonably priced and seemed to stock everything. We travelled by train and used the trains all week, hardly noticing trains at other times coming and going. We didn't try the pub in the village (Kings Head?)but did visit The Bridge just on the edge, a very pleasant walk away serving excellent beers, wine and food. Also with a lovely beer garden with climbing frames and amusements for children ( water supplied for dogs too!). I also have to mention Reedham close by, The Ferry Pub. Next to the pub is the last chain ferry in Norfolk(according to the sign) taking cars etc back and forth across the river, another beer garden where you can sit and watch the boats go past and try some local real ales. We had an excellent stay, will definitely be visiting again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your review- look forward to welcoming you in the future,
Deborah and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vulcanb25...
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“station cottage”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from our fourth visit, what can I say, other than what an absolutely delightful cottage, everything was perfect, as normal. lovely welcome pack, and fresh flowers in the entrance, thanks to Deborah and Alan for providing such a welcoming holiday home. No surprise that we will be back again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review,
Deborah and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday Cottage-Like Home from Home”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed from 2nd-9th August, as I had never been to Acle nor passed through on the Railway I was really nice to go somewhere new and instantly find I had found an absolutely wonderful cottage, I had a walk around the the village shortly after I had arrived and it is such a lovely place all the local people so friendly, the facilities in the village were better than I first thought, there are so many walks that can be done right from the station The train service to Norwich is really good and the fares are not to bad either around £3.80 for a single so plenty things to see and do and to top it all off the weather was amazing during the week around 24c every day.

Defiantly well worth a visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the whole week such a great place
Liked least: Nothing all perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thanks for your great review, I'm glad the weather was good to you and I only wish I could be able to make it sunny for all our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing