We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Deepdale Cafe

Deepdale Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very pleased to see the Deepdale Cafe open again. Having walked part of the coastal path in the morning I was tired, hungry and thirsty. The term "cafe" does not do it justice because the food is very good with a reasonably good menu choice. Service was quick and very friendly. At present there are all-day breakfast options, main courses and then cakes or scones. No puddings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank swalsh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    121
    47
    37
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a Disappointment”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Having waited several months for the cafe to re-open, today was the first opportunity to see what the new owners had to offer.What a disappointment !!!Staff seemed amateurish and displayed a "couldn't care less attitude".We chose to eat outside because the overwhelming atmosphere of garlic and burnt food was not at all enticing.The best part of lunch was a nice pot of tea and cafetiere of fresh coffee...everything else was best forgotten.I ordered a ham sandwich on brown bread...only to be told that they had run out of brown bread (at 1.30pm) so settled for white.What a shame that somebody didn't go next door to the supermarket and buy a loaf of wholemeal bread to avoid disappointment. When it arrived at the table the bread was incredibly dry with stale crusts.The ham was fatty and the crisps were missing.This was replaced at my request but no apology was made. I had to ask for crisps which were missing once again...very sloppy service!! I also noticed that another table had left most of their sandwiches...presumably for the same reason.
I would have expected a member of staff to come out and ask if everything was ok with their second attempt....but,once again I was disappointed.
I also warn anyone with children to be careful what they order from the children's menu...the herb coated herb chicken dish consisted of slices of processed chicken(or turkey was difficult to tell) and not strips of chicken as written on the menu.
Overall this was a disappointing and expensive experience and I will not be repeating it in a hurry

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stevebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophiewiddowson, Owner at Deepdale Cafe, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
It's sad to see you were unimpressed by our efforts when you visited us over the bank holiday weekend. Firstly I would like to thank you for your feedback and do apologise for not being able to meet your needs in supplying you with brown bread for your sandwich. We were busier than expected which again due to us being new to this line of work we are learning on a daily basis what and how much to order of certain things. Due to it being a bank holiday weekend unfortunately the shop next door had also ran out of brown bread so we were unable to sort this problem out as easily as we would of liked.
Please be reassured that all our produce is fresh including our chicken breasts which we prepare cook in our kitchen daily. Again we are new to this so receiving feedback is key to making things better. I hope that you will return perhaps in a few months to see if we have made any improvements to the bad experience you feel you had.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good food - some areas have changed”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The cafe has recently changed hands and the food since the changeover has had seen smoked bacon introduced on the standard breakfasts and it doesn't look to be mentioned on there. Under the new ownership the menu size has shrunk to a double a4 piece of paper. Also for people who take dogs into the cafe please be aware under the new ownership they do want to limit the Area where guests with dogs sit. The cafe now has free wifi but you may need to ask for username and password as it's on a login system now.

Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“in agreement!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

we agree with all the previous excellent reviews,so wont go on for too long as all points been covered! make sure you are really hungry or have a big appetite as portion sizes very large!,judging by the number customers eating there on a weekday in april you will be very succesfull,will be returning and wish you all the best for the future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophiewiddowson, Owner at Deepdale Cafe, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your nice feedback. Really enjoying pleasing so many people. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Brilliant Big Breakfast”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My boyfriend and I visited here one morning to have breakfast and we were both pleasantly surprised at how nice the the breakfast was. The food seemed locally sourced from high quality butchers etc. The service was quick, efficient and friendly. We highly recommend and we will be visiting again very soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sallzy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophiewiddowson, Owner at Deepdale Cafe, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us your nice feedback. Hopefully we shall see in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deepdale Cafe also viewed

Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
 
Burnham Overy Staithe, Norfolk
Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
 

Been to Deepdale Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing