We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deepdale Cafe

Deepdale Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Getting better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Deepdale cafe has had its ups and downs but the latest crew seem to be trying their best. It is after all a cafe and not a five star hotel. We found the staff helpful on the three occasions we have visited in the latest iteration the food has been good quality cafe food.

If you want good breakfasts, burgers etc it's worth trying. We shared an excellent BLT sandwich and were going to have a coffee and cake but by 3pm the cakes were greatly depleted and so we went elsewhere for our 'deserts'.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    114
    45
    36
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a shame......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We have been using this cafe since it opened but as the owners have changed the prices have gone up and the standards down. We called in this morning for breakfast, empty tables full of plates everywhere and in need of a good clean. We sat down and after finding our own menus a lady who gave the impression she was doing us a favour took our order , food came quickly but with no cutlery and sour face again from same young lady. The positives were good food and helpful young lady behind counter with dark hair whom nothing was too much trouble. We are locals and won't be going back.

Helpful?
Thank mpaul777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Couldnt cook better myself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stopped at this cafe on a tour on the coast road.We were a bit apprehensive as usually cafe food is greasy and horrible.But to our surprise great service and the big breakfast we ordered i couldnt have bettered myself. A good serving which pleased my husband and the variety of things on the plate made it a substantial meal .The staff were friendly and could not do enough for us. Will definitely come again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Will go back again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Bit confused by the recent reviews, may have to go again to see if they're correct.

We love this place and have recommended it happily. I like that it always looks like a caff (note pronunciation) but is really so much more than that.

We went today and could see that things had changed around a bit but the service was still good, menu varied, food excellent and we were completely happy. It was a bit after midday when we were there so can't comment on the end of day.

The only thing I would ever complain about here is that they would benefit from an extra loo and certainly to make them unisex: there's always a queue for the lady's.

Hygiene rating: 5

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trippy00486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“so disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

9 years ago we discovered the wonderful North Norfolk coast. A chap in Burnham Market told us the best place for a cooked breakfast was The Deepdale Cafe, he was right. ........then. How sad that over the years we have seen a decline, both in food and service. The final straw was last Friday 1st August, as we walked through the door at 4.05pm we were met with 'have you come for food? 'When we said yes, we wanted a sandwich, we were told we could only have cakes and drinks as they didn't serve any other food after 4.00pm, but the Jolly Sailors up the road has got food! Most of the chairs were on the tables so we grudgingly ordered coffee and cheese scones, which came separately about 10 minutes apart, they were good but we felt like an inconvenience. Please, please, please, don't advertise that you're open from 7.30am until 5.00pm without making it clear that you only serve the minimum leftovers for the last hour. Surely you would be better to open until 4.00pm and send hotdog until you close, and try to make your customers feel welcome like you used to.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hazel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deepdale Cafe also viewed

Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
 

Been to Deepdale Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing