We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Setting for Weekend House Party with...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blo Norton Hall

The Rear gardens of Blo Norton Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Rear gardens of Blo Norton Hall
The drive up to Blo Norton Hall. The kitchen garden to the rear gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Rear gardens of Blo Norton Hall
The drive up to Blo Norton Hall.
The kitchen garden to the rear gardens
The side gardens of the Hall
The drive down to the Hall in the autumn
Kitchen with 2 of everything and breakfast room at the rear.
The breakfast room
The A Team working for you to make your stay special.
The main dining hall sitting 18
Main Sitting room with period features and comfy sofas
The quiet room
Bedroom 2 with shower en-suite
The master bedroom
The master bedroom - special occasion
Master bedroom Bathroom
Triple bedroom great for kids with very large full en-suite
The Blue room overlooking the rear gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Diss, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GigiandCo
American in London
1 review
“Fabulous Setting for Weekend House Party with Friends”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our group of 7 family friends (age 2-45) just spent a brilliant long weekend at the Blo Norton property (renting the hall AND two barns). The hall is grand, charming, quirky and comfortable with numerous large spaces for groups to congregate. The barns are fabulously converted with modern kitchens and cozy interiors. Suggest you can plan on four families sleeping in the hall, two in the largest barn and 1 in the small barn.

Sue McGrath (property manager) and Karen (the housekeeper) patiently answered all of my questions prior to arrival. Check in was easy and we conveniently arranged a Sainsbury's delivery to arrive shortly after we did.

Our group spent Saturday morning exploring the extensive grounds. These included open lawns at the barns (not apparent on outdated google map satellite images), the wooded drive and landscaped gardens at the hall and a meadow behind the hall. Some of us ran a local park run or visited Wyken Vineyards' farmer's market and gardens (highly recommended) where we collected eggs, fresh asparagus, breads and artisanal treats for the weekend. We walked to the White Horse in Thelnetham for lunch, which handled our large group expertly and served outstanding food. Our dinners were catered by Emma Biggs Catering (highly recommended). The kids sat down first to a family style/large dish dinner while the adults enjoyed canapes and a glass of champagne by the fire followed by a three-course meal. Superb!

Sunday, after a fry up in the well-equipped hall kitchen, we hosted Grey Goose archery (highly recommended) who set up targets for the children, and the parents enjoyed a quick go as well. We used the hall's two gas grills for a Sunday BBQ at the large,18-person table by the property's pond. Lawn games and walks on the grounds and around the village kept us entertained until Emma arrived again with another perfect dinner.

We were truly spoiled at Blo Norton and the kids are already begging to go back. Memories for a lifetime.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
Thank you so much for a lovely review, I shall pass onto the staff as I am sure they would love to see and I am very grateful for you explaining your stay in such beautiful detail. We very much look forward to you returning and hopefully will find the swings in the woods.

Best wishes

The Blo Norton Gang.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireinB...
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Like being in another world”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Twelve extended family members booked Blo Norton Hall for Christmas - a first experiment in celebrating all together. And it was perfect. The house is amazing: the Elizabethan atmosphere coupled with all the mod cons. What could be better?!
We loved the servants' bells outside the kitchen, and the quirky floorboards in our bathroom (don't drop an earring or it might disappear!). It was always possible to find privacy so we didn't feel crowded, and the kitchen was great for cooking together. Two stoves, two ovens, two dishwashers, two fridges and a freezer made even the Christmas feast easy to prepare. We lost wifi at one point, but Malcolm the maintenance man turned up promptly to fix it. Some of the beds are not the most comfy, but that was a small defect in an otherwise absolutely wonderful week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Always lovely to hear from our guests, thank you for taking the time to review, we dont ask so it means even more when we get lovely words like this, Hope to see you back again in the future. Will pass on to the team at Blo Norton. Many thanks
Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asm284
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous hall for choir holiday ”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We booked Blo Norton Hall and the two barns for the half term holiday and had a wonderful time. The Hall has to be seen to be believed. We couldn't believe the four poster beds and the size of the main dining room. We had fires in one of the sitting rooms (sadly the weather was really cold, even in June!) and played table tennis one evening.

The kitchens were well supplied and we enjoyed cooking there. There was even room for all 31 of us to get together one evening in the main hall, spread out over two dining rooms and the outside table.

The barns were beautifully modern with a grand piano and high beamed ceilings. Perfect for a choir party on the last night.

It's worth being aware that in the main hall there was one twin room on the ground floor that didn't have an en-suite. It was fairly close to a loo, but had to go a long way to find a bathroom upstairs.

Overall the Hall and Barns were a great holiday rental for a group of friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review, I understand our neighboring tenants really enjoyed hearing you sing. Look forward to you all coming back in the future.

Sue and The Blo Norton Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary A
Hertsberge, Belgium
1 review
“Great party venue...but only suitable for 15/16 guests”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Quite an amazing property set away from the madding crowd. We rented Blo Norton Hall and Barns for a birthday party for friends and family. Spacious, well equipped and clean.
Sue from the booking site was a tremendous help every step of the way.....thank you Sue.
For family that stayed over, what a treat. Every bedroom was as individual as each family member staying. Large (not the family members !!) quirky but oh so tranquil. Shame about the weather as it put paid to the activities planned in the garden :(
The dining room was spot on for the birthday breakfast, we all sat at 1 table from end to end. We used the cook as recommended from the info pack...no regrets.
The Barns and Hall couldn't have been more different. The Barns are extremely modern in contrast to the Hall. But all are full of character.
My only criticism would have to be the room on the ground floor just beside the kitchen. It's just an old looking book room with twin beds plonked in. Not ideal and if staying the week unsuitable for long periods. No en suite so guests would need to search for a vacant bathroom. In my opinion this property should only be sold as sleeping 15 -16 not the 18 as advertised. Not at all suitable for disabled or elderly as advertised as the bathrooms are on another level. There is a single bed set off from the sitting room, ok for overnight, again no ensuite.
Would I rebook....yes definitely, but with fewer guests as the downstairs does not offer adequate facilities long term. Re think the ground floor twin layout or get rid of completely.
Overall, we had 32 sleeping over and a great time had by all..thank you Blo Norton for a truly memorable week....and no ghosts !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and grounds
Liked least: Bedroom description
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Thank you all so much for your wonderful reviews, all comments and feedback made are always taken on-board and passed to the owner. Where we can and get away with with put the small things in place, some times the bigger things take a little longer, but we keep working on.

To all our guests we love to see you return to us and as a thank you please remember to quote your previous date of stay and we will apply a discount to your future stay.

Look forward to seeing you all again soon.

From the Blo Norton Gang.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayhe...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant house, undersold by the photos”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This house is so spacious and lovely.
We loved the fact each room had an en suite and the privacy this afforded us.
The social areas are all really well kept and big. And the music system going right through the ground floor was great.
All the people I dealt with during the rental were very nice and relaxed, it was all very straight forward.
We want to go back next year it was so good and well priced!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The siza and style of the property
Liked least: Was a bit cold when we got there but soon warmed up
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
Tunbridge Wells
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Elizabethan moated manor house”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We rented this house for 6 couples, for 4 nights in June. The house is stunning, comfortable and well equipped, and was excellent value. Plenty to do, we had a day trip on the Broads, a day by the sea at Southwold, and walked locally in Redgrave and Lopham Fen national nature reserve. We also booked Chef2Dine4 to cook and serve an evening meal for us at the house, and this was a real highlight, fantastic food. Otherwise, great just to chill around the house.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hubs67
SOLIHULL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue for large group gatherings.”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Spotlessly clean. Well equipped, comfortably furnished. Our experience of Blo Norton Hall exceeded our expectations on every level. Sue was helpful prior to our visit in assisting us to book caterers (who were superb) and clay pigeon shooting. The grounds were lovely. We arrived in thick snow and inevitably a no-holds-barred,-every -man/woman - for-themself, snowball fight ensued. The following day we enjoyed the gardens & surrounding countryside in bright January sunshine. The only downside was the erratic heating system- the timer wasn't set correctly for one side of the house, but that didnt spoil our Weekend. We plan to revisit . Put this one on the top of your list. You may never have the chance to stay in such a wonderful characterful place again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, well equipped, comfy & full of character
Liked least: The heating didn't come on at the times we needed it! Didn't spoil it though.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2013
To all our guests who have taken the time and trouble to write your reviews and comments, thank you very much. We take your feedback very seriously and hope that the small little changes we make that are recommended by you make a big difference to you on your return. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing