We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pub, nice location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bell Inn
Ranked #10 of 17 Diss B&B and Inns
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice pub, nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

The Bell Inn is nice friendly pub in an attractive and interesting village. All the staff were helpful and the room was pretty good too. The bar and restaurant were mostly peopled by locals giving it an "authentic" Suffolk flavour.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CE778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    29
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
20
33
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Last minute booking and was the cheapest available in the area. Actually turned out to be good value. Room was typical contemporary style, ok size for a pub/inn and for a short stay. Got a comfy nights sleep. Only downside was that bathroom was a bit grubby and hadn't had a proper clean for a week or two. It's a pub/inn so it's to be expected that there may be a bit of customer noise, this wasn't too bad though, pick the rooms at the back (not 1-3 which are over the pub itself) and you'll be fine. Suspect that room directly above the pool table is not one for anyone looking to go to bed early! Breakfast was good with wide choice from full english to omelettes etc. Hospitality was polite and friendly.

Room Tip: Back room (not 1-3)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level Contributor
168 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Very friendly inn with good food. Clean, comfortable rooms although a bit pricey, maybe because I booked through an agent instead of booking direct.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysway51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed for just one night and everything was great. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was huge, clean and had everything you need for a short stay. The food in the restaurant was super and the breakfast was as good as it gets.

We will certainly return as we loved our short stay here. It was tremendous value for money and situated in a lovely village. Our dog was made as welcome as we were so that added to our enjoyment.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester Essex
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at the Bell Inn to combine a trip to Norwich and to Southwold in Suffolk. Stayed on a sunday night and had dinner in the restaurant. The food was fab and the staff friendly and hospitable whilst still remaining laid back. I thought it was fab and great value. Our four poster room was lovely, clean and well equipped and quiet. Breakfast was included in the price and was a lovely freshly cooked full english although other options were available. I would definately go back and recommend to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColchesterEssexWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Very welcoming hotel which was ideal for our weekend away. Our Cocker Spaniel thoroughly enjoyed his stay too!
Good beer and cosy pub atmosphere which was very much appreciated. Rooms were clean and well appointed.
Fab breakfast and good food in the pub and restaurant.
Good parking and fantastic situation for many walks around the countryside.
All in all a very well run pub with great atmosphere and lovely people. We were sorry to have to leave. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Double room was very good indeed & overlooks the carpark - Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

This small 8 bedroomed hotel was superb ! I wanted a few days
in mid-Suffolk, combining a Christmas break with a look at
local places linked to my family!The chances of finding one
close to Wortham,were lmited ......I was particularly keen on a
smallish, 'olde' inn/log fire etc. with friendly hosts,good food cosy bar.
I found it! Wifi was free (unlike 'Travelodge's deceptively cheap offers...),
Georgie and Howard always smiling and unflustered, and staff
attentive but unobtrusive. Food excellent, room exceptionally comfortable,
warm and well-appointed. Proof of inn's reputation - dining room
fully-booked for Christmas Day lunch ......other guests, both
solo and couples,were returning ......A sense of local ambience was
clear.....and ample parking.......Thanks to 'mine hosts' ...I'll be back!

Room Tip: no problems with mine.....!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diss
4.5 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brome Grange Hotel
6.4 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
3.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
5.4 mi away
Strenneth
Strenneth
#1 of 1 in Fersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hazel Barn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Property: The Bell Inn
Address: The Street | Rickinghall, Diss IP22 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Diss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Diss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and HotelsClick so you can book your The Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Diss
The Bell Inn Diss, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing