We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Stay”
Review of The Bell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bell Inn
Ranked #9 of 16 Diss B&B and Inns
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Short Stay”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Every thing was very good, food excellent, staff very friendly and helpful BUT the shower in room 5 was unusable apparently other people have complained about this it should have been rectified
by now or the room should not be rented out

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    30
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
21
33
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley
Level Contributor
139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stumbled on this place having seen a sign on the main road advertising food and drink on a sunny sunday afternoon.

We had a lovely meal, fish platter for two and and very nice sweets. Everything was fresh and tasty. We sat in the garden and enjoyed the late sun.

Staff friendly and attentive. Bit like the locals!

Worth a visit. Will potentially look to sat there if we decide to have a UK break in the spring.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TC1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We saw followed the roadside advertising board & went for lunch it was a bingo afternoon
& rather loud the bar staff asked if we would rather sit in the restaurant which we did it was quite busy for a week day afternoon. you could not ask more from the staff they were friendly & very helpful. when we discovered that it was also a hotel with very reasonable prices we booked in for the night. The room was very comfortable, the bathroom however needed a little more space which is only a minor criticism.
The evening meals were of a really high standard, hot & very very tasty.Don't know about the desserts as we were both too full to have one.
When in the area again The Bell is were we will be staying.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Small pub/hotel. Very comfortable room, excellent meals and good local ales. All staff are very friendly and helpful and locals make you welcome. House keeping could be a little bit better in the bathroom, and seats in the bar need to be recovered, but overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spartanfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My family and I stayed at The Bell Inn during a weekend in July 2012. We had booked 5 out of the 8 rooms. All the rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean. The Shower/bath rooms were clean. The only gripe is that the showers went hot and cold, a constant temperature could not be attained!!!
The breakfast's were great, 3 of our party were vegetarian and the chef had catered for them too.
It was a lovely stay and I would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline7843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The Bell Inn is nice friendly pub in an attractive and interesting village. All the staff were helpful and the room was pretty good too. The bar and restaurant were mostly peopled by locals giving it an "authentic" Suffolk flavour.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CE778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Last minute booking and was the cheapest available in the area. Actually turned out to be good value. Room was typical contemporary style, ok size for a pub/inn and for a short stay. Got a comfy nights sleep. Only downside was that bathroom was a bit grubby and hadn't had a proper clean for a week or two. It's a pub/inn so it's to be expected that there may be a bit of customer noise, this wasn't too bad though, pick the rooms at the back (not 1-3 which are over the pub itself) and you'll be fine. Suspect that room directly above the pool table is not one for anyone looking to go to bed early! Breakfast was good with wide choice from full english to omelettes etc. Hospitality was polite and friendly.

Room Tip: Back room (not 1-3)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diss
4.5 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
6.4 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
5.4 mi away
Strenneth
Strenneth
#1 of 1 in Fersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hazel Barn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Property: The Bell Inn
Address: The Street | Rickinghall, Diss IP22 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Diss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Diss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Diss
The Bell Inn Diss, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing