We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SATISFIED”
Review of The Bell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bell Inn
Ranked #9 of 16 Diss B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“SATISFIED”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Hotel was typical of a country pub with locals chatting at the bar. The rooms were clean,beds comfortable,bathroom fine and towels beautifully white were changed each day, toiletries were also renewed. Breakfast was cooked to order and fine. Maybe an addition of another fruit to the breakfast table would be appreciated. Evening meals were good but service was very slow and the menu could maybe include a roast or chops. Overall a pleasant 3 days. I must say we read the review "could not get away fast enough" after booking and were worried. However I suggest the writer concerned spends a little more time checking spelling and grammar rather than criticising.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 5. Not much view but better than others as not attached to a party wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sut2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    30
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
21
33
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I can honestly say this is the worst place i have ever stayed! We arrived on the 26th August (booked by my husband as a birthday night away for me) to find that there was a family fun day on so it was very busy. We walked into the pub which i found very grubby and met by stares of what we assumed were locals who had never seen anyone outside their village before! We waitied at the 'hotel reception' which was the end of the bar with a lamintaed notice 'hotel reception' and waitied for a good 10 minutes before anyone came to see us even though they obviously noticed we were waiting. We were taken up to our room which was not ready, even though we arrived an hour after we were told time of check in, in which the cleaner shouted to the girl who took us up (& i presume she knew we were there) 'they'll have to wait another half hour, ive not dont it yet'...charming!!! We went back down to the pub and waited until our room was ready. We werent told it was ready, we had to just go up and see for ourselves & our luggage had'nt even been moved in from the room next door where we told we could leave it until the room was ready so my husband had to go back down and find someone to get back our luggage locked in the room next door! Room was clean but very untasteful. bathroom not so clean and definately needed a change of shower & curtain! Room was like a sauna and could oly open the windown about 1cm in which all you could hear was the music, crowds & sounds of breaking glass outside...not sure whats worse! I was in tears by this point so we went into Diss for some peace and a meal. Came back around 8pm & the event was still going on which you could not ignore! It finished around 10 however you could still clearly hear conversations outside which were VERY untasteful until much later. I presume some of the people were staying there too as could hear banging doors when they came in! Managed to get to sleep around 2 and woke at 6 due to the heat! Decided on a very early breakfast so we could leave asap and had higher hopes for the food. Breakfast room was nicely decorated however i have never seen so many flies in my life! The milk jug at the table we sat on had black spots floating in it and flies were just landing & crawling all over us! Breakfast was average & didnt even get toast as standard! We had to choose it from an option! Seriously...how much does a loaf of bread cost?? Ate breakfast very quickly and ran out to car while my husband checked out so we could get on the road asap! No idea how people can give this place a good review as i spent most of the stay in tears! I seriously wish we turned straight out the door and went home again as soon as we had got there!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GeraldineSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here with friends and family for one night, good value accommodation, friendly staff and nice breakfast. The Pub/inn is very dog friendly, we an outside seating area. Location is very good with a public footpath with walks over open fields. good location for visiting Diss and the local area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allyabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Weekend break for a birthday surprise. Stayed on a Saturday night.
Friendly service, nice size room, comfortable bed. Nice bar too relax in. This is an old inn so dont expect the modern of a premier inn or travel lodge. Good basic comfortable accomodation.
Very nice cooked breakfast.
Pleasant friendly village.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micksam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed on Saturday evening, having stayed here under previous management. The carpets looked decidedly grimy throughout and there was a lot of hair in the corner of the bathrooms. We were promised a continental breakfast for a-not-so-early departure on the Sunday morning, but nothing was left and there wasn't anybody around either to ask. It needs a good overhaul as it's in a lovely location and is generally a nice property.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dibbsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We booked at very short notice to stay overnight at The Bell following a visit to a friend's birthday celebration. Staff were all very pleasant, room was clean and had everything we needed. Our stay included full English breakfast and the breakfast was great - 'proper' bread, tasty sausages and bacon and served with a smile in a very nice dining room - a real change from queuing at self service breakfasts in some larger hotels.

We also had a few drinks in the bar/pub area on the Saturday night and it was great to be in a 'real village pub' atmosphere and to feel welcome.

As an added bonus there was plenty of parking in the hotel's own car park.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST SUSSEX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Given the keys to Room 2, I opened door & was gutted as it was nothing like the rooms I saw in the photos. Where do I start - paper was torn/peeling from the walls, curtain rail coming away from the ceiling in the bathroom, a broken fitting on the bathroom wall, shower (if thats what you call it) no more than a trickle, room tired & very much in need of redecoration, carpet dirty, bed/bath rooms both in need of a good clean (putting a plug in the socket behind the bed we were worried what we might put our hands in, yuk!)....I took photos of the lot to remind me how awful it was. On the plus side the towels & bedding appeared nice & clean. Our room was above the bar & we could hear everything; until about 1am we suffered the noise of the pool table, the music & the banter of the 'merry' lads. I feel sure that the owners cannot expect a good review from anyone unfortunate enough to be given this room....they may say we should have voiced our disappointment at the time, I say they know what the room is like & shouldn't put anyone in there in the first place. Maybe there are better rooms - some of the reviews would suggest so - if you are considering staying then you would do well to check the room details before parting with your hard earned cash. The food was ok, nothing special, but not bad. Needless to say I will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ANGELA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diss
4.5 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
6.4 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
5.4 mi away
Strenneth
Strenneth
#1 of 1 in Fersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hazel Barn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Property: The Bell Inn
Address: The Street | Rickinghall, Diss IP22 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Diss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Diss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Diss
The Bell Inn Diss, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing