We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gissing Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
J.D.Young(Harleston)
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel(Stowmarket)(Great Value!)
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Townhouse Hotel(Wymondham)
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness centre
Breckland Lodge(Attleborough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
24
13
10
10
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
13
10
10
20
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Honestly the worst experience i've had at a hotel.
Was here for my brother in laws wedding and to say shambolic is an understatement.
The excuse of 'new owners fulfilling previous commitments while renovation takes place' only gives so much grace.
- a 3 hour wedding breakfast (difficult for an adult to take but when you have to entertain a 1year old) meaning the evening guest and entertainment all arrived before we'd had deserts, coffee and even speaches.
- Completely unorganised service for even the most common sence elements, (some had wine, some didn't - some had water, some didn't, who had what meal, who has or hasn't got a meal yet.)
- Not enough wine to go around.
- The rooms were in a terrible state of repair with a water feature in one (dripping from the roof)
- No one available in the morning to provide breakfast, in fact no one there to even take our money (actually had to leave contact details to call us if they wanted paying)
- Finally, overheard the owner slagging us off because someone had left a wine glass on a book (Now I know this isn't the done thing but to slag your guests off and especially in an establishment where a wine glass on the book is the least of its worries is incredible.)

Frankly poor from start to finish.

Room Tip: Stay at the cornwallis or anywhere else for that mater (and as for having your wedding here - please dont)
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We came to gissing hall for a wedding, after reading the reviews on here we weren't looking forward to staying anyway but you always think can't be that bad,well when we arrived were met at reception by very rude staff that actually barely said hello, then showed to our room which must of been the worst room in the whole place it was that freezing you could see our breath when we talked so that made everything in the room feel damp, there were tiles hanging off wall in bathroom a bit of rope 4 a wardrobe& cobwebs hanging off curtains?! & also Staines all on carpet so we asked to change rooms & where showed another one which wasn't that much better but we switched anyway!! Was the coldest creepiest night I've ever spent at a hotel how they can even call it a hotel or charge for it I have no idea!! And breakfast was awful couldn't eat it, the surroundings in breakfast room were not pretty with wires hanging & lights flickering! I refused to pay full price as the whole thing was horrendous!!!!when we were checking out we said how cold it was & receptionist said rudely you didn't find your electric blanket then??? You shouldn't need one!! So don't ever stay here!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all!!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bethca18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My daughter's wedding last weekend received much praise from family and guests. The Grade II listed building is beautiful and a very romantic setting for a wedding. The attached marquee gave the wedding banquet a fairytale feel. Food and drinks were served by courteous and friendly staff who worked hard throughout. Compliments to the Chef were numerous as the food was excellent. The Morning Room accommodated a photo booth in the evening and drinks after the ceremony were served from the grand Drawing Room.

The accommodation was comfortable and the rooms were full of character and charm. The potential of this venue when all the rooms are renovated and available is huge - It's just beautiful.

The owner Steve was polite and helpful and Martha was a delight - there to ensure that the schedule ran smoothly. The sun shone and the 2 nights we stayed were enjoyable. We were made to feel at home and encouraged to ask if we needed anything.

Great for a wedding venue or to just get away from it all.

Room Tip: This 15th Century building has low ceilings in some of the rooms, so do check if you are tall!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We got married last weekend at Gissing Hall and had a beautiful day, everything went as smoothly as we could have hoped and Martha the manager was wonderful and cannot be praised enough for everything she did for us to ensure our day was exactly as we wanted! The food for our sit down meal was absolutely delicious, couldn't be faulted in the slightest! The staff were friendly, very helpful and professional throughout the evening. Steve the manager ensured our fireworks in the evening were arranged and safe, and although the quieter of the managers, did a grand job.
Unfortunately, not all of the guests that stayed overnight were completely satisfied with their rooms, but as Kpmold said with the previous review, they are still undergoing renovations and i do not doubt that once all the renovations have been done, every single room will be as lovely and comfortable as the bridal suite was on the two nights i was there.
A venue I would highly recommend for a wedding, beautiful building, out of the way so nobody disturbed us during the day or evening, and fantastic support from Martha throughout. Our big day was perfect, so thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

I got married at the weekend and had a wonderful time! Hotel was freezing cold though. Marquee, no happy medium temperature half room was cold and my guests had to have blankets over their legs and the other half was stripping Down!. Room prices however did not match overall quality. Overall I had a cracking time under the circumstances. Food was amazing! Chef was polite. Martha the manager was very accommodating and helpful. Steve the wedding co-ordinater deserves a 10/10 he was absolutely amazing! Breakfasts were Devine. Such a shame the room we stayed in the night before wedding was cold though! I was hoping to have a goodnight sleep before my wedding but ended up waking at midnight too cold to sleep. However it did warm up by mid morning when we started to get ready.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kpmold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews