We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful nature reserve” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensthorpe Natural Park

Pensthorpe Natural Park
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Fakenham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Voted Norfolk's Best Large Attraction 2014 & 2015, Pensthorpe Natural Park is a great day out for the whole family! Explore one of the largest Wildflower Meadows in Norfolk, enjoy the beauty of 4 stunning gardens, meet some of our rare and native species and run wild in WildRootz outdoor adventure play! Whatever the weather, kids can come in for an epic indoor adventure in Hootz House indoor adventure play.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful nature reserve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

So much to see, a haven for bird and nature lovers, even though it rained while we were there it was a pleasure to walk around.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bundilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    121
    34
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Chicks and Ducklings galore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Seems June is a great time of year to visit. Lots of pairs producing lots of little ones! Very well laid outside with great access for a pushchair. Lovely gardens to wander around in and lots to see a real day out in one place. The play park is worth a visit too for Adults.... And children ;)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WanderingKirklands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing place to visit, nature at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a lovely day here, the weather was dry but chilly.

We spent about 3 hours walking a couple of tracks but could have spent longer there to explore fully so we will be going back for sure. We spent time pond dipping, exploring the new children's play area with tall slides, climbing nets and underground tunnels!

There are also quiet bird hides along the tracks to sit and peacefully observe nature.

The children loved spotting various birds, animals and chasing butterflies!
Reasonable prices, nice cafe area and friendly informative staff. We wanted to do the Safari tour but our little was worn out and towards the end of visit so we came home. That sounds very good though and again we will do this on our return visit.

Highly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tr1p2Advi5or3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensthorpe W, Manager at Pensthorpe Natural Park, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
What a super review! Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about your visit. The Wensum Discovery Tour is great fun and weaves you through remote parts of the Estate normally inaccessible by foot so is well worth doing. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely two hours !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Ok, the weather was wonderful so that helps !!
Lovely cafe area, and the main observation room was amazing.
So often you get lots of pictures of birds you supposedly can see, and there are none !! However , here it was the opposite... birds galore !! Why ?? because at 4.30 they get fed.
Lovely walks around the reserve..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PBSport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensthorpe W, Manager at Pensthorpe Natural Park, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks for your fantastic feedback, it's much appreciated. The 4pm daily feed is amazing to watch and very informative. If you didn't try it this time, grab a bag of bird feed and have a go at feeding the birds yourself - they recognise the bags and will often come up to eat out of your hands! Thanks again for taking the time to tell us about your day. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have visited here at very different times of the year. There is always much to see & do which ever month we have been. There are several walk in aviaries. A glassed in observation lounge, that overlooks ponds & is a great spot to watch the birds & stay warm in the winter. Many walks through the grounds, with overlooks over ponds. Gardens to enjoy & longer walks through meadows & woods if you feel like a little more exercise. They also have an area dedicated to Red Squirrels, which they have had good success breeding. You can also book a guided tour that takes you out into parts of the preserve you cannot access any other way. It seems there's something new to see every time we visit. Only downside is the onsite restaurant is not as good as it used to be, prices up, food quality down.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank amharlequin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensthorpe W, Manager at Pensthorpe Natural Park, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about your day. The Viewing Gallery is a perfect spot to finish your day - particularly in the winter months when you can watch our 3pm commentated winter feeds in the warm! Our Red Squirrels have been an amazing success. Tortoiseshell our 'supermum' has had over 48 Kittens and we're looking forward to seeing her summer litter emerge from their Drey in the next few weeks!

We pride ourselves on good food made from locally sourced ingredients so I'm extremely sorry to hear that your visit to the restaurant didn't live up to your expectations. We are experimenting with our menus at the moment but I will certainly pass your comments on to the restaurant team.

Thanks again for your brilliant review.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pensthorpe Natural Park also viewed

Fakenham, Norfolk
 

Been to Pensthorpe Natural Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing