We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper pub”
Review of The Chequers Inn

The Chequers Inn
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Fakenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$20
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Peterborough
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Proper pub”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We are regular visitors to The Chequers in Binham. This is definitely not a foodie destination pub but if you are staying in the area it's definitely worth a visit for a little taste of the real Norfolk. The food is good with the sticky toffee pudding being a personal favourite. They brew their own beer with a selection of English beers together with a Belgian style one and I can recommend them all. It gets quite busy early on but is quieter later when it's mainly a handful of locals enjoying a traditional Norfolk pub. If you are staying in the village or nearby then you must visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    58
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good service, good beer, food distinctly average.”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The bar service was very good. As for food, the standard bar meals were okay. I'm afraid that the 'specials' did not live up to their promise. To sum up, it's a great traditional pub with an excellent selection of beer but don't expect anything greater than standard pub fare when it comes to eating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I thought it'd be impossible to [--] up a steak, especially at a traditional english pub. I was wrong. Our dinner was horrid, we left away joking that an old shoe probably would taste better than our steaks. Meat was bland, too much lukewarm fatty gristly bits, the onion rings tasted similar--bland and greasy. But the red wine was good, at least. Don't eat here.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_Notebook_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly village pub”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We have eaten in the Chequers a couple of times in the past few weeks having recently been fortunate enough to move to the Village. The service is sound and the food for a Village Pub is good - it is not pretentious " fine dining" , its "pub grub" in a proper PUB! Whilst not a beer expert , those tried have been very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gilly118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield UK
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Fallen so far.”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We have visited this restaurant/pub several times but not for about 2 years. Previously we have enjoyed very good food at reasonable prices and excellent beers, particularly the ones brewed by the Belgian landlord. This time, however, we were very unimpressed. The food was poor/dreadful and overpriced for the ( lack of ) quality. The "Kleftico" special was disgraceful. A chewy, tasteless lamb chop with a few veg is NOT a Kleftico and most certainly not worth £12.95. The steak & ale pie was quite underwhelming too. I didn`t recognise any of the staff so maybe it has changed hands since our previous visit. Whatever, we will not be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chequers Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing