We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved but room for more”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wensum Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wensum Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fakenham
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Improved but room for more”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I live locally to this hotel and have watched it change owners. The room we had was really nice and recently obviously updated. I personally did not like all the laminated signs in the bathroom but I assume they are there because of previous guests. We ordered room service and the chips were bowls of soggy soft chips - not great! My biggest criticism is that we were woken at 7.30am by the neighbours whose TV you can hear clearly and everytime anyone else's door slammed our room door banged twice making it sound like someone was knocking on the door. I stayed awake from 7.30am and struggled to get back to sleep although the bed was very comfortable. I did not think breakfast was great all the food was obviously pre cooked and some of it tasted disgusting as someone who relishes a full English at a hotel I left half a sausage the bacon mushrooms tomato and half the hash brown as it was soggy and fell apart into a mush. All in all the staff were friendly and attentive and I really liked the restaurant decor another improvement. I would suggest a new chef and a bit of self promotion as the only hotel in town it should be a gold mine!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFab100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    44
    49
    29
    17
See reviews for
25
72
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Poor reception area, limited staff who do their best. Room ok, clean and tidy but noisy pipes, extra rails needed for hanging wet towels, toilet seat needs to be securely placed. Slamming doors. Shelf needed in shower for toiletries. Awful soap dispensers. UHT milk disgusting. Gluten free options non-existent. Coffee at breakfast strong, stewed and cold. If you could have a full English breakfast, which my husband did, it was first class. Lacks atmosphere, bit sad and dull.

Room Tip: Maybe mention if you're over 60 and don't want to be on the top floor because there is no li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Organised sandwiches and chips for 30 long distance cyclists. The owners were friendly, helpful and efficient and put on a great spread for us all. Really nice fillings and top chips!

If any other cycling groups are doing the Norfolk Cycle Route 1 this hotel is bang on the route and I can strongly recommend them for a lunch stop.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freya136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Very hungry, we drove into Fakenham and stopped at the first place that looked good from the outside - first mistake. We walked into the restaurant attached to the Wensum Lodge. When we walked in - there were two warning signs that we had made a mistake: the place was virtualy empty and the decor was 20 years+ out of date (looked cheap). Second mistake - we didn't turn round and walk out. The food was overpriced and very average. We were the only customers and they still couldn't get the steaks as we wanted (rare will get you well done, Lord knows what you would get if you asked for your steak well done). Sad veg with an awful peppercorn sauce. The red wine sauce was even worse! Clearly the local gastronomic lovers stay away and so should you. Don't the owners of the Wensum Lodge ever look at the empty restaurant and bar and ask: what are we doing wrong? Certainly not tempted to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chipfat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Small comfy, clean room. A group of visitors up until1.30am was a slight disturbance, then woken at 6am by alarms BUT no evacuation. External door not secure as latch jammed open with a leaflet. Sign in shower 'Very hot water' though was only just warm. Lovely cooked breakfast, friendly efficient staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed for 1 night after going to the Thursford Christmas show.
We found the hotel clean but cheaply furnished and decorated.
It is in no way a 3star hotel and is overpriced at £90/night.
The breakfast was good-freshly cooked.
The staff we saw we polite and helpful.
We shared the room with large ladybirds and heard the man upstairs snoring for much of the night.
We would not return

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The hotel itself is okay. The room was of an average standard and was serviced regularly. One issue I did have was the walls between the rooms are very thin. As I'm a light sleeper this was a problem when the couple in the next room had conversations till 4 in the morning.
I found the food to be of varying standard. I had an excellent meal here, but I had one particularly poor meal here as well.
However, the biggest asset of this hotel is the professional and friendly attitude of all the staff that I encountered here, making my stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fakenham
4.6 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sculthorpe Mill Hotel
Sculthorpe Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fakenham
115 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
828 reviews
20.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
681 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wensum Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wensum Lodge Hotel

Property: Wensum Lodge Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Fakenham NR21 9AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Fakenham
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fakenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wensum Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wensum Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wensum Hotel Fakenham
Wensum Lodge Hotel Fakenham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing