We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Cold Day but a Warm Welcome”
other travellers have booked this property
Cosy Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy Holiday Cottage
The Gig House Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Cosy Holiday Cottage
The Gig House Cottage
Gig House Cottage living room
Gig House Cottage living room
Gig House Cottage living room
Gig House Cottage kitchen
Gig House Cottage stairs
Gig House Cottage living room
Gig House Cottage bedroom
Gig House Cottage bedroom
Gig House Cottage bedroom
Gig House Cottage bathroom
Gig House Cottage bathroom
The Gig House on a winters evening
Full? Try Albion Cottage next door: https://www.holidaylettings.co.uk/rentals/happisburgh/2590782
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Happisburgh, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Zan190775
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Cold Day but a Warm Welcome”
Reviewed 2 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We managed to time our short break in Happisburgh with the arrival of the 'Beast from the East'. All was well, we had a warm welcome from Liz and the jug of daffodils on the table in the large window reminded us that Spring really was on the way.
Having previously spent a holiday in Albion cottage, we knew that the Gig House would have all amenities and be spotlessly clean. We were snowed in for one day but there was everything we needed in the cottage and the underfloor heating and the wood burner kept us warm. Liz had thought of everything and the wellies and umbrella came in very handy! We were able to walk to the little shop/post office in the village, which also seemed to provide everything - and the prices were so reasonable. We were also thankful for the fact that the Hill House Inn was only 3 or 4 minutes walk away and we enjoyed two excellent evening meals there by their roaring fire.
Liz and Robert were very helpful on the day we had to travel home and, as they didn't have any bookings for two days, told us we could stay on as long as we liked. But as the weather didn't look like getting any better, we decided to try for home and thankfully, got there safely.
This three-day escape turned into quite an adventure but if you have to get snowed in, the Gig House isn't a bad place to be!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john h
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cosy flint cottage”
Reviewed 7 November 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A beautiful place in the grounds of the owners home. A lovely cream tea was left for us on arrival which was delicious and welcoming. Liz, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. The cottage is well kept and clean. Would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone. It's a short walk to the beautiful sandy beaches which stretch for miles in both directions. Great walks from the cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffsHug...
staffs
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Beautiful quaint cottage, so pretty, so well equiped owners lovey and welcoming, we had homemade scones jam and cream waiting on our arrival, milk in the fridge, we are here now so much to see around the area definetley worth a visit

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happychic...
Rutland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Pretty cottage in ideal location”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed for 4 nights in July and ideal base location for cycling around Norfolk. Cottage quaint and had everything we needed and scones on arrival were lovely, thanks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauradoug...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FAB”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Such a lovely stay. So welcoming, the cottage is absolutely beautiful. Really well equipped- had everything we needed and more. Gorgeous setting.. only a 5 min stroll to the beach but feels like we were in the middle of the countryside. Quiet and quaint. Thank you so much for a lovely weekend - wish it was longer! Would definitely come back and HIGHLY recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“What a lovely place”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a great time here at May Bank Holiday earlier this year, what a lovely place, had everything you would need and a parking space. So close to everything, the local pub serves a great Sunday lunch and some very palatable wines - we would heartily recommend this place and will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem ................”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Tucked away done a small lane in the midst of the beautiful Norfolk countryside is where you'll find The Gig House. A very warm welcome awaited us, with homemade scones, clotted cream and jam. The house was just perfect for our weekend break. It had everything we needed. The beach is a 5 minute stroll away and we enjoyed lovely walks along the cliff top and beach with our two dogs. The owner was very friendly as was everyone else we met on our break. We would definitely love to go back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
We do try and have everything in The Gig House you might need and are always happy to receive suggestions as to what we could add.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing