We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise in a Norfolk garden”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cosy Retreat Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cosy Retreat Cabin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The Cosy Retreat Cabin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holt, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve_Vin...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Paradise in a Norfolk garden”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I discovered the Cosy Cabin a couple of years ago when in urgent need of a short break. When they e-mailed to say that they could take me, I had a closer look at their website and said to my wife, "I think I've found something rather special." And indeed I had! You get your own space, privacy, comfort, all the necessary facilities, a breakfast that is quality (and quantity!) every morning, wonderfully peaceful and in beautiful surroundings. It was paradisal.
My wife and I had a brilliant holiday last year in the large cabin, and I've been back to the small cabin this year. And it won't be the last time if I have any say in the matter.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Thanks Steve. We enjoy having you to stay with us.
Jacqui and Matthew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salsahear...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cute cosy cabin perfect for a weekend away”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location is perfect if you are going to a wedding/event at Voewood House, less than a 10 minute walk if you take the shortcut. The cabin is very cute and cosy and the setting in the garden overlooking the fields is very peaceful and quiet. The full English breakfast was delicious and the hosts Matthew and Jaqui were very welcoming.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely Little Cabin”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely little B&B on the outskirts of High Kelling & Holt. Although we didn't have the breakfast (we had this with family down the road), the rest of our stay was just great and the owners made us feel very welcome too. The cabin has all the facilities you need and has been decorated to a lovely standard. Fantastic​ location to stay if you want to visit all around North Norfolk!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Many thanks for your review. We were so pleased that you enjoyed our cosy cabin. It was really nice to meet you both and your family too.
Jacqui and Matthew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C
1 review
“Just the place for a relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My husband and myself had to be in Norfolk for a party and hunted for a good place to stay for a few days. Luckily we came across The Retreat. Perfectly placed near Holt which is near the delightful Norfolk coast of Blakeney, Cley etc. Charming room and facilities, very comfy bed and lovely views either into their well kept garden or into the fields at the side and back. Breakfasts were excellent too! We were able to roam around that area of North Norfolk easily without being that far away from base - it is a great area with plenty to do if you like the outdoors life especially if you have someone as comfortable as The Retreat to come back to. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thank you for review. We are both so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Lovely to meet you both.
Jacqui and Matthew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey579
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you could want, in a cabin!”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Luxury Retreat cabin in September for a short break, experiencing some fantastic early autumn weather, which meant we could eat our breakfast outdoors on the first morning, overlooking the stubble field, in complete privacy, without even having to get dressed! This is a wonderful set up, with lovely breakfasts delivered to your perfectly appointed cabin, bang on your requested time (no 30 minute window for breakfasts in this B&B!). Jacqueline and Matthew are the perfect hosts, friendly, chatty and helpful. Fresh milk in the fridge, flowers in the vase, wine glasses and corkscrew on the side. They let us park our bikes under cover in the garden, and obliged with plates and cutlery on those evenings when we just brought picnic food back to the cabin in the evenings, as we wanted to make the most of the peace and quiet. We coincided with a gala weekend on the North Norfolk railway, and to hear the chugging of the trains just across the field opposite just added to the whole experience. We had such a lovely few days and will definitely be back. I've been slow writing up this review, not only through tardiness on my part, but also because I selfishly don't want the whole world to know about this place, although at the same time I want Jacqui and Matthew to reap every success from the wonderful set up they have created in their lovely garden!! Holt is charming with some nice places to eat, there are lovey quiet lanes to cycle with hares and owls and all sorts of wildlife to admire, with Cley and Blakeney nearby. A perfect bolt hole for a peaceful get away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: Everything. Especially fresh milk in the fridge and plenty of tea bags.
Liked least: Daddy long legs. But that's not anybody's fault!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Hello both, thank you for your lovely words. We genuinely are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to meet you both.
If you come again, please bring the beautiful weather.
Jacqui and matthew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

So glad to have found this bed & breakfast cabin. It suited us down to the ground. Our own private space with breakfast delivered to our door. Jacqui and Matthew were brilliant hosts and made us feel comfortable and relaxed from the moment we arrived. Breakfast was brilliant and very tasty and satisfying. Lots of little touches to make our stay comfortable. Fresh milk in the little fridge, fresh flowers, and lights put on in the cabin for our return in the evening. Lots of different places to sit around the garden and watch the birds or just relax. Thank you for a lovely few days. We hope to return soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Hi Jane, thank you for your review. We are both so glad that you felt relaxed and enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you both again.
Jacqui and matthew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing retreat”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived and Jaqui uttered the words 'you can relax now' to the moment we left and said goodbye it felt as if we had stepped of the merry go round of work work work. The cabin did what it said - it was cosy quirky and it was.... a retreat. With a host of out door seating to choose from literally outside the front door, in what was made to feel like our own garden we spent the evening outside with a bottle of wine watching the sun set across the fields accompanied by a back drop of gentle chimes and small birds feeding from the many feeders dotted around the large garden. Within an hour of arriving we felt as if We been there for hours and soon forget about the day to day stresses we were there to have a break from. We will be returning. If you want peace and calm then this is the perfect place to book. Jacqui is warm, friendly and wants to make you feel at home. She clearly enjoys seeing guests unwinding and being a part of that process! Little touches like fresh flowers around the cabin and coming home from an evening out to the table lights being turned on for us before we arrived back was very special. Breakfast outside is highly recommended if it is warm enough. A meal at Byfords in Holt (pasties to die for try the steak and Stilton) a trip on the steam train and an evening meal at The Dun Cow and a wLk on Holkham beach. Wonderful Thankyou for a lovely break

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
So happy that you both had a lovely break. You were very fun guests!! Hope to see you again soon.
Jacqui and matthew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing