We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of The White Cottage

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Cottage
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Holt
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The cottage is ideally situated for exploring the local area and is only a 5 minute walk into Holt town centre. The cottage is warm and spotlessly clean with David and Theresa being excellent hosts.

We stayed in the double room which had a super king size bed with top quality bed linen, tea and coffee making facilities provided and even a bit of home made cake. The en suite was a good size and again was very clean.

Breakfast is all freshly made and the hosts will accommodate whatever you would like. With the delicious range of home made bread and jams on offer as well as the full English, you will not need to eat for the remainder of the day!

Would thoroughly recommend and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissKaren3139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southend
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The cottage is cosy and snug and spotlessly clean. Our bedroom was a good size and comfortable. A very roomy en suite bathroom had both bath and shower. We were glad to find a warm and pleasant room on a cold and rainy night. (It just needed a light over the mirror for make-up etc but you can use the mirror in the bathroom)

The cottage is 200 years old but there is no smell of damp, no howling draughts, no creaky floorboards! It has been very well done up and attractively decorated. We had a very good night's sleep in comfortable beds and a lovely breakfast which included home-made bread and marmalade.

We have never had such a genuinely warm and friendly welcome. David and Theresa obviously really like people. You are welcomed into their home, not kept separate from your hosts as many prefer to do. After only one night we liked them so much we can understand why guests keep returning.

Perfectly located if you are going to the wonderful Thursford Christmas Spectacular, only 20 minutes drive away. 8 minutes walk will take you into Holt town centre and to the Feathers which we highly recommend. We had an excellent evening meal and the atmosphere is comfortable and friendly.

A well-deserved 4 * for the White Cottage but a word of caution. Not ideal for you if you are unsteady on your feet as the stairs are narrow and windy and also after parking in the laybye opposite you need to move smartly to cross the busy road. Traffic comes at some speed around the corner some 50 yards away.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joiedevivreSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I had a lovely stay with my sister and cousin for a weekend away to get out of the city. Theresa and David could not have been more welcoming or accommodating hosts. The rooms were really clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEG186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Only a very quick visit, but made very welcome.
Rooms are very tidy, bathroom adequate and exvellent service

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potatoed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

The White Cottage is a charming house with a friendly atmosphere. David and Theresa have the knack of helping their guests feel completely at home, but enabling them to be quite independent. They are genuinely interested in their guests, offering advice and suggestions when asked, but respecting their privacy.
We stayed in the double room which has a super kingsized bed with attractive bedding; it is furnished in a bright and airy way using a mixture of old and new touches. There were magazines, leaflets of the local area and a good hospitality tray which included homemade cake.
We ate at a very good Indian restaurant in Holt and also at the Kings Head where the staff were very friendly and attentive.
We had a super stay!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valbeasixties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

An absolutely superb B&B no more than a 5-10 minute walk from the Georgian market town of Holt. Value for money amazing considering the prices in other local establishments of a lower quality.

David and Theresa are fantastic hosts offering local information, parking, maps, pubs and restaurants.

Breakfast very good with home made bread, jams, marmalades etc and also home made cake in your room along with tea and coffee making facilities.

We stayed in the double room with a super king-size bed which has good quality sheets and duvet and excellent pillows.

En-suite was spacious and clean and cannot fault our stay one bit. You are also given a key to the door so can come and go as you please.

Local highlights are many. For foodies out there make the 30 minute drive to Brancaster Staithe and eat at the White Horse, more local is Cookies Crab shack in Salthouse which serves surprisingly local crab,lobster, shrimp and smoked fish. Platters are no more expensive than £10 including lobster so great value and you can take your own wine.

  • Liked — Location,hosts, facilities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adsnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the White Cottage in Holt, Norfolk, and enjoyed every minute of it. It is a 200 year old cottage with a huge amount of character - low beams, narrow, twisting staircase etc. Our hosts, David and Theresa are originally from Derbyshire but are now experts on this part of Norfolk and are happy to share their knowledge, but only if you want to hear it. We were warmly welcomed with refreshments and home made cake, and the home cooking extends to breakfasr with home made bread, jam etc to accompany the hearty breakfast - a full "full English" would keep you going till teatime!

There are 2 rooms, a double and a twin, both en suite and both named after birds, the main passion of David and Theresa. Our twin room was spacious and well decorated with the usual amenities. The only slight downside was the traffic noise from the road outside, though the traffic was not very heavy.

Our hosts seemed genuinely interested in our plans for each day, offering useful advice on parking etc, and wanted to know how we had got on each evening.

The cottage is an 8 minute walk into Holt centre, all on footpaths.
Holt is a delightful Georgian town with many interesting independant shops,several pub/hotels that serve food, plus a very good restaurant (Butlers - booking recommended) and an excellent Indian restaurant.

The main seaside resorts of Cromer and Sheringham are within 20 minutes and there are many interesting coastal villages even closer.

We could not have asked for a nicer place to stay at an excellent price too.

  • Liked — Very freindly owners, great breakfasts, spacious room, location
  • Disliked — Traffic noise when in bed
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brit_abroad_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holt
3.1 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
217 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
390 reviews
3.5 mi away
Maltings Hotel
Maltings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weybourne
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Cottage

Property: The White Cottage
Address: White Cottage Norwich Road, Holt NR25 6SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Holt
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The White Cottage Holt, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing