We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded yet Central”
other travellers have booked this property
Secluded Traditional Brick + Flint North Norfolk Cottage, Pretty Courtyard Gdn, Wi-Fi, Parking,Piano
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded Traditional Brick + Flint North Norfolk Cottage, Pretty Courtyard Gdn, Wi-Fi, Parking,Piano
Bright Sitting Room with Piano looking out over Private Courtyard Garden Lovely bright bedrooom: Oak Bed, Harrison Handmade Mattress, Wool Carpet, Bedside Digital Radio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
120 reviews
Secluded Traditional Brick + Flint North Norfolk Cottage, Pretty Courtyard Gdn, Wi-Fi, Parking,Piano
Bright Sitting Room with Piano looking out over Private Courtyard Garden
Lovely bright bedrooom: Oak Bed, Harrison Handmade Mattress, Wool Carpet, Bedside Digital Radio
Pretty Courtyard Garden in flower!  Butterflies Galore and Birdsong.
Landing with Colefax and Fowler Beautiful Lined Curtains and Wool Carpets.
Open Plan Sitting Room & Kitchen Exposed Oak Beams and Worktops
Sitting Room showing Oak Floor and Beams with wide easy access staircase
Large Walk in Shower Upstairs Next to the Bedroom
Bathroom which is Next to Bedroom Upstairs
Kitchen - Handmade Oak worktops, Neff Cooker, Wine Cooler
8 Carpenters Cottages Outside Secluded Courtyard and Hidden Gate Entrance
8 Carpenters Cottages, Garden
Daffs in the Front Window! Secluded, Quiet and Pretty Courtyard - great to sit out on the oak b
Landing leading off the Double Bedroom and to Large Walk in Shower
Wide Easy Staircase
Holt Methodist Church and Memorial
Holt Poppy Line Steam Train Station (15 min walk from Cottage).  Go to Sheringham by Steam Train!
Appleyard - great kitchen shop, silk dress shop and coffee shops!
Traditional Carpenters Cottages Sign
Holt White Christmas Lights all over town from end November to early January each year!
Nearby Blakeney Looking out over the Quay.  Visit the Seal Colony August, September, October
Cley Next the Sea  Windmill
Cromer Sea View on Coastal Path
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Holt, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 120 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ken4bes
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Secluded yet Central”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Carpenters Cottages is a peaceful oasis in the middle of quite a bustling little town. You can sit in its secluded private courtyard, away from the hurly-burly of the town, and still be within a minute's walk of the local supermarket. The cottage itself is a characterful old building, fully equipped with everything you are likely to need for a comfortable stay - including wi-fi.
An added bonus for me was the piano (with a small library of sheet music), so I was able to brush up my Chopin! Holt is a nice little market town, with plenty of visitor attractions in the vicinity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Ken, Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at no. 8 Carpenters Cottages and especially the piano! I look forward to hearing from you when you need another week of relaxation in this 'peaceful oasis' called 8 Carpenters Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyfrank...
Elsenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ideal cottage for touring North Norfolk”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Perfectly situated in the heart of Holt but incredibly secluded if that makes sense! Everything you would need for a stay is included in the cottage and the linen and towels were 1st class. Perhaps the only moan would be a larger TV is needed but that's being petty really, as we spent most of the day touring the coast and on long walks. All shops, pubs and restaurants are within a very short walk and all seemed to be of a very high quality. Worth a visit is Holkham Hall and the beach walks there are superb, also a throw back in time is Wells-next-the-Sea, never seems to have aged.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ease of booking
Liked least: All good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am pleased you loved the location, were comfy and had all you needed for your stay in the cottage. I have made a note of your comment about having a larger TV and will be looking at doing this shortly. Visiting Holkham Hall and Wells-next-to-the-Sea are very much a favourite with my guests. I do hope that you can stay again at 8 Carpenters Cottages. Have a lovely Summer. Kind regards Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janis_and...
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful relaxing break”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A lovely, quaint cottage in quiet surroundings but only a couple of minutes walk from the shops. The two-up, one-down cottage was clean, warm, well-equipped and perfect for a romantic break. We enjoyed pottering around Holt and also found time to take the steam train to Sheringham and to visit Wells and Burnham.
We can't wait to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: Difficult to wheel a suitcase over the cobbles
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Janis and Rob, Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am so pleased you loved your time in the cottage and Holt. I do hope that you can stay again at 8 Carpenters Cottages very soon. Kind regards Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bea T
Muenster, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute lovely cottage!”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

When we arrived late in the evening the cottage was warm and the lights turned on so that we felt welcome the minute we stepped in. Everything was spotlessly clean and the decoration and furniture very tastefully choosen. The cottage is very well equipped on a high standard, we really felt like at home. The location is great, right in the middle of Holt with a Budgen's store at the back of the house. The internet was easy to access and reliable.
We had to do some laundry as we travelled furhter on and what we missed was a winged airer. Unfortunately the BBC channels sometimes broke down. Nevertheless: We can highly recommend this place or anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cosyness
Liked least: drying the laundry
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Bea, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I appreciate your comments which are noted. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and you found the cottage 'like home' and especially warm when you arrived late at night. I look forward to hearing from you when you next want to stay in Holt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Actuelle
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect getaway to unwind, relax and enjoy beautiful Norfolk.”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Great location. Quaint cottage and despite being in the middle of the town is very quiet. A great place to start to discover Norfolk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The peacefulness.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed staying at the cottage and managed to relax and unwind. I do hope that you can stay again at 8 Carpenters Cottages soon. Kind regards, Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stay in lovely cottage”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We decided to take a few days break away from the normal routine. The cottage was excellent. It far surpassed our expectations, it had everything you could every want from a holiday cottage. Holt town is a beautiful town and it was nice to spend a few days there. The surrounding area is beautiful and we had some lovely walks around the area. All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this cottage in Holt for a base for North Norfolk exploring. I will return again for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A nice peaseful retreat.
Liked least: All good!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Karl, Thank you very much for your lovely review of the cottage. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and loved the cottage and the surrounding areas. I hope that you can return to 8 Carpenters Cottages to relax for a longer time to enjoy more of North Norfolk. Kind regards
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arobfam
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“cosy characterful and classy”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Only had 3 nights here but wanted far more ! Near the centre of a beatiful town but completely isolated and peaceful. The cottage is all you could hope for-spotless,well-equipped and tasteful......you may have gathered hat you should book now!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: situation
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Thank you so much so this wonderful review!!! The cottage is all of the above. I do hope that you can stay a little longer next time. Kind regards, Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing