We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly wonderful!”
Review of White Horse Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Horse Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This was our first visit to White Horse Farm and it certainly won't be our last. Walnut Barn is a spectacularly comfortable and luxurious place to relax in - beautifully and thoughtfully equipped from beams to bedroom. John and Louisa are welcoming yet discreet hosts who make every effort to make your stay the best possible. No need to repeat what other reviewers have said to describe all the lovely finishing touches - just to say that they were very much appreciated and added to the general ambience of tranquility and comfort. A delight.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ComoKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for White Horse Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed for a week in Walnut Barn and did not want to come home. The accommodation feels luxurious yet relaxed and John and Louisa are incredibly welcoming hosts. Louisa is a fab cook and the dine in service is a must. In addition the area is stunning, close to the best north norfolk has to offer, and a food lovers paradise. We will definitely be returning!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Abigob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We have just returned from spending 4 days here for our wedding anniversary and it was perfect! Have never been to Norfolk before and we will definitely be returning. The website is so true to life (which is refreshing!) so there isn't a lot more to elaborate, but here's some of the super special things.

- John and Louisa were so friendly and accommodating, popping in to check we were happy and always cheery and on hand for queries - good luck with this venture.
- The cake on arrival is simply divine - (we had lemon drizzle!) and it is that combined with freshly baked bread, wine, jams, milk etc that make you realise that John and Louisa want you to have a relaxing amazing holiday and will go the extra mile
- The gardens are beautiful and so relaxing
- Barns are well equipped with quality crockery / cooking utensils which is so often not the case with self catering - also a great selection of magazines, dvds, music so when it rains there is plenty to occupy you!
- Feels like you are staying in a luxury hotel (great bedding, toiletries etc) but with the ease of being self catering
- Well located and loads of info on places to visit - as well as personal recommendations

All in all - just wow! We will definitely be returning, and this time for longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cowslip barn - nice little gated garden and if you have a dog then it even has a little...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rgardiner2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I had the privilege of staying a week at this stunning property. It comprises of 4 4 luxury Barns and a smaller building used as a 1 bedroomed B & B. the grounds are stunning and the location is very tranquil and peaceful.
Our Barn was beautiful with a traditional log fire, integrated bedroom upstairs and spacious bathroom with power shower. There are some lovely personal touches from the hosts John & Louisa in the form of home baked bread, croissants and cakes for your arrival.

There are lots of outside areas within the ground to enjoy the sunshine if its shining. White Horse Farm is located in a quaint village between Fakenham & Holt and makes an ideal base to explore the North Norfolk Coast with easy access to Blakeney, Moreston & Wells by the Sea.
There are several delightful country pubs and restaurants nearby also. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and cannot speak highly enough of this accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorto01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We have always liked north Norfolk, and decided to stay this time in the central north area for a short break. We are so glad that we chose Louisa and John's hideaway.
We stayed in the bed-and-breakfast facility - 'Sweet Pea' is a lovely room with charming features, both original and those added by Louisa, and with space to breathe.
Gunthorpe itself is a charming village, and it is very handy for Holt, Wells, Blakeney and Norwich.

Well done!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed in the Sweet Pea B&B room over the easter weekend. We had a lovely chilled weekend with lots of little luxuries and felt thoroughly spoilt. Breakfast was great and morning papers to our door were a really nice touch. Meant I didn't have to get out of my PJs on easter sunday until after reading the paper and having my breakfast! Can't reccommend highly enough. Room is spacious and snug. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitty_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Thank you John and Louisa for a wonderful week in your beautiful barn. Primrose barn had everything we needed and more. Woodburner for the cold evenings and candles and wine and homemade goodies, what more could you ask for. Very comfortable bed and lovely linen and most importantly an excellent shower. Also a nice big mirror with a power outlet nearby for hairdryer - something most places do not seem to think of. Lots of lovely places to visit nearby and fantastic pubs and restaurants close by also.
The barn complex is so well done and thank you again for be such warm and friendly hosts. I highly recommend a stay at White Horse Farm.

Room Tip: Primrose Barn is perfect but having seen inside Walnut and also Sweetpea, I cannot imagine you could...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillypops55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holt
7.0 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
628 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,339 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
836 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
The George Hotel Cley
The George Hotel Cley
#3 of 6 in Cley Next the Sea
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Farm

Address: White Horse Farm Sharrington Road, Holt NR24 2PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Holt
Price Range: £102 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Horse Farm 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your White Horse Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Farm Holt, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing