We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barn

The Barn
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Holt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$25
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: When exploring Holt we hope you discover The Barn. Nestled amongst delightful individually owned shops in Appleyard, which is just off Budgen's car park, rests this European bistro style cafe. Here you can eat breakfast, enjoy a coffee, have a glass of wine with your lunch and indulge in tea and cake. Sunday is brunch time. You can also surf the net, as free wi-fi is provided, and relax with the free newspapers. The friendly service, warm atmosphere and good food is sure to make you want to keep on returning as many people already do.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

When our food eventually arrived it was delicious, but with a busy schedule and the limited car park time, the wait was frustrating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tanni12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your food. We aim to serve the freshly prepared food as soon as possible but we obviously failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. I'm sorry about this. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    40
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Probably the best breakfast in Holt... And outside seating OK for dogs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

A proper personally owned cafe.... Lovely table service - really welcoming. We had the full English on the last day of our trip and we wished we'd found it sooner - surpassed another more famous place in the town. Ingredients were great and it was all cooked fresh. The sausages were particularly fab and we would have gone to the butchers to buy some if we'd had the time... There is a patio seating area which would be OK for a hound - we'd left our chap in the car so we went upstairs inside - really nice and wifi too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GHRed2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your breakfast at The Barn. It is a joy to serve all our customers but in particular people like you who recognise and appreciate quality ingredients. Thank you for taking the time to write a review - I do appreciate it. If you are ever in Holt again we would love to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good value - do go there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have just enjoyed an evening meal at The Barn. It was very quiet....maybe in the wake of Easter? ......but we could not fault our home made burger and local crab dishes. Plates and food were piping hot, the accompanying salads generous. Service was friendly and we did not have to wait too long for our food to arrive. I'm sure the desserts would have been fine, had we had room for them!
For good, affordable and well cooked food the Barn offers excellent value in its Appleyard setting.
We wish them a very busy summer..

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. It was lovely to meet you and we're so glad you enjoyed your meal and your time in North Norfolk. It's a shame you didn't have room for dessert as I'm sure you would have enjoyed them. We'd love to see you again if you are ever in Holt. Have a lovely summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
150 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Called in for lunch on the back of the reviews on this site. We were not disappointed the service was first class and the food was fantastic. This is a great place to eat and drink and I would recommend it

Helpful?
Thank waggers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
So glad you enjoyed your visit to The Barn. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The staff and I really like to know that the customers are enjoying the food and service - so thank you. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Visited The Barn with friends on a Saturday afternoon for cream tea. Enjoyed excellent service and excellent food in a lovely atmosphere. Definitely recommend a visit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your homemade scone with jam and clotted cream. It was a pleasure to serve you and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barn also viewed

 

Been to The Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing