We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but overpriced”
Review of The Barn

The Barn
Ranked #10 of 53 Restaurants in Holt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$27
Cuisines: European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: When exploring Holt we hope you discover The Barn. Nestled amongst delightful individually owned shops in Appleyard, which is just off Budgen's car park, rests this European bistro style cafe. Here you can eat breakfast, enjoy a coffee, have a glass of wine with your lunch and indulge in tea and cake. Sunday is brunch time. You can also surf the net, as free wi-fi is provided, and relax with the free newspapers. The friendly service, warm atmosphere and good food is sure to make you want to keep on returning as many people already do.
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went to this café with 3 generations of my family today for lunch. I had used the café in its previous incarnation often when I was in Holt - so I was looking forward to trying it in its new guise. The choice of food was standard fare - but it was done reasonably well. The quality of the ingredients in the sandwiches was high, but a little let down by the sliced bread used. The soup was good, but the quantity significantly less than it used to be - and significantly more expensive with two slices of 'interesting' bread, instead of a nice roll.

We noticed a couple who left without ordering and as they passed our table we could hear them grumbling about the prices for food. This was a sentiment I shared, and feel that the café, if it is going to survive, should reduce its food prices by 10 -15% in the day. Most of the reviews written seem to be about evening meals and the all day breakfast - not about the sandwiches, soups, and other standard lunch items.

The service was good - and the location lovely -felt a little unsatisfied at the end of the meal and feel that it just needs to raise its game or lower its prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank OrangeLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for visiting The Barn. I am so glad you recognised that we use quality ingredients; bread from the local baker (which he slices for us), meat from the local butcher and fruit and vegetables from the local green grocer. These are of better quality and therefore cost more. Table service costs more than counter service and the location affects the rent and rates payable by a business. These are just some of factors that affect the price of the food served to you. We do not aim to be the cheapest but we do aim to provide all our customers with good food, served cheerfully in a pleasant environment and hope that they enjoy the whole experience. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion but hope to be able to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for The Barn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have reviewed this restaurant before but felt compelled to write again. I have visited The Barn several times now for evening meals, afternoon tea, morning coffee and lunch! Any time of the day it does not fail to disappoint. This is a small, friendly restaurant/bistro/cafe serving delicious, honest food, cooked to order with fresh ingredients. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write another review. It is always a pleasure to serve you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have now been to the Barn 3 times, on every visit the food has been excellent, the atmosphere warm and welcoming and the staff pleasant and accommodating. We are really pleased that we have managed to find this superb little café/bistro and have all ready recommended it to all our family and friends. Not to be missed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I do appreciate you taking the time to write it. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your visits and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

When our food eventually arrived it was delicious, but with a busy schedule and the limited car park time, the wait was frustrating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tanni12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your food. We aim to serve the freshly prepared food as soon as possible but we obviously failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. I'm sorry about this. We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A proper personally owned cafe.... Lovely table service - really welcoming. We had the full English on the last day of our trip and we wished we'd found it sooner - surpassed another more famous place in the town. Ingredients were great and it was all cooked fresh. The sausages were particularly fab and we would have gone to the butchers to buy some if we'd had the time... There is a patio seating area which would be OK for a hound - we'd left our chap in the car so we went upstairs inside - really nice and wifi too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GHRed2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

I'm so glad you enjoyed your breakfast at The Barn. It is a joy to serve all our customers but in particular people like you who recognise and appreciate quality ingredients. Thank you for taking the time to write a review - I do appreciate it. If you are ever in Holt again we would love to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barn also viewed

 

Been to The Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing