We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish Friday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barn

The Barn
Ranked #11 of 52 Restaurants in Holt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$25
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: When exploring Holt we hope you discover The Barn. Nestled amongst delightful individually owned shops in Appleyard, which is just off Budgen's car park, rests this European bistro style cafe. Here you can eat breakfast, enjoy a coffee, have a glass of wine with your lunch and indulge in tea and cake. Sunday is brunch time. You can also surf the net, as free wi-fi is provided, and relax with the free newspapers. The friendly service, warm atmosphere and good food is sure to make you want to keep on returning as many people already do.
Brussels
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fish Friday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Having discovered the Barn during our annual holiday in Holt last year, we were very pleased to find that one of the regular 'Fish Fridays' once again coincided with our visit this year. The food was delicious, service excellent and we thought the prices very fair for the all round quality on offer.

I agree with the other posters about the delightful setting, and we all very much enjoyed our breakfasts in the sunshine. We are already looking forward to our visit next year.

A special mention for the staff's kind patience with my parents, both of whom are deaf.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clockpelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time at The Barn and your holiday in Norfolk. You were all a delight to serve and we look forward to seeing you all again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    40
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went to this café with 3 generations of my family today for lunch. I had used the café in its previous incarnation often when I was in Holt - so I was looking forward to trying it in its new guise. The choice of food was standard fare - but it was done reasonably well. The quality of the ingredients in the sandwiches was high, but a little let down by the sliced bread used. The soup was good, but the quantity significantly less than it used to be - and significantly more expensive with two slices of 'interesting' bread, instead of a nice roll.

We noticed a couple who left without ordering and as they passed our table we could hear them grumbling about the prices for food. This was a sentiment I shared, and feel that the café, if it is going to survive, should reduce its food prices by 10 -15% in the day. Most of the reviews written seem to be about evening meals and the all day breakfast - not about the sandwiches, soups, and other standard lunch items.

The service was good - and the location lovely -felt a little unsatisfied at the end of the meal and feel that it just needs to raise its game or lower its prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OrangeLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for visiting The Barn. I am so glad you recognised that we use quality ingredients; bread from the local baker (which he slices for us), meat from the local butcher and fruit and vegetables from the local green grocer. These are of better quality and therefore cost more. Table service costs more than counter service and the location affects the rent and rates payable by a business. These are just some of factors that affect the price of the food served to you. We do not aim to be the cheapest but we do aim to provide all our customers with good food, served cheerfully in a pleasant environment and hope that they enjoy the whole experience. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion but hope to be able to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have reviewed this restaurant before but felt compelled to write again. I have visited The Barn several times now for evening meals, afternoon tea, morning coffee and lunch! Any time of the day it does not fail to disappoint. This is a small, friendly restaurant/bistro/cafe serving delicious, honest food, cooked to order with fresh ingredients. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write another review. It is always a pleasure to serve you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A superb little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have now been to the Barn 3 times, on every visit the food has been excellent, the atmosphere warm and welcoming and the staff pleasant and accommodating. We are really pleased that we have managed to find this superb little café/bistro and have all ready recommended it to all our family and friends. Not to be missed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I do appreciate you taking the time to write it. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your visits and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

When our food eventually arrived it was delicious, but with a busy schedule and the limited car park time, the wait was frustrating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tanni12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenthebarn, Owner at The Barn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your food. We aim to serve the freshly prepared food as soon as possible but we obviously failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. I'm sorry about this. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barn also viewed

 

Been to The Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing