We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one word required ! Superb!!”
Review of The Lawns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lawns Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Holt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I went to one of our favourite places with my grandchildren because we had heard Chris had sold it and hoped it was still the same (The kings Head in letheringset ) but no one drink and we left after trying to order food from a very rude bar person, hence having heard how nice The Lawns Hotel is we decided to go there, and how very pleased we were that we did , just superb.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johndavid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We had a spacious room with a big bathroom. Really friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Location is superb, right in the middle of the town of Holt, which has everything you could possibly need. This hotel is traditional and represents excellent value for money.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I went during Holt Festival week for a light lunch. We were not disappointed and sat outside on the lawn. The cheese board was more than ample and for us it was a very positive experience.The staff were friendly and helpful without being obsequious. As we are local we hope to come again.

Room Tip: we did not stay
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Margaret Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We travelled as two couples for a 3 night stay 9th July. My parents stayed in Room 7. We stayed in Room 5. Both rooms were tastefully decorated - it is a hotel - not a personal space. Very clean. Room made up every day together with Tea and coffee supplies together with bottled water and biccies. Room 7 had a small fridge which was a bonus. Room 5, although up in the eaves had a high ceiling an didn't feel small at all. Both rooms had excellent size bathrooms, and whilst the shower is hand held, it worked very well - with lots of hot water. Room 5 did suffer loss of water on a couple of occasions but it soon came back into flow after 10 minutes. Breakfast is served between 8 am and 10 am, so gives opportunity for a lay-in should you wish. The breakfast is top notch ! as much as you want and excellently cooked.
Overall we loved our stay and would definitely recommend it to others. The weather was not kind to us, but they have a very well maintained garden area leading from the conservatory which we would have liked to enjoy. Holt is a lovely little town with independant shops and cafes. The hotel is literally minutes from the town and local bus stop.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debs94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were looking for a place to stay in Holt for a couple of nights and after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to book in at The Lawns.
On the plus side the hotel is convenient for the town with ample parking, a nice garden and a conservatory. We were disappointed with our room (room 5) which we found somewhat dated. Other reviewers say there was fresh milk in the fridge but there was only uht in ours and the mugs for tea were dirty. After a long journey it would be nice to have a comfortable chair in which to relax and enjoy a cup of tea. However, the two wooden chairs in our room were anything but comfortable. The bed was fine. The hot tap at the washbasin turned round when trying to turn it on. Couldn't always get any water at the washbasin either. We paid £115 per night and expected more than a hand held shower over the bath.
We had an evening meal here which was good though the bottle of wine we ordered was plonked down on the table without a word. The staff were friendly particularly the guy manning the bar. We would eat here again but not stay here.

Room Tip: Don't pick room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Three night stay in this hotel. Lovely location. All staff were friendly and helpful. The young lady who waited on our table both evenings was delightful. We dined there on two nights and the food and service was excellent on both occasion, as were the breakfasts. We were in an annexe adjacent to the main building. It was spacious and clean. Sporadic wifi connection though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryNorfolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was such a lovely friendly place. We have previously stayed at Byfords, but they have no bar. However, The Lawns does and their Adnams and Norfolk Wherry beers are kept and served to perfection. We had a garden room,9, which was perfectly adequate for our stay and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was wonderful. Cooked to order and the toast was hot! Can;t get much better than that!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holt
2.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
652 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
9.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
416 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,352 reviews
20.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawns Hotel

Address: 26 Station Road, Holt NR25 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Holt
Price Range: £96 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawns Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lawns Hotel and Wine Bar is a privately owned hotel that offers a high standard of hospitality and service. An ideal place to relax and stay while discovering the joys of the surrounding countryside and coastline.All the 10 bedrooms are en-suite, with freeview televisions and DVD players and tea making facilities.Enjoy the AA rosette restaurant and bar, offering a menu that reflects locally sourced seasonal ingredients in a range of delicious dishes. Relax in the Lawns fully licensed informal bar, with local beers and a wide range of wines and spirits. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes are available all day and can be enjoyed in the conservatory or our large south facing garden – ideal for relaxing in when the sun shines.There is a car park at the rear of the hotel and free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lawns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawns Hotel Holt
The Lawns Hotel Holt, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing